We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE!!!”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #58 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sherman Oaks
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“STAY HERE!!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

No really. Cancel your other reservation and make one here. I'm willing to bet you are paying much more for much less. This property is wonderful. From the outside you wouldn't necessarily know how nice the rooms are - I had a king and it was very large. Kitchenette in the room was more of a small kitchen - well equipped with pots pans and dishes. I was able to prepare breakfasts and snacks from the groceries I had purchased at the AMAZING huge Fairway market across the street. Room was extremely comfortable, although it is NYC and I wasn't in the room all that much. Service staff was wonderful - tiny problems (remote needed new batteries, one other small thing) addressed immediately. I left my Iphone charger at home and one of the gentlemen at the desk checked to see if he had his personal one with him and loaned it to me until I could get to the Apple Store the next day. I needed to go to the Brooklyn Cruise Terminal and the Bellhop/Valet dealt with not only getting me a cab but making sure they knew where I needed to go and how to get there (not all cabs want to go to Brooklyn evidently).

Quiet - this is a largely residential section and believe it or not cabs and trucks and such incur LARGE fines if they lay on their horns. So much for that NY stereotype but I've stayed on 42nd and not gotten a lot of sleep, so I enjoyed the quiet.

Convenient - three blocks to Central Park - right by Strawberry Fields. Three blocks a different direction to the 72 street subway stop for 1,2 and 3 lines. 3 is an express that will get you to Times Square (where you can transfer to about any other subway line) and all the Broadway shows and on down to the 9/11 memorial stop. 1 or 2 will get you to 50th street stop for Radio City, 30 Rock, Rockefeller Plaza etc. 3 or 4 blocks the opposite direction from Central Park is the Hudson Riverfront. Lots of restaurants in the area, lots of shopping up and down Broadway. Don't remember one in the property itself, or room service, but didn't look because with the kitchenette I didn't need one. Used the computers, very helpful to have free WiFi in the rooms too (seriously why don't all hotels have this now?). Believe there was a pool because I saw kids in bathing suits but I didn't check it out.

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend who resides in the neighborhood and I'm so glad I took his advice. 4 people from work have stayed at this hotel at various times this summer and we all plan to make this our regular NYC hotel from now on.

Room Tip: Request to be away from the elevators. The only complaint I had about the whole stay was the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianeinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,116
    1,151
    143
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,368
989
119
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed in this hotel in May and thought it was terrific. We paid for a suite and it was really large and had plenty of extra room if you wanted anyone to stay the night i.e. all the bridesmaids stayed and everyone got ready in there whilst i stayed elsewhere for that particular night.

In a great location next and really nice area of New York. Really close to a Subway stop and that is how we got around the whole time we were there. Really easy to do.

The hotel staff were really good and it was just the little touches that made it lovely, such as when it was raining you could take the big black umbrellas with wooden handles and keep them all day.

There is Freshway Market directly opposite which is great for snacks, drinks and beer etc. Nice big fridge in the room to store eveything.

Overall terrific stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawitt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We'd read good reveiws about this hotel and were not disappointed. Really pleased with our suite, large sofa bed for the children, separate bedroom for us. Well decorated and very clean.

Good points:

Across the road from a fantasitc Fairview supermarket with stacks of fresh fruit, veg, freshly prepared meals. Wish we had one like this in UK

Subway, 2 min walk

Central Park 10 min walk

Lots of shops, cafes, bars close by

Friendly, helpful staff

Fantastic cafe about 15 mins walk away called 'Good enough to eat'. It's only small and quite popular, the food is amazing.

Bad point - an unwanted cockroach in the kitchen cupboard. Fortunately we didn't find him until our last day. But don't let that put you off. This is a very good hotel and we would definitely stay there again if ever i am lucky enough to visit New York.

New York is a fantastic city, we throughly enjoyed our 4 nights and didn't have time to see everything.

If you can, avoid being talked into buying advance tickets for the Guided tours / Empire State, there is nothing to gain by doing this. You dont save any money and despite what they say you don't jump the queue.

Room Tip: If you don't want a view of the back of grubby buildings, ask for a front facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hertfordshireSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed 3 nights early September and had booked the hotel on recommendations from other TA reviewers and we were not disappointed!!

We were allocated a corner room on the back of the hotel which was very quiet and large in comparison to other Manhattan hotels. We had 2 beds, a large separate kitchenette area with window and a large bathroom, again with window that opened! Although I do sleep with earplugs, the room was very quiet. Beds were very comfortable and had not trouble sleeping. So good to be able to wake up in the morning and make a proper cup of British tea!!

On the 2nd day we arrived back to our room to discover that the smoke alarm was sounding - seemed as though it could have been the battery. I called reception and within 15 mins a friendly maintenance guy took a look and resolved the problem. Great service indeed! In fact, all staff were very friendly and helpful. We were heading to Citifields for the Mets v Nationals game and the doorman was extremely helpful in providing the best route to take by subway and train.

We were visiting our friends in Brooklyn so spent a lot of time away from the hotel - but we found it to be in one of the best locations to access anywhere in Manhattan. Only 2 blocks/5 minute walk to Central Park. A minute's walk to the subway and a good 30 minute walk to Times Square (but we don't mind walking in Manhattan - it's the best way to see the city).

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will definitely book again as and when we find ourselves visiting Manhattan. Although perhaps we should keep it a secret from others so we can always get a room when we need it!!

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickster1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at the beacon hotel was excellent from the moment we got there til the moment we left. The staff were friendly and helpful they always put your needs first just to make sure your stay at the beacon won't be your last stay at the beacon. We spent a week in NYC. This hotel was two blocks from the nearest subway station so if you're not familiar with the trains I suggest you do as times square is about a 20min to 30min walk from the hotel whether you like to walk that's up to you we did it a few times just to become familiar with the surrounding area. As we were on the upper west side Central Park was only two blocks from the hotel. Also being in this area the rules are enforced that drivers are not allowed to honk horns so you won't be hearing that constant noise all the time. Our view was spectacular the sun rose above the buildings over the upper east side and turned orange every afternoon. The room had a very comfy king bed medium bathroom, kitchenette, flat screen tv, free wifi, in room safe. Hotel has computers and printer, washers and dryers, fairway supermarket across the street, up the street Starbucks and the best italian restaurant serafina, as this hotel is on broadway there is a theatre next to the hotel, there is no pool but who needs to go swimming you're in NYC you will never get bored! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amylee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel was wonderful to stay in. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were serviced daily. The conceirge was always available to help with all your questions and to help book excursions.

The Hotel itself was 2 block from Central Park and just a short walk to 72nd st subway station which made it so easy to get around either uptown or downtown.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone that is staying in New York.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisawesley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

So this hotel is a mile or so from Times Square but it's easy to move around as there is a tube station right outside. It's a stones throw from Central Park but the biggest advantage of this hotel is that the bedrooms are very large, especially by NY standards. Didn't really use any of the facilities but the bedroom was very clean & the staff were very helpful. There is a really interesting market over the road selling everything you can imagine and, as the bedrooms all have a kitchenette, this is a bonus if you fancy a night in. All in all a great hotel in which to unwind after a busy day in the city

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DudleyDicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#130 of 468 in New York City
2,351 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 468 in New York City
4,837 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 468 in New York City
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#197 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 468 in New York City
2,049 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing