We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay in NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #60 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Stay in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed at the Beacon Hotel for six nights, with four of us in a 1br suite (two rooms, two double beds plus rollaway). Great location very accessible to the subway, Lincoln Centre and Central Park. Just a little less hectic than midtown. Lots of good restaurants nearby in Amsterdam Ave and Columbus Ave. Good rooms, bathroom ok, small kitchen so breakfast provisions from two supermarkets across the road on Braodway. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,060
    1,127
    137
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,329
965
116
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a very good hotel in an excellent location. The rooms have self-catering facilities and with 'Fairways' across the road this was a bonus. The rooms are well-equipped. Not only did we have an oven, microwave and large fridge-freezer, we also had a suite with two massive flat screen TVs and it could easily have accommodated four people. We had three walk-in wardrobes and masses of places for storage.

The free WIFI was appreciated, as were the additional ICT faclities on the ground floor, enabling us to print out our boarding passes for our return trip. The hotel is in easy walking distance of 72nd subway stop, Central Park, the Lincoln centre and several museums.

The Beacon next door hosted the Fox Autumn schedule presentation and celebrity spotting wouls have been an option if our suite had not been so comfortable! (sorry Simon)

Room Tip: Our room overlooking 75th Street was very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is very nice, clean and in a great location on Upper West Side. Room has a small kitchenette which is useful in the morning for tea, coffee and breakfast. Small fridge so you can keep all the necessities. Nice bathroom, fantastic water pressure for the shower! Lots of restaurants, shops with groceries, fruit market across the road, pharmacy close by, everything is ver convent. Just a couple of short blocks to the subway. We took the subway to Time Square in 15 min for the hotel. Very close to Central Park, about a 10 min walk. All in all a terrified hotel and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here with my family ( 2 adults and 2 teenage children) for 8 nights after seeing all the raving reviews, of which the hotel thoroughly lived up to! perfect location, made great use of supermarket and shops across the road. rooms were very large and clean, staff were very nice too. a great find in new york!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank KoolKatybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The room was spacious, really good bed, big kitchenette, friendly staff, good location close to an efficient subway station, close to a big market +++. Clean.

Only down was that the A/C wasn´t functioning properly, but would probaby have been resolved if we had reported it.

Room Tip: Above 5 or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OysteinBuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our family of 4 (including 2 teenage children) stayed at this hotel for a 9 day trip to New York. I echo all the comments about great location and space. Its not a luxury hotel in terms of fittings etc but more than made up for by the luxury of having heaps of room for our family-more like an apartment than a hotel and perfect if travelling with teenagers who want their own space. Easy access to times square etc by a subway stop close to the hotel, yet a safe area for walking around at night (the great local shops including discount designer stores and younger options were open til 10pm ). Walking distance to central park. Teenagers loved celebrity spotting at the theatre next door too. Fairly pricey but for our family it was worth it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank bonnie2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked a short stay at this appealing, but unassuming hotel after reading its many rave reviews.
The Upper West Side location is excellent, a Subway station yards away, crosstown and downtown bus stops nearby, and plenty of local diners and small restaurants nearby.
Our bedroom was larger than the norm for the city, we had a small kitchen, perfect for preparing breakfast or a snack, the bathroom was good, with nice toiletries, and a coin operated laundry made it perfect for the longer stay we plan for our next visit. The concierge team are knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Opposite is a superb Fairway food store, selling the widest range of foods we have ever seen, there is a wine store attached to the hotel, as well as a pleasant small restaurant, plus the bonus of the Beacon theatre on site. Within walking distance is the excellent Natural Hisory museum, and just a short bus ride away is the outstanding, glorious, Metropolitan Museum a feast for the senses. Wonderful walks and running paths are to be found in nearby Central Park, and the wide range of small local shops and businesses make the Beacon a perfect home from home, attested to by the hotel's permanent residents.

Room Tip: A higher floor gives the possibility of a New York skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,376 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing