We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel of our American holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #59 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandra Hills
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel of our American holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

When we arrived in NYC we were excited.
the hotel is fabulous! Away from the noise and hustle and bustle of Times Square. Our apartment had 2 queen beds enough for our family of 4 a lovely bathroom and a kitchen! The kitchen was something we had been craving our whole holiday :-)
The staff are wonderful. The door man was so kind to our children and made them feel special! It made our stay very relaxing and personal.

we would recommend anyone travelling to New York to stay here :-)

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 21st floor and over looking the Dakota and Central Park. Definitely worth the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,059
    1,126
    136
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,327
965
116
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas for about 10 days in a one bedroom suite. The location could not have been better for us regarding restuarants, subway red line at 72nd street, Central Park, and a supermarket. We wanted to stay west midtown and this area was perfect. We had family around as well so we had family breakfasts some mormimgs so the kitchenette was wonderful. We loved the space and the walk in robe for all our clothes and shopping. It was good to know that we had an extra bed if needed in the form of a sofa bed. The free wifi was good in our room. I always ask for a quiet room and we did get one, which was unexpected in NYC! The staff always greeted us and were generally helpful. I have never stayed in this city before, but would stay here again. I see it as a good alternative to an appartment which is what we origionally were looking for. We were happy with the cost considering it was Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've stayed at the Beacon many times because I enjoy the upper west side and the Beacon is very close to the 72nd Street subway. This past weekend was another wonderful weekend. I had reserved two rooms this and upon checking in one room had a lower rate. Without me saying a word they lowered the price of the other room. A really good hotel and for NYC a good bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely, lovely hotel which is in a really convenient place. It is in the upperwest manhattan, is comfortable (nothing special, but very convenient. It has a flidge in all rooms and a little cooker, it is very near the 72d express station, it has a supermarker just accross the road with fresh fruit and all sort of things, it has several restaurants near by, the Lincoln centre is not far... what is there not to like?

Tip: there is a Big Nick breakfast place further up on Broadway... yiam yiam yiam...

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a top floor (and ask fro a view...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ada42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teenaged children stayed 4 nights in a one bedroom suite on 22nd floor. The suite was fab for us. It was on the corner of the hotel looking down Broadway towards midtown with great views. There is a small kitchenette and a great Fairways market across the road where we bought breakfast and the never ending supply of snacks our teenagers consume. The kitchen had a microwave which was very useful as the portion sizes in New York restaurants was rather larger than we're used to, and we were able to bring back doggy bags to reheat the next day. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. There's a subway 2 minute walk away and we bought one week metro cards which provided us with unlimited travel to anywhere in Manhatten.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor- great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Beacon because of its proximity to the Beacon Theatre. My parents, husband, and I stayed in one of the suites with one bedroom and a living room with a pullout bed.

PROS:
Great location for the Beacon Theatre or Central Park!
Reasonable price...our room was like $375/night (remember, we had the suite)
Across the street from a few parking lots
Full kitchen so we could keep a bottle of wine and 6 pack of beer cold

CONS:
SMALL bathroom!! Especially for four people to share!
Pullout bed uncomfortable
They say the rooms are soundproof, but I'm a light sleeper and could hear music. When I put the fan on, it drowned out the noise.
I don't think they have any kind of bar area. I didn't see one, but someone said it was on the lower lobby??

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natter1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We've often stayed at the Lucerne but they were booked our most recent trip (February 2013) - this was our first stay at the Beacon and we were very happy with the hotel and location. Had a great view of the city from an upper floor room (20th) and the hotel is very close to the 72nd St subway (1,2,3 lines). The Upper West Side is our favorite place to stay in the city - love the restaurants (Luke's Lobster, Sarabeth's, Barney Greengrass), shopping (Zabar's, Greenflea market on Sundays, Harry's Shoes) and fun things to do (Natural History Museum, Lincoln Center, Central Park). You can also easily grab a crosstown bus to go to the Met and Guggenheim.

Room Tip: Loved our 20th floor room, quiet and a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NWB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,344 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing