We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zen in the heart of the city”
Review of Kitano New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kitano New York
Ranked #109 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Zen in the heart of the city”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Kitano hotel is a little slice of peace and tranquility in the heart of New York. The rooms are a bit on the small side but then again, it is New York City. That being said, the bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet. The location is very good, located close to the subway and yet within walking distance to Herald Square and Grand Central Terminal. (Times Square was a bit further away on foot, but still fairly close; about 15 minutes away)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzie_Bear2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    427
    107
    33
    17
See reviews for
248
435
80
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Kitano hotel is Japanese owned and reflects the stereotypical calmness and sophistication that you would expect. The staff are quietly efficient and nothing is too much trouble. Our 'superior' room was large, well appointed and comfortable. Our only, very minor, complaint was that we were suppied with a bowl of fruit in the room and this was not replenished or replaced for the whole of our 4 day stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjakeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Rooms are in need of updating - things look dated and a bit worn. Rooms are small and it's certainly not a stellar hotel by any standard. My major complaint was the long strands of dark hair and the large bug that accompanied my morning shower - very off-putting. I told the desk about this but no accommodation for a dirty bathroom was offered. For the price, you can do better in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank commecicommeca14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was fine, but not for a four star hotel. The room was fair and the bathroom was quite small and unremarkable compared to most of the hotels I stay in. If I had paid retail I would have been unhappy, but I booked on Priceline and got a good deal, so I have no complaints with my stay due to the price I paid.
I have never been in a hotel where you have to pay for the packages of coffee and imitation creamer that are usually provided gratis. I thought that was kind of weird. It was $2.00 a cup. I wound up ordering room service which was $10.00 for the pot including tip. Be careful, or they will try to get you for $10.00 per person for the one pot lol.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbaker04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

You pay a decent about of money for a night here...we paid around 380.00 usc for the night..the room and bathroom were clean but there was nothing luxurious about the hotel as they say. The bed was comfortable..but we have stayed at other hotels where Coffee is free...they charge for coffee, tea is free so I guess its good if your a tea drinker.. overall clean, quiet but nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marisgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I got a King room for a great deal over Thanksgiving through Travelzoo so I'm happy with what I paid to stay here. If I had paid full price I would give this hotel 3 stars. My room was small but comfortable with a wonderful bed and very clean. The bathroom was very nice with good shower pressure and nice towels....even had a towel warmer! My only complaint with the room would be the dim lighting in the bathroom. The bulbs are set on a timed dimmer- energy conservation I guess. This is a Japanese themed hotel with a Japanese restaurant in the basement level which has good food. Upon check-in, we were given a 20% discount coupon for the hotel bistro where we ate lunch. It had a nice atmosphere, food was good and with the discount, a fair price. This hotel is in a great location....a short walking distance to Grand Central and Times Square as well as shopping and good restaurants. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boymom1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry Hill, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was expecting more...the little things that make a small Hotel special..The Kitano just didn't have it. I mean, if I'm paying over $700 per night, (I had 2 rooms, so it was close to $1500), how dare you charge me $2.00 per cup of INSTANT coffee in my room? Are you kidding me?

The doorman was rude and unfriendly. I had to remind him to say "Hello". The rooms were dark and lacking of any bright light in the bathroom; my wife found it difficult to apply her limited make-up (she doesn't need that much, she's naturally beautiful!).

The bathroom and rooms were in need of a thorough scrubbing...we actually found nail clippings on the coffee table and mold under the soap dish...it all felt kinda old. Also, we were curious why there was portable space heaters in the rooms. Do the rooms get cold in the winter? This is the second time we'll stay here...First and Last!

Room Tip: Not Great Value Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikul00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#51 of 466 in New York City
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,594 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#95 of 466 in New York City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitano New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitano New York

Property: Kitano New York
Address: 66 Park Ave, At 38th Street, New York City, NY 10016-3007
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
#205 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kitano New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kitano New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitano New York Hotel New York City
Kitano New York City
Kitano Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing