We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic room”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #57 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic room”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to NY. We were a party of 4 and stayed there from 6th Dec to 12th. Hotel was great. We stayed in a 1 bed roomed suite which was really spacious. It had a lounge/dining area together with a small but compact kitchen. Although kitchen is tiny it was adequately equipped. Great room for family with children.Two double beds with great mattresses plus the settee in lounge turned out to be queen size bed.

Rooms cleaned daily with clean towels. Free wi-fi. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Would definitely recommend. If I had to criticise it would be that double beds should be king size but that is all.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,099
    1,142
    143
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,357
981
117
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our first stay in New York and I wanted a contemporay rather than "out of the box" corporate hotel, the Beacon ticked the box, old movie feel, great staff, pleasant room with everything you need for a short to medium break, comfortable beds, kitchenette, an great location easy walk to Central Park and 5 min to the station on 72nd Street.
Good place to walk the length of Broadway right down into Times Sq. But also great to get away from the bustle of Christmas when needed.
If I was to suggest an improvement it would be for the hotel to provide breakfast option, also travellers nee to be aware that local cuisine is quite limited in choice.
Overall a great place to stay, in a very good location AN would defiantly recommend.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Travelling from Australia, this is the second time we have stayed at this gem of a hotel. Last time was December 2010. This time the whole family and partners stayed - 8 of us in total for 9 nights. We booked two 2xdouble bed/double rooms which also had a fold up bed/lounge. The hotel is clean, large rooms with kitchenettes. Staff are great. 74th street and Broadway is a great location and a stone throw from 72nd street subway station (where all the red line subway trains stop). You can easily walk to Times Square, Central park etc. What I like is that the upper west side is clean and far away enough to escape from the tourist hustle and bustle but also closer enough to easily experience the hustle and bustle of what New York is all about. I cannot recommend the Beacon highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is just a great location and value for money, in a nice neighborhood feel even though its on Broadway, near a good subway stop, and lots of good shopping. Ten mins walk to Columbus Cirlcle, and can even walk to Fifth Ave if so desired. Great room size, with small "kitchenette" - microwave, stove top, fridge and sink. Auto espresso maker. All in all well worth it. Good restaurant within walking distance also.

Room Tip: Get the one with the kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BallaghMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights as our fist time in NYC. They checked us in really early at 7am which was awesome! The good parts: value for money, the kitchenette definitely came in handy, proximity to fairway market across the street, location to Central Park and subway, also has a laundry in the hotel which was so convenient for us and was inexpensive. Overall location is FANTASTIC and feels likes a home away from home whilst being close but not too close to the centre of everything. We found it easy to walk around here too. The rooms are a very decent size too. The negatives: we weren't advised on any construction but there was a room being renovated at the time which was really noisy especially when we needed a sleep in after a long flight - the staff were pretty rude and not very apologetic about it either. The only other thing was that the housekeeping was very persistent - we slept in til 10.30 one morning and they knocked on our door 3 times after telling them not to worry about the days cleaning (but that is no real complaint though..at least they are making a good effort to do their job properly). Also, don't make any phone calls from the room either - it will cost you a fortune

Room Tip: Make sure to check to see if higher is any renovations on the floor or floors close to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElisaandBenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have visited New York several times and always stayed at the Warwick, but we were priced out this time so I checked out other options. Although it was still pricey since it was Manhattan in December, the Beacon was priced much better than any other hotel I looked at. I'm pretty picky about location and cleanliness but decided to take a chance. I wasn't disappointed! Although it is a short subway ride away from Midtown, we loved being on the Upper West Side. The hotel is a quick half-block from the Red Line, 1,2, and 3,( two of which are Express so only two stops from Penn Station.) The Red Line runs all the way to South Ferry so we never had to change lines which was convenient and less expensive. If this is your first visit, don't try to do New York without a Metro Pass. Get a Streetwise Map of Manhattan and learn the subway system to save money and time.
We stayed 4 nights, were upgraded to a suite and we couldn't have been more satisfied. We had 3 closets, two televisions, (not that we were there to watch a lot) and we loved having the kitchenette. Do yourself a favor and go across the street to Fairway Market and have them slice you a loaf of their cinnamon raisin bread. Fantastic! If they are closed, Duane Reade Pharmacy, just a half block away, has some groceries. We loved having a leisurely breakfast in our room with a complimentary USA Today before starting our busy days. Although I think the hotel was fully booked, we didn't hear a peep from anyone. The king bed and pillows were heavenly and we slept soundly. The room, and the furnishings, although not new, were very clean.
The elevators are swift for such an old building. The staff was friendly, greeted us each time we came in, and the maid service was very good. Lots of hot water for both of us. The bathroom is small but since we had lots of storage and the sink in the kitchen it wasn't a big deal.
We definitely recommend the Beacon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a King bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixietrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I admit I was a bit sceptical with the consistently good reviews of this hotel but I am delighted to say I was totally impressed with the room, the hotel and the location. First impressions were excellent. The concierge helpful and friendly, the reception staff equally so and the one bedroomed suite was spacious, light and airy. Cleanliness was impeccable, even to the point that the shower curtain was changed daily. Dirty crock/utensils are taken away and replaced with clean ones. There's even a kettle to boil on the full sized cooker so take some 'Yorkshire' tea bags, buy some fresh milk from Fairway directly opposite, and bliss, a proper cuppa. For coffee lovers the hotel supplies a Kurig coffee machine with pods. There are not many hotel beds which I can say I like, but, the beds in this hotel were so comfy, they were an absolute delight after a hard day in NYC. Heating / cooling was efficient and easy to use. Windows opened if you wanted fresh air. The bathroom was compact in size but the shower (fixed head) was powerful and the bath just about big enough to soak away those aching muscles. Storage in the suite was very good with one of two closets accommodating the digital safe which was big enough to take a laptop. Two large digital TV's, an IPAD docking station/alarm clock and iron/board completed the useful commodities. Fittings were of an extremely high standard. The location is lovely with bus and subway on the doorstep and lots of shops, diners and restaurants to choose from. The Beacon Bar is delightful. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, it certainly ticked all my boxes and provided a real home from home comfortable holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrummieLadyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,700 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing