We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #48 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Not visiting New York before I wasn't sure what to expect apart from tiny hotel rooms, so we were very pleasantly surprised to find our room had two queen sized beds and probably room for another as well as a small Kitchenette and reasonable sized bath room. The room was great and considering we were next to the lift it was reasonably quiet. The location is very good for people who want to stay away from the crowds and has great access to the subway and Central Park. The bathroom is tired and needs up dating but wouldn't stop me from staying there again on a future visit. The bar is a lovely addition very modern and stylish but a bit one pricy side. Would stay again

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,903
    1,016
    122
    39
    19
See reviews for
1,200
873
106
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was really impressed by Hotel Beacon. Unlike the other hotel I stayed at in New York, the hotel and rooms actually look better in reality than they do on the website.

The location is great - wonderful shops, restaurants and subway nearby. The hotel is professionally run - staff are well-presented, friendly and attentive to their guests. The foyer, lifts and rooms are bright, light and immaculately clean. The lifts are fast. The windows are double-glazed to block out noise. Free WiFi is available in every room and free internet access and printing in a little room off the lobby.

The kitchenette in the room is tiny but stocked with all the utensils you need to make breakfast or a snack.

On my third night a family with noisy children arrived at about 2am and proceeded to whine, scream and run up and down the corridor for the next 4 hours. I asked for a room change the next morning and was offered one immediately and a porter arrived to help me to move.

Both my rooms faced Broadway and I loved the view of the buildings, rooftops and, in the higher room, the Hudson river.

This is where I will stay on my next visit to New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Second time to the Hotel Beacon. I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. Lots of space and facilities and very comfy beds. Great location, close to subway, central park, and for shopping, has a great Fairway market opposite and clothes shopping at Loehmanns and Century 21 . Time Square can be reached on the subway within 5 minutes on the express line. Great restaurant next door and some smalls bars and cafes a few blocks away. The reception staff were very welcoming and lovely housekeeping staff. Overall a wonderful stay. Feels like my home in New York and I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff treated me appallingly I was really outraged that people could be so rude. I do not think that it is too much to ask that people treat others like a human being. I just wish people would learn that social skills and customer service is so essential to running a successful business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma_P1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel Beacon is a mid-priced hotel on the Upper West Side. The location is superb, being close to two subway stops, across the street from a market and close to nice restaurants and other stores. We had a suite with a kitchen, which was very convenient traveling with the family. This is an older hotel, but it is clean and comfortable, and the staff is very accommodating. I would book here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GFFUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in New York for four days and the location of the Beacon was one if the reasons we picked this hotel. It is close to the subway and Cenral Park. Lots of restaurants nearby. We loved the kitchenette in the room and a grocery store is right across the street. The room was spacious and comfortable. I had two complaints - I requested a room with a view four months prior to the trip, our room on check in looked over the roof of the adjacent building and we only saw the wall of the building next door. We also experienced a large live cockroach in our room to our horror. Housekeeping came up and took care of it promptly. I asked if we could change rooms but was not allowed to.However when checking out, I remarked about it again and no offer was made to compensate us for these problems.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom2indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 8 nights late June/early July. The kids very happily shared the foldout sofa bed in the living room and we had a very comfortable queen size bed. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. We were on the 21st floor looking east toward Central Park. The small kitchenette was great and we shopped across the road at the Fairways supermarket for fresh food. After long days exploring the city with an 8 and 6 year old, this was so convenient. There is also a laundry on the 5th floor so we were able to do a couple of loads of washing during our stay. Great when you have boys! The hotel is in a great location. We walked to Central Park (3 blocks) and the 72nd St subway station was only 100m away. So easy to catch and very clean and safe. Staff were very attentive and helpful. Would stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I was happy with the location of our room on the 21st floor facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honeysuckle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#107 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#155 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,142 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#199 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,079 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#256 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,866 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
The French Quarters Guest Apartm...
#14 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing