We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loads of space and excellent location”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel certainly lived up to expectations, providing a large amount of space in our suites in a pretty central location. This allowed us to walk to Times Square, Fifth Avenue, Grand Central, Rockefeller Plaza, Central Park and access everywhere else via the metro very nearby. The suites have a kitchenette area with a fridge, kettle, microwave and dishwasher (which is used each day by the housekeeping staff to clean any crockery etc used). This meant we could eat in from time to time (loads of places to buy food nearby, as well as restaurants). The staff were excellent at all times - very helpful and friendly. The beds were fantastic - never been so comfortable anywhere, and all four of us agreed (and we usually don't). The bathroom was on the small side, but in fact was clean, practical and had everything you would expect in a good hotel. I thought that the hotel looked good value compared to others of similar standard nearby, but wondered what the catch would be. Seems there isn't one. I would definitely go back.
We booked via internet with a written request for 2 suites near to each other,the double with a view - and that is what we got. We were given free WiFi even though that was not shown as part of our booking.

Room Tip: To see the Chrysler Building you need to be on a high floor. We were on Floor 16 which is not high e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a huge, 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite, with large living room and a kitchen with dining area and lots of windows. Recently redone, the beds are wonderful, even the memory-foam sofa bed. At an average of $750/night, we thought it was expensive until we learned that a comparable suite next door at the Benjamin was double that. Reservations and front-desk staff a bit uneven (when reserving, just call back until you get someone willing to look for options like a AAA discount), but both concierges were wonderful and full of good advice. Buffet breakfast reasonable at $15, but there are several good groceries nearby. Our 3rd time at the Kimberly, we'll stay there again. Also, it's around the corner from the subway, and Le Relais de Venise, a great steak-frites place.

Room Tip: Lots of construction around, ask for a high floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula_GSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I spend about three to four weekends a year in NYC. We have stayed at several midtown hotels over the years, looking for the best. This weekend we discovered it. The rooms are spacious and our one bedroom suite had a view of the Chrysler Building. We had a room beside the elevator, but there was no noise at all. The suite had a small kitchen (microwave, toaster, fridge, coffee pot) so we were able to go shopping one night and settle in with our own small plates, wine and a great view. The rooms and clean and comfortable, just be sure to close the curtains because with the large and multiple windows, it is bright in the mornings.
The bar upstairs has an excellent brunch. It is crowded at night but it is a fun place. The only little down side was the slow elevators, but the views make it worth it. We have found our midtown hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethlaneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

What a deal!!!!! For a large airy suite, many with a terrace, outside the back door of the Waldorf for under $500 is an incredible find.
The Kimberly was built as a 30 story apartment building and when it was converted 25 years ago not cut into small warren-like rooms but kept as apartments rented b the night.
The staff is friendly, the place clean and while one should not expect Four Seasons furnishings or, amenities, they are more than adequate.
The building is undergoing the fate of all older New York building, with cranes arising in front as they update the structure, but aside from some construction tucks in front the cranes were not noticeable.
The roof terrace breakfast room which doubles as the hot evening spot, is also quite a plus. We had a perfect weather night and the roof was rolled back allowing us to enjoy the sparking spring weather. The only problem was the whole world seemed to want to share the night and the bar was crammed with 30 something’s.
The Noir restaurant next door was similarly packed, lively and enjoyable.
The parking garage, discounted for guests, is directly across from the hotel entrance making access by auto simple, and the Lex subway entrance is a short block away.
Being in midtown east also offers easy access to so many dining spots. I love P.J Clarke’s and it is a short 4 blocks away.
I’m glad I discovered the Kimberly and will definitely stay there often.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Loved the Kimberly- had a spacious one bedroom suite (Upgraded). Hotel very clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds very comfortable. Peter, the concierge, was very helpful giving us directions to the subways and then directions to places once we got off. The rooftop bar is a must at night- beautiful view of the Chryler building. Location is great- easy walk to Rock Center, subways other sights. I would definetly recommend this hotel. Great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a great trip to NYC , Made to feel very welcome upon our arrival and were upgraded to a one bedroom suite.
Great size rooms and in a very good location walking distance to the subway and so many sights.
Prior to our visit peter the concierge was very helpful with booking me keens steakhouse for our Saturday night out which was fantastic by the way.
He also booked our helicopter tour and gave great advice with bus tours and other things to do .
Overall we didn't spend much time in the hotel as we were so busy seeing the sights , grand central station ,Staten island ferry, 911 memorial site , Brooklyn bridge , central park , rockerfella centre, empire state building ,bloomingdales , maceys and many more .
Enjoyed evening drinks on the rooftop bar , great bloody Mary's.
Would stay here again on a future visit to NYC.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MarkyEssex21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Kimberly. We stay there because we are a family of four, and like the suite hotel approach. We also love the balconies that are available in many of the suites. The service this time was over the top good - at every turn (front desk, housekeeping, bellmen, etc.) This is not a "fancy" New York hotel, but a good value for the size of the suite and very clean. Some aspects are a bit dated, but they are in the process of upgrading. They had many specials for guests when we stayed, including half-priced breakfast for hotel guests, free internet, and a complementary room upgrade which increased the value significantly. Elevators (there are only two for a 30+ story hotel) can be a bit of a wait during peak times. We will stay there on our next visit.

Room Tip: Consider getting a room with a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MathGuy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#54 of 469 in New York City
1,448 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 469 in New York City
2,732 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#65 of 469 in New York City
1,507 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
219 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $238 - $705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing