We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, convenient, quiet - a gem!”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #66 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We recently stayed for four nights in a two-bedroom suite with a kitchenette from June 22-25 – two adults and two teenage girls – and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is conveniently located to so many attractions and conveniences – Museum of Natural History, Central Park, the Lincoln Centre, just two blocks from the 72nd Street Subway and in the middle of fantastic restaurants of all cuisines and prices.

The Hotel Beacon is in a quiet, residential area on the Upper West Side and this made us feel a bit less like the tourists we were. We enjoyed the Fairway Market across the street – a huge supermarket that catered to all our different tastes and made it easy to have breakfast and late night snacks in the room. We definitely did not miss room service!

The Hotel Beacon is very quiet for a NYC hotel, immaculate and the staff members were terrific – before, during and even afterwards. Beforehand, they helped me arrange transport from the airport to the hotel; during our stay, they were unfailingly friendly, helpful and professional and, afterward, they stored our luggage for the whole day before our evening flight. Further, and very importantly, they immediately returned to me my coat I had inadvertently left in the hall closet. The coat arrived home almost the same time I did!

I will recommend The Hotel Beacon to all of my friends and associates without hesitation. I would not stay anywhere else in New York.

Room Tip: Rooms high up have a great view but we stayed a bit lower down and enjoyed the distruct views too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,692 - 1,698 of 3,644 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We only stayed here one night, but it was perfect. We had a corner room on the 21st floor with amazing views of the city. It was extremely clean (I'm very picky about that) and well appointed. The staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and courteous. I have to say that I was disappointed that there wasn't room service, but we were able to go across the street to Citarella's (I'm not sure of the spelling) and bring food back to the room. There is a small kitchenette in the room that made it perfect to heat up and store the food. It made the lack of room service completely acceptable. The room was very quiet - I didn't hear anyone else on the floor. It also had the best cable tv options that I have ever had in a hotel room and I travel quite often. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We usually stay at the Lucerne, but I think I like the Beacon a little more. The location is perfect. The desk staff was very friendly and were nice enough to us store our luggage there for almost a whole day after we checked out. The room was very nice and spacious by NYC standards. It was quiet, with very little noise from the street or hallway. I would absolutely stay there next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catriotinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very friendly hotel! Patrick was extremely helpful and gave excellent recommendations each day! We loved everywhere he sent us! The hotel is in a good location...close to the subway and Central Park. I would recommend staying at the Beacon and asking Patrick for restaurant and bar suggestions.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bab04bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We (2 adults and a 12 and 10 year old) have just stayed at the hotel for 7 nights in a 2 bedroom suite with kitchenette. We could not find one fault!

Pro's:
Location - a 3 minute walk to 72nd street station. It is an express stop so Times Square is a very short ride on the express route. Great supermarkets and restaurants across the road. Quieter more residential area. Short walk to Central Park and museums.

Room- clean, looked like it had been recently renovated. Great view. A very comfortable bed. Full kitchen. Good quality shampoos etc. Plenty of cupboard/ storage space.

Laundrette - on the 5th floor. Easy to use and efficient.

Staff -polite and helpful.

I will definitely be recommending this hotel to my friends, and will definitely stay at this hotel when next in New York.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed with my family in hotel beacon from June 26 to June 30. Loved every minute of it. After requesting them for a upper room was given a one bedroom room on the 25 th floor where the view was spectacular. They fairway super market across the street was one of the best supermarkets I have every visited. Every item from across the world available. The laundromat on the 5th floor of the hotel was a blessing. The staff was very polite and helpful. If you want to live like a upper west New Yorker then hotel beacon is the place to stay

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Beaglesarethebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed a the Beacon for 5 nights while attending a conference at Columbia University. The staff at the Beacon was extremely helpful. The king room I had was very comfortable. The location is excellent! I highly recommend the Beacon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#131 of 469 in New York City
2,418 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 469 in New York City
5,341 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 469 in New York City
3,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 469 in New York City
2,112 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,703 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#105 of 469 in New York City
4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $180 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing