We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #56 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mt Maunganui New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay away from the hustle and bustle. The Upper West Side is so handy to Central Park and the Museums. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very comfortable. Nice to have a kitchenette included, as there are lots of food markets nearby. We had a very quiet room facing Amsterdam Ave so had a good nights sleep. The Laundry room is a bonus, especially for families. Would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Amsterdam Ave are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shonamarieob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,093
    1,141
    142
    44
    22
See reviews for
1,354
980
117
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms. Good Upper West. Side location. Similar hotels in area offered lower rates. On site bar and nearby cafe (Viand) added to convenience. Free wifi and lobby computers and printers were added benefits

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed 1 week at Hotel Beacon on recommendation from our travel agent and we were not disappointed. Ray and Anthony in guest services helped me organise a stretch limo pick up from the hotel and a helicopter flight over New York City, without their help it would never have gone so smoothly and been such a wonderful surprise for my husband's birthday. The hotel is located near 72nd st subway stop and there is an express train Times Square only one stop. There are some great restaurants on 79th st and also on Amsterdam. We had an awesome holiday and will go back again because one week in NYC is just not enough

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel last May - it was right on Broadway and right near the tube station. Just a walk away from Central Park and had great views of the Dakota Building and Central Park from my room window. Lovely eatery next door that does great breakfast too! Only negative is that the newly refurbished bar in the hotel did not have a great atmosphere but it was only new. I would still recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tallulah_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our one bedroom king suite was very spacious and comfortable. The sitting room is quite suitable for entertaining 4-5 people. Fast in and out of hotel due to small lobby and adequate elevators.

Plus - very very spacious by NYC standards, about 60 sq m, about 640 sq feet.
Comfortable bed. Everything is clean. Staff are very helpful and accomodating.
Location is wonderful, and accessible to subways and central park. Kitchenette is small but complete with a full size fridge.

Minus - bathroom is small, and in need of a refresh. No breakfast (50 alternatives though within 1 block radius).

Price varies a lot by dates, our cost was $365+ taxes = $407

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabbasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

we booked two rooms for my husband and I and our two adult children the hotel was in a great location and only a short walk to the subway the staff were very helpful with all our inquires and told us what subways to get on and off for where we wanted to go there was a computer room with free internet to make bookings central park is also close would stay there again if i ever got back to New York

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kilwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great location in upper west side. Rooms were nice. Housekeeping did not get to our corner room until 3pm. But everyone ver helpful. Love the upper west side. Stores and restaurants abound we will be returning as we dropped our daughter off at Barnard this weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vigotheman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,666 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing