We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #67 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Kimberly came up on my Price Line bidding. Price Line rated it as 3 1/2 stars which I agree with. Doorman, check in desk staff and check out were all friendly and efficient. Room was very large and comfy. Comfortable king size bed. My only complaint was that the bathroom (although well appointed) was quite small. Because of the Price Line process, it is difficult to come up with a value proposition. We paid $190 (all taxes included), which I thought was fair (given NYC prices), but I have no idea what you would pay if you called.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgFlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    484
    111
    49
    23
See reviews for
510
369
53
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently I met an old friend in NYC for shopping, drinks and dinner. We do this every other year and generally don't like to spend a fortune on a room that we aren't spending time in-just getting ready for our night out and crashing for a few hours. The Kimberly Hotel was so great that we ended up buying a bottle of wine and going back to our room just to hang out! We had a King suite, with large windows overlooking 50th Street. The room was enormous! NYC hotel rooms are notoriously small...this was the opposite! The room was bigger than my first studio apartment. It came equipped with a microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge. The all marble bathroom was lovely and equipped with all types of toiletry items. The bell men were quite charming. The only negatives: the woman at the front desk was not particularly friendly, and our room was not ready when we arrived. So, we checked our bags and went next door for drinks (their rooftop bar was not yet open, it was around 2 pm). When our room was finally ready, we went up and they said our bags would be right up. Well, 20 minutes later, we were still waiting. Two more calls down and eventually our bags came. A bit of a downer as we had a tight timeline and needed our stuff. Later, they delivered ice to our room, when we called and asked, so that kind of made up for it. All in all, a great location, at a great price. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Awesome HUGE room, crappy view, but whatevs! Huge puffy bed, very clean, ornate, awesome. Great location, Staff at desk were a bit on the snobby side. After my stay I "Liked" them on Facebook, and saw that if your name is Kimberly, you receive a complimentary Kimberly Hotel plush robe to keep! I let them know I wasn't informed of that until I saw it on their facebook page, and they couldn't care less. Oh well. Maybe next time! It was a nice hotel, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

this hotel is gorgeous and worth the money, we spent 5 nights here for new year, the rooms are huge, they have a lovely wee mini kitchen complete with dishwasher, the staff are just wonderful, its close enough to walk almost anywhere.,Peter the concierge was a darling and helped us arrange trips etc. All in all a perfect NY experience,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beetee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first time to visit NYC and to stay at the Kimberly Hotel.
We were permitted to check in early upon our arrival and check out late upon our departure.
Our one bedroon suite was spacious and very comfortable. Everything from the plush bedding to the complimentary toiletries were top notch.
The concierge, staff and housekeeping were also very accomodating.
This hotel is a value for the dollar and the location was perfect for our needs.
We will definitely recommend this to our friends and book another stay in the future.

Room Tip: If you book a room with a balcony make sure to request a room that faces the street. Our balcony fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
302 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our first stay at the Kimberly Hotel and I would highly recommend it. The rooms were spacious and comfortable [although it could have used a chair or couch] and the staff really helpful and professional. We were even directed up to their rooftop lounge on a Saturday night , and given a really nice table!, even though it was PACKED!
We will return.

Room Tip: Town house rooms seem bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMmetroNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful suites, invigorating shower, relaxing atmosphere with a knowledgable staff. This one is worth another trip to the big apple . Even the standard room is beautiful , with comfortable beds. Great views of the city from the roof top restaurant .

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing