We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet location in manhattan”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice quiet location in manhattan”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Beacon Dec '13 to early Jan 14. Good quiet location, close to central park, quick walk to the subway. Starbucks is just across the road! Friendly staff always happy to help. Room included two double beds, kitchenette, dining table and couch, was quite spacious.

We ordered ice hockey tickets online and had them delivered to the hotel (as the tickets couldn't be posted to Australia) and the concierge had them ready and waiting for us the moment we checked in. Our room was available at 10 am when we arrived, which was greatly appreciated.

Would definitely recommend as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashleacoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,135
    1,161
    145
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,387
996
119
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here in early December and had originally wanted to stay in Times Square, but after reading some other reviews we changed our mind and booked the Hotel Beacon. Wow, we were so thrilled that we did! Our room was spacious with a separate living area complete with small kitchen and dining table. As a family this was well used with breakfast daily and many evening meals eaten in our room (it was freezing cold and snowing outside).
The walk to the 72nd street subway was approx 100m and the express train would have you arriving in Times Square in under 10 minutes.
The Fairway market is across the street, and the perfect place to purchase your fresh bagels each morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Beacon December '13 to early January '14. The hotel is well located near Central Park and the subway to get you downtown quickly.

The booking we made was a little mucked up, but this did not affect us. As a family, the hotel provides great value. We stayed in a two room suite with a king bed and a foldout sofa bed. The room was of good size, and importantly it had a kitchenette, and a good fridge. The Broadway market is across the road with great food, and having such facilitates was very useful for a family.

The hotel also has a laundry with washing machines and dryers at cheap rates - again, fantastic for a travelling family.

The Beacon Bar also does a nice range of bar snacks, in a very pleasant setting. There is a Beacon bottle shop next door, but I found there was a wine store called "Pour" (cnr 75th and Amsterdam) that was very good.

The area has numerous restaurants nearby, some of them no doubt good, but we never ate in one (and so cannot make recommendations). The nearby restaurants seem to be mostly standard fare (Italian themed), large servings of mundane food.

The only niggle was the mattress of the sofa bed, which was inner spring, thin, and was so uncomfortable the kids complained they couldn't sleep on it. So the adults slept on it - and yes, it was pretty lumpy. A plain foam mattress would be much better.

apart from that, a great place to stay, great value for New York, and well located (albeit in a more staid neighbourhood than downtown). Recommended to travelling families. This hotel also seems to be popular with Australians - like us.

PS we all got sick in New York, and I was told by a chemist that you cannot buy Sudafed (or any equivalent medication with pseudoephedrine) unless you have American or Canadian ID. Apparently all other nationalities are suspected of being closet "Walter Whites". Plan ahead and take proper decongestants with you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macbeth63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Beacon is a great hotel for families wishing to explore all the main Manhattan sights.

We have just returned from a 5-night stay over New Year in New York City. The Beacon is brilliant for families as our 2-bedroom suite offered loads of space, with a good-sized king/queen bed in the main bedroom, two doubles in the other, two bathrooms and a living room with kitchenette. Our room was on the 9th floor at a corner and looked out over Broadway.

You are a couple of minutes walk from 72nd Street station, which is an express stop and makes getting to most places really quick and easy (buy a week's metro pass if you're staying for more than a few days). The Fairway shop opposite is great for food and other essentials, and Beacon Wines is next door but one.

Central park is an easy walk (we walked there for the fantastic New Year's Eve fireworks, and managed a view down to Times Square as well!) And the Upper West Side is a very pleasant and safe location, with some decent restaurants within easy waling distance (we particularly enjoyed Isabella's, Cafe Luxembourg and Ouest - none of which are as 'dressy' as the Beacon restaurant guide suggests).

The reason for 4 rather than 5 stars is just down to a few niggles - the bath and one of the showers was unusable as the thermostat wouldn't get anywhere near hot enough, the kitchen was difficult to use as even lightly-browned toast would set the smoke alarm off, the main bathroom had no heating and so got quite cold, and despite arriving bang-on check-in time we were initially offered the 3rd floor despite booking back in February and requesting the 14th (the highest for our type of room). Higher floors are better as Broadway is busy.

But these are small niggles. If travelling as a couple we would probably choose somewhere else (the fantastic Surrey on the UES springs to mind), but for families wanting a bit of peace outside the chaos of Midtown but with easy transport links to the whole of Manhattan, the Beacon is brilliant. It's also pretty good value for NYC.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views and peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for New Years Eve two years ago and had a lovely time. So my wife and I decided to come back for a two night stay during our honeymoon to San Francisco. The hotel is in an excellent location - close to central park, subways, restaurants etc and only a 20minute walk to 5th Ave... Service was again excellent, the room fantastic, clean and spacious with incredible views. They have fast wifi and also have added a bar which has an extended "happy hour"...though we didn't really have time to use it. Overall, highly recommended

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank edmundbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights during a recent early January cold spell. The hotel is located on a relatively quiet portion of Broadway that is nothing like the Broadway most people envision. Our one bedroom suite was clean and had 2 double beds along with a pullout sofa in the living room. The tiny but serviceable kitchenette had a decent sized frig., Keurig, toaster, microwave, tea kettle, plates, mugs, etc. The living room and bedroom each had a 32" Samsung flatscreen. The Fairway Market supermarket across the street is very well stocked and has excellent ready to go meal choices. Starbucks, Trader Joe's, restaurants, and the subway are within easy walking distance. Because of the suite accomodations we felt less of a need to leave the hotel. Some may view this as a negative but we thought it was nice to have a comfortable home base to return to. My only complaint would be that I felt my mattress was a bit on the soft side. Are there cheaper places to stay? Yes, but savings can be realized by not having to eat out for each meal and it sure beats staying in a traditional, more cramped hotel room. I'd gladly return.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably a bit quieter as they are farther away from street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We loved staying in our 1 bedroom suite at the Hotel Beacon as it was well appointed, comfortable, clean and very well located on the Upper West Side. The coined operated laundry was a bonus as was having the Fairway Market across the road. We enjoyed walking the few minutes walk down to the subway to move around the city, alternatively just walking to and from Times Square soaking in the atmosphere.

The staff were friendly, helpful and very informative.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B2B1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
2,359 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4,962 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 467 in New York City
3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
3,581 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing