We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Boutique Hotel, Great Location”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #42 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Upscale Boutique Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Kimberly Hotel is a nice upscale hotel on the east side of midtown. The location is perfect for just about anything in the city. The rooms were small, as will be any place in the city, but they were very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. Would recommend this hotel to couples, rather than families with small children.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    510
    111
    49
    23
See reviews for
562
406
56
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Visited for four days last week with Husband and two sons ages 11 and 17. First impressions were a little mixed as the front of the hotel was covered in scaffold. The check in was faultless, the door staff were excellent. Our two bed apartment on teh 25th floor was roomy and spotless. This is a small hotel with personal service which I found perfect in such a large anonymous city. The doorman had a high five for our younger son every time he saw him. The location is wonderful, we walked to Central Park, Broadway, 5th Avenue, in 10 mins with the Rockefella Centre 5 mins away. We tried to visit the Upstairs bar but my husband did not conform with the strict dress code, however we did breakfast there and it was fine, smaller than the photos suggested but some lovely views across the city. If I visit New York again I will definitely stay at The Kimberly.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel, views obscured by construction work and noise during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Kimberly in Feb 2014, for a quick overnight getaway. My folks were in town and agreed to watch the kids. My wife had meetings in New York anyway. I picked the Kimberly because of its central midtown location which made it easy for my wife to get to her meetings. I was very happy that I did. It started with my greeting by Bijoux at check-in and continued until we left the next morning. The lobby is nice and the huge fish tank is stunning. It actually takes a few double takes to realize what it is. The room we had was a large suite that was very clean and had a great bathroom. We should have gone to the upstairs bar after dinner, but we were too tired. I did check it out the next morning, and the views of the Chrysler Building were nice in daylight, but must be fantastic at night. The gym is small, but has all the basics. If you need a better workout they have a deal with NYH&R. I would recommend this hotel to any NYC visitor. The suite was easily large enough for our family of four. We felt spoiled with just the two of us.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. The front desk folks are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psmith07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I just came back from New York City after staying at the Kimberly hotel for 3 nights. It was a great location, clean hotel and friendly staff. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Liked that it was a boutique hotel as opposed to one of those big chain ones. You really felt more appreciated there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlamaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Old buy fancy, this hotel is my favorite place to stay when I go visit my family in NY. Close to the action, close to everything. Nice, clean safe place. I love going to Radio City, this hotel it is walking distance to it. Love this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Kimberly Hotel needs renovation, the interior is a bit old. But it is in the center, location is awesome, everything within walking distance. One time you should try PH floor, good view
Staff is very helpful and friendly. Next to it I'd recommend Moreno coffee, very good place to drink good coffee in the morning

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victorsamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Checking into the Kimberly was as easy as it gets. The hotel is very clean and the staff the best in NYC. From the moment we arrived we were treated to first class service. It he room was clean and most importantly welcoming and comfortable. We will be back because my wife is in love with the overall service. Great staff plus excellence service plus a very clean and comfortable room equal a return visit and recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMRDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 466 in New York City
2,655 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 466 in New York City
1,397 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#57 of 466 in New York City
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 466 in New York City
1,256 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 466 in New York City
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing