We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Boutique Hotel”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #29 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent 5 nights at The Kimberly in Jan and could not have been more happy with our one bedroom suite! It was beautiful, spacious, quiet and very clean! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the breakfast buffet on the top floor. In addition, the location was perfect. Will definitely stay here again when we come back to NY!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet location on an upper floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cerz321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Kimberly in October of 2012. We reserved a studio suite and when we checked in we were very disappointed. The room was a handicap accessable room on the second floor next to the elevator. There was a loud noise from the multiple a/c units outside of the room and everytime we touched a door knob or light switch we got shocked. The bathroom was horrible with an industrial sink and a shower with just a shower curtain (no tub - just an open area) and no shelves for shampoo, soap, etc. We went back to the check in desk and asked if there were any other rooms available. They were able to upgrade us to an executive one bedroom on the 22nd floor. wow, what a huge difference. The room was magnificent and the bathroom was even better - balcony, walk in shower, huge jacuzzi tub and a wonderfully comfortable king size bed. The room was a little stuffy so we tried to turn on the A/C. It would not come on. So after a call for service, a technician quickly came and discovered the problem and we soon had great climate control. What could have been a horrible hotel stay turned into an outstanding vacation. We were so thankful for the room change that we offered to pay the difference in price and the staff refused. I have read other reviews regarding this particular handicap accessable room at the Kimberly and I agree that it should be advertised differently.

The Kimberly is located in a perfect part of town - close to everything. We will definitely stay here again but learned our lesson regarding the Studio suites.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Kimberly was the perfect place for our family to stay during a quick overnight in NYC. The suite had TONS of room, was well-maintained and was in the perfect location for sight-seeing.

All of the staff with whom we interacted were professional, friendly and accommodating.

We will definitely return for a longer stay so we can take advantage of the fully-equipped kitchen.

The only downside was the terrible street noise and the over-aggressive heating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCamper19046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room was comfortable and spacious, accommodating our party well. We appreciated the clean and convenient kitchen area, which allowed us to relax and enjoy each other's company over breakfast or an evening glass of wine. Very good space for a group traveling together. The linens and towels were of a very good quality.
The down side -- the shower in our room could not be regulated. Each time one of our party used it they emerged with reports of hot water suddenly turning cold or cold water suddenly becoming scalding. A
In spite of this, we enjoyed our stay. Great location, great neighborhood. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan_S_Dunwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just back from a memorable weekend in New York and a wonderful stay at The Kimberly Hotel. The facade is being renovated right now, but from top to bottom, this is what a boutique hotel is all about...great service; location and convenient to area attractions. Parking is right across the street and don't forget to ask for a discount coupon at the hotel's front desk which will dramatically drop the 24 hour weekend rate. The Penthouse for drinks and brunch is spectacular. Highly recommended and hope to come and stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKL635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from our second time staying at the Kimberly, and once again had a great experience. We received a complimentary upgrade to a 2-bedroom suite, which our son really appreciated as he got a real bed instead of a sofabed. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and we all slept very well. We were on the 24th floor, and heard very little street noise. The suite was very clean, spacious, and elegant. We got bagels from the nearby bagel store and ate breakfast in our corner dining nook, admiring the view of the river. That was the only negative about the stay: the toaster was broken and we couldn't toast our bagels.

I'm still amazed that the Kimberly can offer such spacious rooms at such affordable rates. This will always be our first choice of hotels to stay at when we visit NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eloracm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Even though there were a few glitches here and there, our week long stay was great. We stayed at the one bedroom king suite and loved everything. Since it was February the price was right.

There are a couple of things that should be mentioned, such as the slippery floor in the bathroom and the kitchen area (wear slippers!), the bath tub in on the small side, and the computer which is provided did not function most of the time.

However, we had free wifi, and to be honest, most hotels don't provide PC in your room anyway! People complained about the elevators, and we had a problem one day only, the rest of the time the elevators were fine and quick! All the staff were polite and accomodating, the toiletries were more than expected, the dishes in the kitchen were helpful when we wanted to eat leftovers, the furnishings were in great condition and even though we didn't use the balcony, it's wonderful to have one.

We will return!

Room Tip: 18D was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tetrisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#52 of 469 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 469 in New York City
2,732 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 469 in New York City
1,506 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
217 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $238 - $708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing