We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel, Convenient Location”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #58 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel, Convenient Location”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel's location, within 4 minutes walk of 72nd St subway (Lines 1,2 &3), is great. Excellent food shop opposite. 12 minutes walk to central park, 15 to Lincoln Centre.

We had a king suite on the 15th floor facing east. it was great, just what we needed. having a separate sitting room is a boon for city holidays. We used the small kitchenette for preparing breakfast, and snacks that need little work. Although it has a full sized cooker, there is not really sufficient space or equipment for preparing major meals. i wouldn't want to anyway. I was on holiday! Staff clear away dishes left in the sink & replace them with fresh ones each day. Bed was very comfortable. Room was quiet with windows shut.

We were first allocated a spacious suite on the 6th floor, but it faced a brick wall and was dark. We had booked 6 months in advance, but the manager took on board our disappointment and moved us the following day. thank you!

Warning for European travellers. In New York taxes are added on top of the quoted price. So our room cost $385 but we ended up paying near to $450 per night. The same applies in shops and restaurants - taxes on top of quoted price. :-(

We would stay at the hotel again if we returned to NY.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 14th floor or above, particularly at the rear, facing east, in order to have g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David315954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,097
    1,141
    143
    44
    22
See reviews for
1,357
981
117
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed seven nights in this hotel and loved it. We were on the 20th floor so had a great view. The staff were first rate, the rooms were clean and very comfortable. Great little kitchen with food market across the road so could eat at the hotel. Close to everything. Only took us 1/2hr to walk to Times Square. Thanks for the great time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

First of this reveiw is only about the bar, not the hotel itself. I had drinks at the bar with a friend, I ordered Captain Morgan and coke, after having three drinks I found out that they did not have Captain Morgan and was giving me something else. The bartender never told me she did not have Captain Morgan or asked me if another type of rum was ok. After finding out and complaining about it, all that was done was one drink was taken off of my bill. Everyone of the false drinks should have been removed. Not only was I fooled but I was also made to pay for something I did not order. All the phoney drinks should have been removed. On top of that, between myself and my friend we had 5 drinks all together and the bill was over 100 dollars. that averages 20 dollars a drink. That is crazy. Being in hotel management and also managing a bar all I could say is this would never happen at my place. I say stay away from this bar cause it is so overpriced and you may not know what it is you are getting to drink.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Domenick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is an ideal hotel for a visit to New York. The location is ideal - its just a short walk from Central Park and a few minutes from the subway. We were here fro 4 nights and used the subway regularly (definitely worth buying a 7-day pass). It was about a 30 minute walk down to Time Square withy plenty to look at on route. We had breakfast at the Viand cafe, just next door to the hotel - definitely recommended with friendly staff. Patsy's pizza place just a few minutes walk from the hotel is also worth a visit. We had a small kitchen area which was definitely worth while. Good croissants can be bought from the Fairway supermarket over the road from the hotel and taken back to your room for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_MooseSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent 7 nights at the Beacon. The suite was spacious with all necessary amenities. Hotel staff were friendly and professional. Location is convenient to the park, museums, restaurants and the 72nd St. subway. Beaconbar is an asset.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forestdunes1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of the USA. It is well positioned, and well equipped. The rooms are of a good size, with a small kitchen, in which you have a fridge and microwave. Across the road there's a supermarket that is open 24 hours.
The staff are very helpful, with an excellent opportunity knowledge of the city.Just next door there is the Beacon Theatre where they have some good concerts on.
Also on the same block there's a good restaurant called Viand which opens early for an excellent breakfast.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnneUK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very very happy to have chosen this hotel out of all the choices in Manhattan. Pricey but nothing compared to some in the city. Lovely room, very nice decor and a good space for Manhattan. Great to have small kitchenette (you're not expected to wash up!) and having the excellent Fairway Market opposite was brilliant. Everything we could have needed and more. Wonderful to have the separate bedroom and the feeling of space it provided was great - very impressive for a hotel in NYC!
Main bed very comfortable. Requested a room on higher level (after reading reviews) and got one on floor 18. Lovely views towards the park with windows that open (if you don't mind the city noise and once windows shut you don't get that either. In fact apart from some elevator noise (right next to it) and the heater it was on the whole very quiet with no noticeable noise from other guests. And I'm very sensitive to noise in hotels so this is very important to me!
Couldn't check in early but good to have luggage storage. Check-out of 12 noon is also very handy.
We found the location excellent. Very nice area, not too far from park and subway and walkable to Times Square in about 30 to 40 mins. Traffic incredibly bad so taxi's expensive! Even with 4 people it was always cheaper to go by subway (which was very easy to do).
Just a couple of tiny niggles: The sofa bed wasn't as comfortable as it could have been. My boys had to use it and the younger one would always roll into the middle! Did have the option of an extra rollaway bed but this cost extra so we didn't bother. Hotel was expensive enough already (although good value as Manhattan Hotels go).
Lovely to have luggage storage but not sure it was as secure as it could have been. Our luggage was left out unattended for quite a while and door to storage room seemed always open.
Not enough to put us off though and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJB1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,692 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing