We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Space and more space”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #66 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our one bedroom king suite was very spacious and comfortable. The sitting room is quite suitable for entertaining 4-5 people. Fast in and out of hotel due to small lobby and adequate elevators.

Plus - very very spacious by NYC standards, about 60 sq m, about 640 sq feet.
Comfortable bed. Everything is clean. Staff are very helpful and accomodating.
Location is wonderful, and accessible to subways and central park. Kitchenette is small but complete with a full size fridge.

Minus - bathroom is small, and in need of a refresh. No breakfast (50 alternatives though within 1 block radius).

Price varies a lot by dates, our cost was $365+ taxes = $407

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabbasolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,646 - 1,652 of 3,646 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

we booked two rooms for my husband and I and our two adult children the hotel was in a great location and only a short walk to the subway the staff were very helpful with all our inquires and told us what subways to get on and off for where we wanted to go there was a computer room with free internet to make bookings central park is also close would stay there again if i ever got back to New York

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kilwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great location in upper west side. Rooms were nice. Housekeeping did not get to our corner room until 3pm. But everyone ver helpful. Love the upper west side. Stores and restaurants abound we will be returning as we dropped our daughter off at Barnard this weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vigotheman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

It's quite unusual this hotel. It's on Broadway but way north if the madness in NYC. Its choose to the subway 72nd street station and to central park. There's a supermarket opposite and many restaurants in the area.

Beacon is very clean, staff are very pleasant. Rooms are well equipped, with the oddity being a kitchenette with a kettle,toaster, hob, pans, fridge etc. there is however no minibar and i don't think any room service. There is a bar, which i think does a little food.

It was a wedding holiday and we were greeted with champagne and chocolates, which was lovely. We had a tech issue which was solved very quickly.

The treats we found were a laundrette on the fifth floor and a well equipped very new gym in the basement floor. The wifi is a bit unreliable, but there are computers in the lobby complete with printers, a real handy feature.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank daveyjones111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

ALL the positive reviews here say it all and I researched this hotel for over a year! It lived up to my every expectation and beyond wonderful staff from front desk to housekeeping and the Bar became my little home for a warm and friendly night cap or light bite after a night out on the city! I must mention Jose behind the bar who from day one made me feel welcome - mind they all do and Tara too who was kind enough to put me in touch with her friend in Vegas for a locals help with making stage two of my holiday work well!

For someone who is sensitive to service including the good bad and the ugly it is obvious that the Beacon has worked hard at making good service a natural gift that they are all more than willing to share and their friendliness is truly genuine non scripted so that when they say to you have a good day they mean it and you just can not help saying the same back! I write this on my last full day in NYC and although I am not half way through my holiday if it were to end today I would be totally satisfied and content too! Not saying any more I can hear Jessie mixing cocktails and there is bound to be gossip to catch up on from Jose and Tara!

Room Tip: It is not a high end chain hotel BUT it is somewhere you can make home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHTKELLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Arrived in New York late at night transferred to hotel wonderful front desk people the rooms excellent very spacious . Adjoined to a first class cafe, subway station within easy walking distance
Everything about the Beacon Hotel and its surrounds made my first stay in New York that I cannot wait to return

Room Tip: Had rooms on level fifteen and sixteen would not have known you were in a city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This boutique hotel is everything you could ask for in an atmosphere of neighborly charm. We had a suite overlooking Broadway. How wonderful to get away from the touristy mad clamor of Times Square but at the same be within walking distance of the Lincoln Center, the Columbus Circle area and 5th Ave. shopping. If you don't wish to walk subway service is just up Broadway at 72nd St. The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and long-suffering. They don't know the meaning of "a New York minute". The only thing we would have liked was some form of food service, but really, who needs it with so many nice restaurants just outside the door. If you want to experience the real New York with tree-lined side streets, friendly people walking their dogs, and a lack of tourist glitz, stay at the Beacon.

Room Tip: When reserving request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#131 of 469 in New York City
2,418 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 469 in New York City
5,349 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 469 in New York City
3,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 469 in New York City
2,112 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,703 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#105 of 469 in New York City
4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $179 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing