We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“roof top bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #67 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“roof top bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

just had a lovely weekend at the Kimberly. One of the reasons we picked the hotel was because of the beautiful rooftop bar. We were very disappointed that 2 of our 3 nights at the hotel the bar was not open until after 11:00 pm due to private functions. There should be some area left open in the bar for hotel guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, Director of Sales at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that during the first weeks of December the demand for holiday parties surges. We try our best to stay open for our guests after those events are over. We invite you to check the Upstairs website www.upstairsnyc.com for the schedule or contact us directly to ensure a fun night on the rooftop next time you are coming to The Kimberly. Again, we do apologize for any inconvenience.

Best Regards,

Marcia Skyers-James
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    484
    110
    49
    23
See reviews for
507
369
53
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times in 3 years, each time for an extended period. It has all the facilities one needs for an extended stay, What it lacks in glitz, it makes up in convenience. The suites are spacious, well equipped and user friendly, there is a kitchenette in each suite, with a fridge, dishwasher, microwave, coffe maker, toaster etc. making it easy to have the occasional light meal at home when one gets sick of visiting restaurants every day. The beds are good with high quality linnen, the bathrooms are a little tight but good quality toiletries are supplied and they have all that one needs.
The staff have been there forever, the doorman is in his 22nd year, and it is very nice to be recognised as a regular.

The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of most attractions and yet the area is relatively quiet for New York. The only criticism that comes to mind is thet there is an extra fee for using WiFi in the rooms.

We look forward to staying there again on our next visit

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the street and ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgesM115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, Director of Sales at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your patronage over the last few years. We appreciate the fact that you continue to choose us and we look foward to welcoming you back on your next visit to your "home away from home".

Best Regards,

Marcia Skyers-James
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

What a good surprise,,,,in the heart of Manhattan, an independant middle-sized hotel with bargain prices....we never had so much comfort for so little money....we paid less than 400 dollars for a junior suite with beautiful real heavy furnitures...service is excellent from the doorman to the room service staff, the sleep quality was fantastic and the breakfast awesome...i had to check the bill twice to make sure they had not make a mistake in my favor...I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for excellence and a good bargain.

Room Tip: the 50 th street is quiet enough during the night so do not hesitate to book a street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We'd passed ;by this hotel on other visits to New York City and thought it looked really nice. Lobby was under construction when we were there. Not so nice. Our room was pretty but there were no chairs in there. If we wanted a glass of wine, or to read - we sat on the bed. I complained at reception and was told that it was one of their "guest rooms". Oh, pardon me, it's a hotel - I thought all the rooms were guest rooms. No, that's Kimberly speak for low end (no chairs)? If I'd known, I wouldn't have booked it. Also, we heard sirens outside all night. I was told there was a police station down the street and that's the reason for the sirens. They were nice enough - though a bit grudging - to change us to a room with chairs and away from the street noise. Actually it was a great upgrade. But, really, "guest rooms"? No chairs? I wouldn't stay there again, in spite of the upgrade, because of the attitude at reception and the "guest room" thing.

Room Tip: Lots of street noise on lower floors due to police station down the street - sirens. Be sure you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scareyBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, Director of Sales at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so sorry that you had this experience. Our guest rooms all have chairs, so I am puzzled as to why there wasn’t one in your room. Granted, our suites provide a lot more seating areas as there is a full living room, so our agent might have misunderstood your needs thinking you meant you did not have a sofa. We would love to have you experience our property again in the way that is described by so many other guests who have chosen to post on TripAdvisor. Kindly contact me directly so that we may arrange your next stay for you.

Again, please accept our apologies as this is not the norm at The Kimberly.

Best Regards,

Marcia Skyers-James
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I travel to NYC 2 times per month and stay in a lot of different places. This time I stayed at the Kimberly Hotel. I book through Hotwire, so I never know where I am going to stay. However, i can say that my experience at the Kimberly was atrocious. As my title states the walls were so thin I could hear every word of the conversation in the next room. Because I booked through Hotwire, they put me in a terrible room...this has only happened to me twice in over 25 bookings...so beware. If you have the opportunity to stay elsewhere, please do..this is not a 4 star hotel...I would give it 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasgirl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, Director of Sales at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are disappointed to learn that you had this experience with us. We really have never had such a complaint before, so I am at a loss as to what might have happened. Please accept our most sincere apologies and give us another opportunity to welcome you back in true Kimberly style. Please feel free to contact me directly so we may make your next visit a memorable one.

Best Regards,

Marcia Skyers-James
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Entire staff is efficient, courteous and knowledgable. Overall EXCELLENT! Hotel is a convient location for shopping, site seeing and dining. Hotel penthouse for breakfast, brunch, dinner or cocktails is favorably priced and has a spectacular 180 degree view of the city. Rooms are clean, large, well appointed and the beds are comfortable. We had stayed here before and will come back again and again. Charles, the manager is exceptional! He made our stay pleasurable. Again, THANK YOU to the entire staff!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

From the moment you arrive at the hotel, you are welcomed by a professional and friendly staff. The rooms are very large by New York standards, gorgeous beds and decor throughout. The bath is well appointed and good towels. Rooftop restaurant is good for breakfast and cocktails. New restuarant Noir, you must dine here. This will be my favorite New York hotel forever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing east for quiet. Rooms facing West have views of the Chrysler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisShopper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, Director of Sales at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us here at The Kimberly!!
We are absolutely delighted that you had such a great experience with us and the fact that you said "This will be my favorite New York hotel forever" has simply made our day!! :)

Looking forward to welcoming you back so please come and visit us again soon.

Best Regards,

Marcia Skyers-James
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing