We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms - handy location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #46 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Big rooms - handy location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Beacon for a week in late October and found it to be a very good hotel.
The rooms are very large - we were on the tenth floor - and had a kitchenette/lounge and a bedroom and three walk-in wardrobes !! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location was great - handy to central park - a short walk down to the Hudson - the 72nd street train station was just a short walk away... and the best feature of the area was the "Fairway Market" - everything you could want in the way of food/groceries/drink is at your fingertips..right across the road and the little restaurant upstairs does a great breakfast (and a really good latte !!!) We used the laundrette in the hotel and it was clean and well lit - what more could you want.
This is a "family" hotel - nice and quiet with a relaxed air about it. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from "Broadway" are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,908
    1,019
    122
    39
    19
See reviews for
1,205
873
106
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

stayed here for 4 nights in December. It is a great hotel, based in the upper East side, 5 minutes walk from central park. The staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was very affordable and perfect for our family of four. The kitchen was an added bonus as there is a Supermarket across the way where you can get a wide range of food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Fardre, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed here from 6th December - 10th December and had one of the best holidays ever! The beacon hotel was a fantastic place to stay with friendly and polite staff who could not do enough for you.
The rooms were modern, spacious and clean and the beds were heaven after a long day walking around manhattan.
The area of the hotel was ideal for us as it allowed us to see many of the New York attractions whilst keeping away from the hustle and bustle that many midtown hotels would experience.
The hotel itself is about a 10 minute walk from Central Park, however a 30/40 minute walk to many midtown attractions eg. Rockafella centre. I would advise the city bus tour which was $54 dollars per person as it allows you to see all of the main tourist attractions and helps you find your bearings (especially first timers)
Our overall experience of the beacon hotel and New York as a whole is 10 out of 10. I could not recommend the hotel enough!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 15th floor which gave great views of uptown manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Beacon. We got a 1 BR suite, which worked out fine for our group of 3 on a girls' trip. (There is a fold out couch in the living room). It was nice to have a refrigerator to store cold drinks, leftovers and breakfast items. The staff was very nice and responded quickly to requests for more towels, etc. The only issue we had was that one night there was a late concert going on at the Beacon Theater next door and from our room we could hear the music.
The location is great....we liked being in a "neighborhood" and love the tree-lined side streets and brownstone homes nearby. In just a few blocks of walking (less than 5 minutes) you can be at a subway stop. I would definitely recommend Hotel Beacon for all kinds of travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoecat601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great hotel for New York. Kitchenette is a godsend and whilst small has everything you need. Our room was on 21st floor, and we compromised some space and bed size (we had initially been allocated 11th fl) for a fantastic view; and far more natural light. Room was cleaned daily and you can ask for extra kitchen things, like sharp knife (!!) wine glasses etc. Supermarket is just over the road.

We arrived on Thanksgiving and got excellent service from the check in manager and Kenny at the door was great. Other times it was not quite so good, or pleasant. And the information given out by the concierge regarding half tix booth downtown was incorrect. We ended up wasting half a day travelling downtown (which was closed due to Sandy) as a result. Not happy at all.

Otherwise, all good - easy to get to subway, walk to Central Park and MNH, $10 cab ride to/from pretty much all the other major attractions.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My best friend and I went to NYC in August last year and spent 2 weeks at Hotel Beacon. We booked the 1 bedroom, 2 double bed room. The room was HUGE, very clean and we had a great view. Our room had a coffee machine, which was re-stocked with coffee pods and creamer every day by the cleaning staff. There is also a great restaurant next door, the owner was very nice and makes an effort to greet his customers (and remembers the ones who go back multiple times like us!).

My only complaints:
1. (I don't know if this was an issue with our room only) - The bathroom didn't have any sort of ventilation, so we had to shower with the door open or the whole room would steam up. This wasn't a problem for us and wouldn't really be a problem for a couple, but could get awkward if you were staying with your boss on a business trip!

2. No complimentary wireless internet - For the amount of money we paid, it would have been nice to have access to wifi, even if we had to sit in the lobby or something to get it. They have the option of around $10 per day to get wireless in the room, or you could go to the computer room which only had 2 computers in it (and it was always full).

Overall - A great hotel. The staff were extremely friendly (especially the door men, who would happily stand and have a chat while we were waiting for a taxi), the room was lovely and it's in a great spot (walking distance to Times Square or easy access to the subway for those who don't want to walk). Would definitely recommend it to friends and family :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmaline1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Regular visitor of this hotel,i believe is the best hotel in the best location...simple,clean,not crazy expensive,not noisy ,with great beds! and near to all the attractions that i wanted to visit.We always take the 1 bedroom suite,has a living room,a small kitchinette and a large bedroom.Very good value for money!

Room Tip: Take the 1 bedroom suite with the king size bed -its a good value for money and you will have plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tekilaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#105 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,151 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#160 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,159 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#201 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#230 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,086 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
The French Quarters Guest Apartm...
#13 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Beacon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing