We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #57 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Excellent hotel. Had suite 2407 which overlooked the Hudson. Large bedroom with comfortable beds and living room with small kitchen with everything essential. Spotlessly clean. Hotel staff were polite and friendly. Stores, restaurants, central park, subway nearby. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York.

Room Tip: 2407. Good view and far enough away from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,694 - 1,700 of 3,923 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was our 3rd stay to the Beacon Hotel and we stopped for 3 nights en route back to UK after our holiday in Fort Lauderdale.
Excellent front desk we were able to check in at c 11.00 and we had a great room on 25th floor with view to the west with part of the city scape and Central Park.
All staff were fantastic and we were provided with a welcome gift on the back of prior stays, which was a very nice touch. Concierge was very helpful in sorting out transport back to Newark airport.
We visited the bar on a couple of occasions and this is a nice addition to the hotel, as was the gym which is located in the basement.
Our hotel of choice when in NYC, we will definitely be back and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Halifax, United Kingdom
11
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel was everything we hoped it would be the staff were very friendly and always helpful no matter how many times we asked a question, the sub way was close by and eventually we got the knack of it and sped up and down Manhattan it was easy . Our 2 bedroom suite was spot on with my family we were together but still had our own space very comfortable and clean

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I have been staying at the Beacon for many years in March. Such a great place. Large rooms for being in NYC, and very clean. Every room ( I stayed in) has a kitchenette. The location is perfect, great stores and restaurants. including Central Park, all within walking distance. The 72nd St subway terminal is just a few blocks away, and the express trains stop at it. I also have been very fortunate with street parking in the neighborhood. I can't say enough about the Beacon. And finally, but none the less important, the staff is top shelf.
I will surely stay here again next time I'm in they city.

Room Tip: Get the suite, well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deerjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed at the Beacon for 3 weeks in May 2013. The 72nd St subway station is only about 4 minutes' walk way. The location of the Beacon is superb - it's a pleasant and easy walk to Central Park, Times Square and the diners and apartment buildings of the Upper West Side. Our room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious. This is a favourite of Aussies so expect to hear quite a few Australian accents in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skylark24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

4 of us come to NY to see a rehearsal of La Sonnebelum at Lincoln Center and could easily walk there from our hotel. We had booked 3 Broadway shows and again either by Taxie or the #2 Subway made getting around to these easy as well. Now as to eateries the hotel desk were very helpful in pointing out places for breafast as well as dinner. One of our favorites that they advised was the Citrus grill.

Now on a return trip to NY we would give this hotel a try again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmorris9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in a suite with 2 children and 4 adults. Although cozy, we had enough space with the 2 bathrooms and living space. It was great to have the kitchen available for cooking breakfasts. The cleaning staff took care of cleaning the dishes. The hotel staff was very responsive to a few request. They brought up a DVD player for us. The sleeper sofa mattress was uncomfortable so they brought in a twin rollaway which turned out to be a box spring and mattress, the most substantial roll-away ever. The location was terrific with just 2 blocks from a subway stop. In walking distance from Central Park and several museums and a great supermarket across the street, Fairway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SereneBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#139 of 473 in New York City
2,469 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 473 in New York City
5,746 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 473 in New York City
3,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 473 in New York City
2,158 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 473 in New York City
3,843 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 473 in New York City
6,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $190 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing