We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Beacon
Nearby Hotels
$331
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$326
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$249
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$176
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$187
$114
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$171
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$365
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$159
$120
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,091)
Filter reviews
4,092 results
Traveler rating
2,524
1,307
179
55
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,524
1,307
179
55
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairway marketupper west sidecentral parkviand cafesmall kitchenettelevain bakerygreat supermarketnew yorkone bedroom suitestrawberry fieldsstreet subwaytimes squarelaundry roomexpress trainnatural history museumlincoln centershort walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,870 - 1,875 of 4,092 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have stayed at the Beacon 1-3x a year, for 4-6 days, over the past 10 years. It has proven to be clean, reliable and comfortable. We are happy with the location, which is 2 blocks from the 1 subway. It is across the street from a Fairway Market, which is open very late. There are people on the street and it is safe to go there even at 11 pm. I'm not sure if all the rooms in the Beacon have kitchenettes, but we always take one that does. So, we go to Fairway and buy our breakfast food and fruit and vegetables - much healthier than eating restaurant food for every meal! We have even cooked whole meals there. There is also a Starbucks less than a block away.
The rooms are comfortable - a few of the knick-knacks are a bit tacky, but if we are in a clean and comfortable room, we can deal with tacky. Once we were upgraded to a top floor corner room, and the view was breathtaking. The lower floors can be noisy, but this is New York City, and I think that if you want to stay in a good location, that it will be noisy. I think there are some rooms with interior court yard views - so if you can't stand that type of room, be sure to inquire.
All in all, it's our home in NYC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GofromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I like the staff here, and whist the rooms could use an update from their odd turquoise decor they are good value. Sadly the air con units are very noisy, not an issue ordinarily but certainly when it was minus 15 outside, (In UK money).

So there was a choice at night of it being cold quiet or warm and loud!

Speaking to other guests they had the same issue, and the maintenance guy (who was great) offered to change the unit but said ours was far from the worst. I had bought ear plugs so declined, I found out later even then I could still hear it. Sad because otherwise based on value and location would have given 4 or 5.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Godsownworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was our first visit to NY and this hotel came highly recommended to us. Five of us stayed at the Beacon (two separate double rooms with kitchens) and we were all over the moon with our surroundings, the service and value for money. Our rooms were very spacious with separate bedrooms each with two double beds, fully fitted kitchenette areas in the living rooms, queen sized sofa beds in the living rooms and lovely marbled bathrooms - pure bliss! I also have to mention the incredible comfort of the beds -- I suffer from lower back pain and sciatica so always dread sleeping in "strange" beds but I had no worries here, in fact I did not even have a mere twinge of pain during the 7 days stay at the Beacon!! It was a real home from home and the situation of the hotel is perfect as the tube station is a two minute stroll away, Central Park is about a 20 minute walk away and shops are just around the corner! Across the street is a supermarket called Fairway which is simply the best! We bought all of our food and groceries from there and every evening you can get divine takeaway fresh hot food so absolutely perfect and cheap! All in all a fantastic hotel which I would recommend to anyone staying in NY. We will be back!

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We traveled with our college-age daughter, and it's hard to find a room in NYC for three adults! And because hotels are so expensive, we didn't want to book two rooms. Hotel Beacon has two-bed suites, with cute kitchens (great for coffee in the morning) and roomy living areas for prices less than other hotels in the area. We were visiting Lincoln Center and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and the hotel is in a great location for walking to both. The service was professional and helpful and room service did a great job. For breakfast, hit the restaurant next to the hotel. It's a bustling diner that seemed to be full of locals. We loved it. We had drinks at the hotel bar, and though it was quiet, the service and drinks were excellent.

Room Tip: After reading the other reviews, we requested a quiet room. We got a room facing the market across the street and had no trouble sleeping.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 61adventuregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were very happy with our stay at the Hotel Beacon. It was well-appointed and clean and the small kitchenette was very functional. It was very good to have a table that seated all four of us. The location is excellent, very close to the subway station at 72nd, close to Central Park and a gourmet supermarket, Fairway, just across the road. The neighbourhood is great with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and it was nice to escape from the crowds at Times Square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 384Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews