We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent hotel - great location - large rooms”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #17 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

on a business trip to New York , the Kimberly seems to be the perfect solution.
large working space , good facilities , and the roof top is the perfect place to meet.
breakfast was great , and so were other services

will return

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,246 - 1,252 of 2,060 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

After dinner we decided to follow some recent blog recommendations for a good roof-top bar for a night cap - so Upstairs at the Kimberly it was. The crowd is mixed age; the music a great mix of vibey hits and favourites - the couch service was also appreciated especially when things really got more packed. Good people watching under the warm spring evening.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 0livinglife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed for about a week in this hotel in late December 2012. Booked directly from the hotel website and got an upgrade while checking in. Service was excellent. Everyone was very helpful and the concierge was in particular resourceful. She helped us with restaurant bookings and gave us detailed directions. Check-in and check-out were also quick and smooth. Location was convenient, as we were within walking distance to major attractions in mid-town, Central Park, and key subway routes.

The hotel is in an older building that looked pretty bland/boring from the outside. I understand that parts of the interior and some of the rooms had been renovated more recently. Our room was very clean and had classic decor and was nicely furnished. We were in a very large and comfortable suite, with separate bedroom + bathroom (also spacious), a kitchen area (with a full-sized fridge), a dining room as well as a second bathroom next to the entrance (convenient if you expect visitors). Didn't have any problem with noise -- couldn't hear much from the outside or the hallways/neighbors. Interestingly our bathtub (just a tub with shower head, no separate shower stall) featured a half-glass door, of which I'm not a big fan because it's easy to make a mess when you shower. Wasn't a big deal. The amenities, towels, etc. all seemed pretty nice. Our living room area also had a large balcony and the view was pretty good since we were on a high floor (see picture, although it was snowing quite hard). Plenty of storage / closet space. We noted that some parts of the room (the balcony door, curtains, etc.) seemed a bit old and could use an update.

Aside from our rooms, some of the interior of the hotel also looked a bit dated but we didn't mind. Elevators, although looked old, moved quickly and we never had to wait for more than a minute. The hotel provided its guests with access to a nice health club / fitness center within a couple of blocks from the premise. There was also a gym within the hotel on the second floor--it's open 24/7 with your card access. Water and towels were provided but it had limited equipment. Wireless internet access seemed a bit slow but was generally adequate for checking emails / looking things up etc.

We've stayed at newer / more modern hotels in the city but the space in those rooms (at the same price point) always felt cramped. In general this is a solid 4-star hotel. Not the finest nor luxurious, but good quality with attention to details. It's hard to find comfortable and spacious rooms in Manhattan at this price point.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ricky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for one night during a quick visit to NYC. The room was huge compared to other rooms we have stayed in the city. All of the staff was very nice and eager to help us with anything we asked for. We both decided we will be choosing The Kimberly Hotel for our future stays.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommy2bjej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Really impressed with this hotel. The room for three of us was a suite which even had a kitchenette, some thing we had not booked and a massive sofa bed in the lounge area. The reception and door staff couldnt have been nicer, especially Harry and Kevin who went out of their way to give a personal touch to whatr is a big hotel the best g and ts in Manhatten on the roof top bar with it's great view, pity the breakfast let it down. Nothing special, very basic lthough the staff Did try and help us with any requests. The bathroom was really small though, but perfectly fitted out and the mid town location, just a stones throw from the Waldorf was fantastic. Would Definately stay again, really good value for money.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank debbieg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My boyfriend & I both stayed at the Kimberly Hotel for 5 days. We were welcomed to the hotel by friendly hotel staff who were happy to help us with our luggage. We were given a large room on the fourth floor with a king size bed (which was extremely comfortable). The room had a large flat screen tv, some where to sit, an ipod dock so you could listen to your music. The room was cleaned every day while we were there and the cleaning staff were lovely, if you were busy they were more than happy to return later. The view wasn't pleasant, but this is because the hotel next door was being done up so it looked like a construction site. On our first morning at the Kimberly, we decided to have room service breakfast as we were jet lagged and woke up early. Unfortunately, we had a misunderstanding with the hotel kitchen staff. We must warn you that when reading the menu, everything isn't written clearly. After the misunderstanding we were charged $90 for our breakfast, when it should of been $30, they gave us double of everything when we clearly stated we wanted our own individual breakfasts. We ultimately went to reception and complained about being charged a ridiculous amount for breakfast, thankfully they understood and charged us the $30.
Another problem we faced with the hotel was that my boyfriend's parent's had arranged to have a bottle of champagne sent to our room in celebration of his 21st birthday, it took them 2 days to have it delivered, what they sent wasn't even champagne and it cost them $100.
Other than this, the hotel treated us amazingly. The hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from times square, and is quite quiet. The bar upstairs in the Kimberly hotel was beautiful at night.
We will be returning to this hotel again, but making sure not to order "champagne" or breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was my husband and I's first trip to NYC and we planned this exciting excursion to celebrate a milestone birthday for myself. After much research, we decided on the Hotel Kimberly, which is a very nice boutique hotel in midtown Manhattan, a perfect location for exploring this wonderful city. Our king room on the 22nd floor was very nice, but unfortunately a big disappointment for me was that there wasn't a microwave oven in the room as advertised and expected. Another downfall on our arrival was the outside windows were extremely dirty in our city view room! It was such a distraction! The comfortable king-sized bed was a dream and the extra large marble bathroom was exquisite! However, I would not recommend using the Jacuzzi jets in the extra large bath tub as black particles came streaming out on my first, much needed hot bath.

I would recommend this hotel because of its location; however know that there is a very popular bar/disco on the top floor, which could present a distraction/ annoyance for someone staying on a higher floor.

One doesn't require a long stay in a hotel room in this exciting city; just a quick place to change and freshen up for the next attraction. The Hotel Kimberly sure fits this criterion.

Room Tip: All in all, this is a very nice hotel in a great city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunworshipper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 473 in New York City
699 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 473 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 473 in New York City
3,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#48 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $240 - $722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing