We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and superior professionalism”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #25 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed in Kimberley for 6 nights and overall we enjoyed our stay. We booked luxury suite with two double beds and the suite itself was really perfect. We had no compaints about anything but... we got a suite with a backyard view which was horrible. It was on the 8 th floor even if I asked good time in advance to give us the highest possible floor. And it was impossible to sleep because of the terrible smell coming from the vent of a diner downstairs. Windows were not really well sealed to prevent the garlicky fumes making us reay unwell. After a few medicated nights I gathered my courage to ask reception to move us to the higher floor, away from the smelly vent. They did that tout de suite and we were so happy - away from that smell and sad looking walls- we got a view on the 29th floor, even if it was still backyard. To your information- all luxury suites with 2 double beds are with a view to the backyard!! Which is a shame. And if the price on the 8th foor and 29th floor is the same, I find it really unfair to the fellow traveller- difference is enormous even if rooms are the same. For one night we booked a suite with a kingsize bed and got a room with a street view. It was very nice suite.
Anyway, hotel is very nice, service is exellent and very professional. I just expected the guys in the reception to be more plesant - no smiles in 6 days. Girls in the reception, on the other hand, the doormen and porters, were really lovely people. Super professionals!
So, exellent and affordable hotell with superb location in Midtown provided you get a highest possible floor.

Room Tip: Highest possibe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaux62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is in a great location in midtown. Our room was large and clean. The rooftop bar was great with amazing views. Our only issue was that there was only 1 elevator working and we waited 40 minutes and eventually had to walk down from the 11th floor with our luggage. The staff, however, were amazing and handled a difficult situation very well. Juliette at the counter was friendly and professional and Harry, the doorman, provided exceptional service. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FullCaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I have spent a lot of time in New York, and have always been underwhelmed by the hotel rooms. This hotel is the exception. I attended a conference at the Waldorf, but chose to stay at the Kimberly instead after having a few bad experiences at the Waldorf in years past. My decision was a good one.

The rooms at the Kimberly are huge. I stayed in the cheapest room available, and had a huge room, seating area, and bathroom. The room was both comfortable and extremely clean.

In addition, the rooftop bar is beautiful and the location great.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank nola_Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a smaller hotel on the east side of midtown Manhattan. Convenient location, but I was pretty underwhelmed by my stay. Staff didn't seem very friendly, elevators were slow (there is apparently no service elevator so staff are using them frequently). My room was an interesting bilevel room with a spiral staircase, but the lighting was poor, no lamp on the desk or table, no turndown service. They have a small fitness center and free passes to a large NY sports club. Overall, it was just OK, but I've had "more for less" at other NYC hotels. I was hoping for better based on other Tripadvisor reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarrierMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui and within walking distance to the subway (TST Exit A). The place is also very accessible via Airport Express with free shuttle (K4) that will take you to the hotel from the train station. Going back to the airport, you can simply hop on a cab towards the train station or simply walk a little towards Nathan Road and take A21 bus to the airport. You may also take A21 bus from the airport to Nathan Road (Miramar Stop which is in the corner of Nathan Road and Kimberley Street) although bus ride may take you 45-55 minutes while airport express will just be around 25-30 minutes.

The hotel is also a walking distance to the Kowloon Park, Canton Road and TST promenade (Clock tower, Star Ferry Terminal, Symphony of lights every 8 pm, etc.). If you want to take a day or two in Macau, the China Ferry Terminal is also from the hotel. It's around 10-15 minute walk or a very short taxi ride from the hotel.

The room that we had is relatively ok for a standard hotel room in Hong Kong just don't compare it with other cities like Singapore because this may be considered small.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We enjoyed a free upgrade to a two bedroom apartment. It had two full bathrooms with every amenity you could want in them, a spacious living room, three huge TV's, 7 closets, and a balcony with table and chairs. Absolute paradise a couple blocks from Rockefeller Plaza. Loved the comfy beds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

These rooms were very nice. We stayed with family, and there was plenty of room for everyone. The reception staff was a little unfriendly when we arrived (but it was 11pm, and we had been traveling all day, so maybe it was us). The next day, and every day after, the staff was nothing but wonderful! Good location for us, and easy access to the subway. Nice hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDMG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#50 of 469 in New York City
1,464 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#88 of 469 in New York City
2,757 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
414 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,082 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#44 of 469 in New York City
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $237 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing