We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Great Stay”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great Stay”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at the Hotel Beacon for 11 nights. This hotel was one of only a few that offered a two bedroom suite with living room and kitchenette that would accommodate all of us.

I was extremely impressed by our room as it was perfect for us and had all the amenities required, this is one of those times when the expectations set on the website are met in real life. Two really good sized bedrooms, a living area, a place to eat and a small kitchen. Being on a corner it had good light and views into Broadway as well.

The location on the upper west side was also ideal. Just two blocks from 72nd street station which is also an express station stop! meaning that it is only one stop or 5 minutes to Times Square Station. After a day in the hustle and bustle of mid town and lower manhatten, the upper west side is a quiet oasis by comparison. It was also very convenient to Central Park where we enjoyed several walks.

The hotel is simple in character and not over the top compared to other more pretentious hotels, with very helpful and attentive staff who didn't hesitate to assist with any enquiry.

I would not hesitate in recommending Hotel Beacon and I endorse all the positive reviews on trip advisor that I saw before selecting the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,093
    1,141
    142
    44
    22
See reviews for
1,354
980
117
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Beacon with my 2 sisters for 7 nights. Staff were helpful, service very good and the amenities were everything you could want for a long stay. Also the position was excellent. A short walk to the subway and a grocery store over the road to mention just a couple of things close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmgavsid62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Hotel Beacon is on the upper west side, pretty close to Lincoln Center. It is a smaller hotel and less expensive than many in NYC. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are fairly small, but in line with many other hotels in NYC. They are not so small as to be a problem. The bathrooms have no shelf space so toiletry bags are a problem. The rooms use the European system of requiring the room key to be in a slot for power to be on, which represents a problem when trying to charge devices while not in the room. The biggest problem for people not attending Lincoln Center events is that this away from other venues, and getting a cab is difficult, particularly at peak hours. However, a subway stop is only 3 blocks away, and you can be in Times Square in 5 minutes. The bar in the Beacon is friendly and nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddymedbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Had a great stay here. Needed a value hotel in NYC, but was concerned about what "value" would look like. A few blocks off of Central Park on the upper west side, this location works. Frankly, it's in a nice section of town an away from some of the craziness. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was very nice. Great bed, clean and contemporary surroundings, microwave & fridge (not that I needed it). I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks when I came to run the NYC Marathon and had a great time. The rooms are large and despite facing onto Broadway the insulation on the windows meant I didnt hear the traffic. Loved the kitchenette in the room which was handy for breakfasts

The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and I'll definitely be staying here again. Great value

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeh479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to NY. We were a party of 4 and stayed there from 6th Dec to 12th. Hotel was great. We stayed in a 1 bed roomed suite which was really spacious. It had a lounge/dining area together with a small but compact kitchen. Although kitchen is tiny it was adequately equipped. Great room for family with children.Two double beds with great mattresses plus the settee in lounge turned out to be queen size bed.

Rooms cleaned daily with clean towels. Free wi-fi. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Would definitely recommend. If I had to criticise it would be that double beds should be king size but that is all.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our first stay in New York and I wanted a contemporay rather than "out of the box" corporate hotel, the Beacon ticked the box, old movie feel, great staff, pleasant room with everything you need for a short to medium break, comfortable beds, kitchenette, an great location easy walk to Central Park and 5 min to the station on 72nd Street.
Good place to walk the length of Broadway right down into Times Sq. But also great to get away from the bustle of Christmas when needed.
If I was to suggest an improvement it would be for the hotel to provide breakfast option, also travellers nee to be aware that local cuisine is quite limited in choice.
Overall a great place to stay, in a very good location AN would defiantly recommend.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,683 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing