We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value and location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #53 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing value and location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

After many hours trawling through Trip Advisor reviews, we decided to book our 7 nights in NYC at Hotel Beacon. We were not disappointed!

We found the Trip Advisor reviews to be accurate and fair. We booked a one bedroom suite (Room 1802) to share between four adults (all in our mid to late 20s - a married couple and two friends), which comfortably provided all of us with heaps of space and privacy. As reflected in the earlier reviews, the bathroom was small, but very clean and had very (!) strong water pressure. The room was very clean and fairly recently refurbished (we requested a newly refurbished room on an upper floor overlooking Broadway and our request was met). There was heaps of closet space and the kitchenette was ideal. As others have mentioned, the in-room wi-fi was quite expensive, so we didn't pay to have it. However, with a Starbucks literally on every other corner offering free wi-fi and a few computers in the Lobby with free wi-fi, we don't think we would have used it even if we had of purchased it.

In our view, the hotel is perfectly located on the corner of 75th and Broadway on the Upper West Side. It is a great neighbourhood which while quieter than Midtown or Downtown (which is exactly what we were after – we all agreed that we would have hated to have stayed anywhere near the crush of Times Square!) still had loads of cafes, restaurants and shopping all within walking distance (we recommend Big Nick’s Burgers on Broadway one block up from the hotel, Blondies Sports Bar, Red Velvet cupcakes on 72nd Street and the Wine Bar on 72nd Street after Columbus). As other reviews have mentioned, there are two fantastic grocer / deli / supermarkets directly across the road, which we made full use of! We felt like true New Yorkers by the end of our trip!

I am a single female traveller and I felt completely safe walking around the neighbourhood by myself at night as well as catching the subway by myself to our stop at night (the Red 1, 2 and 3 lines all go Down Town to the main attractions and all stop at 72nd street, so it was really easy to get around – get the unlimited pass if you are there for a week, we found it was great value).

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly for NYC. The fold out mattress in the sofa was very uncomfortable on our first night, so we asked for an upgrade the next morning. While they didn’t have any upgrade rooms available during our stay, they did replace the WHOLE couch for us so that we got a better foldout mattress, which was very impressive! (The replacement couch still wasn’t ideal, but it wasn’t an issue for us. Our tip is that if you are a fussy sleeper and can afford it, opt for the two bedroom suite or dual queen bed suite if you don’t require as much privacy).

All in all, we had a fantastic stay at Hotel Beacon and will definitely be recommending it to our family and friends. We will be back!

Room Tip: Follow other tips and ask for a newly refurbished room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisianInTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,014
    1,088
    129
    44
    21
See reviews for
1,283
941
111
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here 12/31/11 and it was an excellent place to stay. The sleep quality was super, I am a very restless sleeper in hotels, but not here! The bed and pillows were great. The room was super clean. In our standard King room there was a mini kitchen, which worked out great, having a mini fridge to store our wine. The staff was very kind and helpful as well.
The Beacon Hotel is located in a great place in the city! We found it so much nicer than staying anywhere near Times Square.
The only downside is the slow elevators and no restaurant. However, there is a 24 Hour Cafe right next door with good coffee. So my morning coffee habit was well covered!

We will definately stay here again! Thanks Beacon Hotel for a great Holiday!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Layla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have been staying at the Beacon nearly every week on business for over three years. The staff are the best.. friendly, helpful, always looking out for me. The neighborhood is great... comfortable, safe, and vibrant. All the rooms include kitchens, which is especially great for those times I bring my family along. My teenage daughter especially loves the location... you can't beat being next door to the famous Beacon Theatre.!

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the hotel overlook the San Remo and Central Park.. the sunrises are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zann44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

My mom and I stayed at the beacon for 12 nights in December. Both of us had not been to New York before and so we were not very sure on where to stay. After hours of research we came across this wonderful hotel and read all the reviews on trip advisor. All the reviews had such wonderful comments about the hotel and so we booked it!
I must say that all the positive comments about the hotel were a hundred percent correct! my mom and I were more than satisfied with this hotel!!
the location is so perfect! There is a huge grocery store, Fairways right opposite the hotel as well as a lovely deli, Citarella which makes divine meals. Another plus is having Starbucks right next door! it became a routine to get a coffee before heading out for the day.
The rooms in the Beacon are wonderful and so clean!! the rooms are spacious and have a small kitchenette which is lovely as you can make some of your own meals instead of always eating out.
All of the staff members are so friendly and helpful.They really make you feel at home.
I was so sad to have to leave this place and have decided I will definitely be coming back over and over again!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lift are quieter because less people are standing outside your room talking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank georgiecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We choose this hotel after spending a horrible night in a nearby hotel.We stayed at Beacon hotel for 5 nights..we choose a big room with a living room.The room was on the 6th floor - was quite-was clean and everything was working.
In the living room was a small sink -a microwave -a fridge and a coffee machine(very nice!!!specially when you coming back from a long walk and you need a coffee and a snack.)
They had a small business center.If you want breakfast there is a very nice bistro called VIANO just next door.
Very good value for money,i believe for a hotel in NY.
I would definately stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tekilaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

My family (mum, dad, 2 kids) stayed in a 2 bedroom apt for 10 days over Christmas and loved every minute of it. It was a very spacious apartment and had everything we needed...but out of the hustle and bustle of Times Square, etc.
It's located near a main subway station making transit easy. Concierge and Front Desk were very helpful, even lending us a stroller for our youngest child for the duration of the stay.
The market over the road is just great.
The only slight downside was the housekeeping.... they just did the minimum each day and not very thoroughly.
We stayed on level 6, in a corner room which was fantastic! Close enough to feel part of the action and do some people watching, but far enough away that it was never noisy. So don't get too hung up on getting on a high floor.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope I go back one day :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebeccamc0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Beacon, Upper West Side, for 7 nights during Nov/Dec 2011. What a great spot to enjoy NY from. Good size rooms, bright, opening windows, clean, fresh rooms with kitchenette (stove top, sink, microwave, fridge, cutlery, crockery), and very pleasant and helpful staff in this hotel. Great fresh food market and supermarket directly across the road (Broadway), 2 blocks from safe subway station at 72nd Street, very safe area of NY, walking distance of Central Park. No free wifi in rooms, however there is free internet in a small room just off the lobby, and Starbucks (virtually next door) has free wifi if using your own computer. We would definitely stay at the Beacon again. Whole experience very positive. Hint for laundry service - go to one of the laundry shopfronts just one street back from the hotel - prices are around US$1 per pound of clothes for washing and drying and folding - minumum cost is usually $10; also, because there are quite a few of these places, price around and negotiate - may also get free pickup from, and return delivery to the hotel. Enjoy !

Room Tip: The higher the better. Also, try to get a corner room - more light and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank grahamandrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#107 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#223 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#202 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing