We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roof top bar, terrific views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #69 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Roof top bar, terrific views”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I did not stay at the hotel I was there for an event on the rooftop. Terrific view as you step off the elevator and enter the bar the Chrysler building is all lit up for your viewing pleasure. I'm not a fan of NYC but from the rooftop I enjoyed it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kalenamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    483
    110
    48
    23
See reviews for
506
368
53
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent 6 nights at The Kimberly and would be happy to go back and stay again. Though they were renovating the facade of the building which meant that there was scaffolding at the front of the building, the stay was still good. The room we had was very large and while the decor was a little old world (most NY hotels are) it was very comfortable. The bed was fantastic and probably one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The only draw back was the bathroom was very small and the shower was over the bath.
The hotel was close to a metro station which is very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazzaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontenac, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Kimberly hotel is a small boutique hotel. When I first walked in, I was a bit disappointed. The decorating style does not ft with mine. But, i judged too quickly. Over time, the room grew on me, and I discovered the benefits. The rooms have a small kitchen, large living room, and nice-sized bedroom. The bathroom was updated. The bed and pillows were very comfy. The slippers in a package along with the oversized bath robe were nice touches.

I did not get a chance to go to the roof top restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexisHershey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce City, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Housekeeping was a failure and the morning manager Charles is to blame. We checked in to this hotel on Fri. night and found hair on the bed (see attached photos). We had been traveling from the Poconos and we were already very tired. We complained about the hair and they switched our room. The next room we checked in also had hair in the bed. We were tired and didn't want to move again so we asked for them to change the linens. They sent in a disgruntled maintenance worker to change the sheets that looked and behaved very angry. This worker left a hair on the bed for us as well. It must have fallen off his hairy arm since he was wearing short sleeves. When I explained the situation to the morning manager Charles he said I was the one who put the hair in the bed. He himself has a very unkempt appearance. He had long fingernails and an unbuttoned red striped shirt under his poorly fitting blazer. He wore the red shirt the entire weekend. He was rude and showed no respect and refused to apologize for the inconvenience. He will run this place into the ground because he is the morning manager and should be overseeing housekeeping. Do not stay here unless you want to wake up with a previous guest's hair in your mouth if you fail to check the pillows the night before.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights in May 2013. The hotel is well situated in New York's Midtown and within easy reach of 5th Avenue, Central Park other parts of Manhattan via underground system. The hotel décor was dated (although it has just been refurbished) with crack in the bathroom's sink and some of the fittings coming off the walls. The room sizes and decent for New York standards and roof top bar is great at night. What really lets this property down is the service, some of the staff are indifferent when asked for help or directions. There aren't enough lifts and one often needs to wait a while to get in. The problem is increased by housekeeping staff using the same lift as guests. On the positive note, we had a free Wi Fi, which is not very common in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great Hotel! Great Location! The staff was always eager to help!! Rooms are really big with a nice bathroom. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which worked out great for our 4 person girls trip!! DO NOT STAY ON THE 30TH FLOOR....the bar is right above you and you can hear the noise, music and dragging of chairs all night! The balcony was fabulous with an amazing view!. The Penthouse was delicious for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

What a find! Wish it hadn't been til now. Staying in a one bedroom suite with HUGE rooms. You can sleep 2 in the entrance alone. And another two on the full walk-out balcony. No kidding. But, no, we gave our two boys the pull out queen sleeper in the large living room, and hubby and I are in the equally generous master king. Would rather have 2 bathrooms and one TV rather than the reverse, but kids are happy with all the screens--including the monitor on the desk that eerily spoke to us when we touched it and welcomed us.
There's a large kitchen area with microwave, fridge, and toaster. I peered in: crumb residue. People actually make toast here. Who knew. Next time I'll pack some bread. Cannot see how people need it seeing there're so many restaurants around. Maybe the toast is for post imbibing on the fabulous rooftop deck.
We will definitely book here again for our NYC junkets. Maybe the 2 bedroom, two bath next time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SandwichedMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#73 of 467 in New York City
2,549 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
1,205 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
718 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
1,175 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing