We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Live like a new yorker!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #59 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Live like a new yorker!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the beacon hotel in april 2013. It's located at the upper west side of manhattan so it feels like you are one of the residents there. Its a few meters from 72nd street subway which can take you to downtown and times square in minutes and its just a few blocks away to central park, the american museum of natural history. It was a great walk in the mornings coz its where the apartments are and not crowded by tourists. Surrounding the hotel is the famous beacon theatre, fairway market across the road (they have fruit, veg, cafe upstairs and all the fresh produce and groceries you need). Next to the hotel is Viands cafe, good to have brunch and a local starbucks near by. Staff are friendly and always helpful. Our room was cosy, had a small kitchenette if we wanted to make a quick meal. Cable tv was great! Bathroom was decent size and got our fresh towels daily. There have hotel staff 24hrs at the lobby and and the bar is there if you want a drink with friends. I love this hotel and would stay here again. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank nerdgeekninjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,059
    1,126
    136
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,327
965
116
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Travelled with family, two boys - 1 and 5. Welcome was excellent from the moment we pulled up with far too much baggage for a 5 day trip. Room was on 15th floor and was one of the one bed suites. Sofa bed for 5yo was perfect, cot provided for the 1yo. While the room has a little too much of the colour green in it, it was clean and spacious. Having your own kitchen was great especially with two jet-lagged boys.

There's no restaurant but its not needed and most places locally deliver in any case. It also has a self service laundry which was a surprise to us, but a very welcome one.

Location wise its a short walk to central park and an even shorter one to the subway. The neighbourhood is lovely - and all you need shopping wise is on your doorstop.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher up you can get some great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sitsonthefence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

From the moment the doorman unloaded our luggage from our hire car through to him hailing a yellow cab for our trip to JFK we could not fault the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff - both in the lobby (especially the recommendation to get freshly baked cookies at the nearby Levain bakery) and servicing the room (including furniture rearrangement to suitably accommodate our adult son and young daughter). The great city view towards Central Park from our 22nd floor room meant that we never wanted to close the blinds. Finally it's only one block from the subway - buy the 3 day ticket and you can reach all the attractions cheaply and quickly.

Room Tip: We were very pleased to be on a higher floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a great experience at the Beacon, it is my new favorite hotel in the city. We reserved a one BR king suite; upon checking in, we learned we'd been upgraded to a suite with a private balcony on the 17th floor. Wow! Huge balcony with amazing city views. The room itself was very well done and spacious. Small but functional kitchen, great sitting area, super comfortable bed (pull out sofa bed wasn't as comfortable according to our son). Wonderful location, with fantastic restaurants and shops on Broadway and Amsterdam an easy walk. Really appreciated the free WIFI too, many NY hotels don't offer this. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karleshyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in a 1 BR king suite at Hotel Beacon. Its in a great location - lots of good restaurants in the area, especially the Viand next door. We were on 8th floor, somewhat noisy, and no view from the living room. However, great little kitchen, lots of room for three of us and really felt at home. A bar is is opening in April next to the lobby and there's a great concert venue next door - the Beacon Theater. Be sure to walk to Central Park - we went to the Shakespeare Garden and it was full of flowers. Also the American Museum of Natl. History is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper room (15th floor or higher). Our room was away from elevators, and was probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harlowjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Fantastic hotel, clean, friendly and very helpful staff. We loved the location because we were close to Central Park so we got up early every morning and jogged in the park so we felt like New Yorkers. There are shops and restaurants all within walking distance from the hotel plus the market across the road that has ready cooked meals that you can buy and eat in your room if you don't want to go out. The rooms have kitchenettes and the hotel has a laundromat on the 4th floor so you have the convenience of doing your laundry in the hotel. We loved the neighbourhood the hotel is in (Upper West Side). The subway station is close by. We would definitely stay in this hotel should we be lucky enough to visit NYC again.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews from this site and i must say, that we are very happy with his hotel. We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a most pleasant, fuss free experience ever! We got the king size room with kitchenette and marble bathroom. The room is really large and the bed was always a welcome relief after four long days of shopping. There is a large market opposite the hotel for all your groceries too.

Trips to midtown (Times square 42th St) is only 5mins on the subway, and the subway is only 2mins walk from the station.
The new hotel bar opened on the night we got there, and there is cafe viand right next to the hotel.
Central Park and Museum of Modern Art are only 8-15mins walk as well.

We could not fault the hotel in any way. We love this hotel and would gladly stay here again.
Thank you Hotel Beacon.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 20th floor or more, to get great views. We got the corner suite and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omolaraayanwale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,344 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing