We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, service could be better.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #60 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, service could be better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Beacon in March for 9 days, I agree with most of the other reviewers, the location was excellent. A close walk to central park, easy access to 5th Ave and a subway station nearby. The hotel was nice and clean, the kitchenette was very handy with a supermarket just across the road. When we first checked in they had trouble with our booking as someone else had signed in under my name. It meant there was a lot of time waiting around and double checking details. At no time was there an apology given even though someone has signed in using my details. The second issue we had was that the cable TV was down for 3 days during our stay. They did not inform us of this and we had to call every day to check up on the status of the outage. It would be nice if they used their initiative to inform guests of this problem and offer compensation. This did dampen our stay at Hotel Beacon. Other than these two issues it was a pleasant stay and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,060
    1,127
    137
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,329
965
116
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is the hotel we return to whenever we stay in New York. It has an excellent location, is close to Central Park, the Metropolitan Opera and shops of your choice. The small kitchenette in our suite made it easy to prepare meals. The sofa bed enabled our grandchild to stay over. The service was excellent, delivering packages from internet orders, at all hours during the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our previous trip (sept 13) to nyc , we stayed midtown in a large iconic dump of a hotel. We stayed extra 2 nights from a touring holiday, it cost us £500 per night extra! and by goodness it was a dump! (this was not the beacon). So this time we chose the Beacon and it met all the reviews and more. Sometimes in NYC smiles and friendliness can be short in supply. But the staff are so friendly and so helpful. The room we had (2 double beds in) was very clean and the small kitchenette met our needs. Previously we did not even get a hot water machine (other hotel). Hop on the tube straight to times square to the centre of things. Was very very cold (march) so wrap up warm. Good value hotel, well worth staying here. We would do so again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a suite on the 15th floor, overlooking Broadway. It was spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the hotel). The reception, porters and door staff were so helpful, and friendly. I felt less like an 'alien in New York' and they made us feel really at home. The beds were comfy and they look much better than the pictures which don't do it justice.

Recommend the cafe next door (Viand), very quick and good choice of food, and as other reviewers have said the food market over the road is amazing!

Good position and would recommend walking round to the Natural History Museum which is a stone's throw away. Sarabeth's do amazing breakfasts on a Sunday too, go early there can be a queue.

Would recommend also buying a Gray line tour, bus stops are nearby.

Room Tip: Go for it and have suite, it will be worth it. Ice machine on 5th floor and laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SotonFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Excellent hotel. Had suite 2407 which overlooked the Hudson. Large bedroom with comfortable beds and living room with small kitchen with everything essential. Spotlessly clean. Hotel staff were polite and friendly. Stores, restaurants, central park, subway nearby. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York.

Room Tip: 2407. Good view and far enough away from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was our 3rd stay to the Beacon Hotel and we stopped for 3 nights en route back to UK after our holiday in Fort Lauderdale.
Excellent front desk we were able to check in at c 11.00 and we had a great room on 25th floor with view to the west with part of the city scape and Central Park.
All staff were fantastic and we were provided with a welcome gift on the back of prior stays, which was a very nice touch. Concierge was very helpful in sorting out transport back to Newark airport.
We visited the bar on a couple of occasions and this is a nice addition to the hotel, as was the gym which is located in the basement.
Our hotel of choice when in NYC, we will definitely be back and will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel was everything we hoped it would be the staff were very friendly and always helpful no matter how many times we asked a question, the sub way was close by and eventually we got the knack of it and sped up and down Manhattan it was easy . Our 2 bedroom suite was spot on with my family we were together but still had our own space very comfortable and clean

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,385 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing