We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, lovely, and loved it”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #58 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Location, lovely, and loved it”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I enjoyed everything about the Beacon. Start with location, especially if you want to be on the Upper West Side. Close to subway, Central Park, shopping, restaurants, everything you could want. Very clean and well appointed rooms. Appreciate that each room as a refrig and microwave. Very helpful when you travel. Complimentary wifi (as it should be!). Helpful staff. Starbucks across the street, Viand Cafe next store--great place to eat. I only wish they had a loyalty or frequent traveler program or even an email list for deals because I would like to stay here as often as possible. (Fun fact: if you are a fan of 666 Park, the apartment building used in the show is across Broadway from the Beacon.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,116
    1,151
    143
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,368
989
119
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a seven night stay at the Hotel Beacon in a King suite on the 21st floor. As a couple of seniors who didn't want to be near the hustle & bustle of Times Square, we couldn't have made a better choice.

We had plenty of room, a kitchenette to prepare breakfast & other snacks & an extremely comfortable bed. The neighbourhood was great, so convenient to everything, local restaurants, the subway & Central Park. Having the Fairway market opposite was a bonus and the choice of foods was excellent.

My only criticism would be that the air conditioner was too loud & we had trouble adjusting it to suit us.

A few weeks later we had to return to Manhattan for one night & couldn't get a booking at the Beacon. We stayed in the midtown area in a similarly priced hotel. The comparison with the Beacon was like chalk & cheese. The Beacon was far superior in all respects.

If we every return to NYC we would only stay the the Beacon. We strongly recommend the Beacon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macdaddyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

OK, I know, only an idiot would expect anything but huge prices for calling internationally on a hotel phone, but seriously, this was OUTRAGEOUS! We made a ten minute call to a landline (our bank) in the UK and were charged $149!!!! And $60 and $80 for two 5 minute calls to Australia. Furthermore, when we asked for more information on the call bill (they gave us the time, not the duration of the calls), the man at reception got quite annoyed and basically implied that we must be idiots if we can't see that the international calls are what cost so much (yes...! but can you tell us how you got to the cost please? the duration?? the rate???). No matter what we said, he just kept saying that it was all written on the bill (on the bill was actually the time of the calls, written in 24 hour time) and the rate is whatever unknown rate they are charged (probably using gold cables being exchanged through luxembourg) plus 75% and scoffing and waving the bill away. He would have clearly seen this was not the case if he'd chosen to listen to us rather than scoffing at our stupidity and gesturing to talk to the hand. Absolutely get a phone card even if, like us, you have no intention of making calls anyway. Or, just use your foreign mobile, its actually WAY cheaper. You never know when your bank might freak out over security and cancel your cards or someone at home has an urgent problem.

That aside, this hotel is pretty good for a middle of the road place in NYC. We stayed with our two young children, aged 2 and 3 years old and the location is fantastic. You can easily walk to loads of child-friendly attractions including the children's museum, the natural history museum, central park and even the Met by walking through the park. All the museums and galleries also run children's programming so there's even more to them than just looking at the exhibits.

The kitchens were VERY basically supplied so even though they say that you have a full kitchen, you can't really cook much. There are no dishes/pans suitable for the oven so its completely redundant. There are also no dishes suitable for cooking food in the microwave... except maybe 4 small plates, 4 dinner plates and 4 shallow cereal bowls. I suppose you could heat a TV dinner in the packaging it comes in or heat baby food etc, otherwise you're completely limited to what you can produce on the stove with a small frypan, one spatula and one small saucepan.

The hotel suggests that you contact the Babysitters Guild direct for babysitting services, which we did and we absolutely loved our sitter whose name was Amy.

The doormen are lovely and will receive parcels for you if you shop up a storm and need to have things delivered.

There is a very handy coin-operated laundry room on one of the floors which costs $1.75 for each box of detergent, wash or dry load.

The rooms are small but furnished nicely. There are pretty good restaurants nearby and the supermarket across the road is conveniently open until 1am.

There is good, free wifi in the rooms and a printer and computer for guest use on the ground floor.

Room Tip: The lifts going down get very busy in the mornings. Like us, if you're trying to squeeze in with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TresFabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It was my first time to New York and we stayed in a 1 bedroom suite at the Hotel Beacon and couldn't really ask for more. The service was great, all requests and queries were answered and the location is ideal if you are wanting to get around Manhattan.

It has the Beacon Theatre next door, a late opening supermarket across the road and the Cafe Viand next door does great pancakes with equally as good service.

The tea and coffee were topped up every and the small kitchenette was ideal for quick snacks and a bite to eat especially with the doggy bags we bought back. 72nd Street station is 2 blocks away and to walk Central Park, National History Museum and the Lincoln Centre are only a few blocks too.

If I do go back I would definitely stay there again as it ticked all the boxes for location, service and facilities without being overly expensive.

Room Tip: I think due to reading here before that the suites have the better views ours was straight out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elstaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

omfortable, clean and a great base for sightseeing in NY. Ideally located for restaurants and drinks in the local area too. Stayed room only, but loved the kitchenette and comfortable facilities. Enjoyed the great view down broadway - really made us feel part of the action - a lovely romantic break!

Room Tip: Get a suite with a view of broadway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainBlackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairy Meadow, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was my second stay at the Beacon Hotel in September this year. It was even better than the first. The service is impeccable, the location fantastic particularly with the Fairways Supermarket across the road and the rooms are roomy and well equipped. I will certainly be staying here again. And don't forget to try the Fairways Cafe above the supermarket - great food!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My friend who lives in the Upper West Side recommended this place, and I'm so glad she did. The subway stop was very close - with the Red 1 line as an option. Gets you to high destinations quick with less stops. Hotel rooms were roomy, great beds, perfect sized kitchenette and wonderful staff. The rate was moderate, but you get a lot more for your money than most similarly priced hotels. Lots of great restaurants close (not to mention the Museum of Natural History & Central Park). This is where I will stay from now on.

Room Tip: As many have mentioned, higher rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#130 of 468 in New York City
2,351 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 468 in New York City
4,837 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 468 in New York City
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#197 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 468 in New York City
2,049 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing