We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My kind of hotel, comfort and old time classy character”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #69 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bay of Plenty
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“My kind of hotel, comfort and old time classy character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked based on trip advisor reviews as it was a little - but not too far away from the hustle and bustle of Time Square and had 'super comfy' beds. We had 5 night stay beginning Sunday 7th September 2012. First night we were in room 5G which was VERY noisy and had an awful outlook, also we had booked a king size bed on Expedia and this one had two doubles. Asked to move, but told hotel full and they would try next day. We had a trip to Niagra, with early start next day and when we got back we were delighted to be on 23rd floor, nice view, king bed. It was a lot better appointed than the other one too - larger bathroom etc. This room was superb. I would not have been happy with the other so my advice is great hotel so long as you get a decent room. Staff good for New York - but had better. Location great. Would stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: See if you can get a higher level room, or a king room. Lower one 5G was a nightmare, upper one 23D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    484
    110
    48
    23
See reviews for
507
368
53
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've stayed at the Kimberly probably 130+ nights over the last 15 years and never wanted to review it to keep it for myself. I've decided that was unfair. The Kimberly is the best hotel I have ever stayed in in NYC. It is a suite hotel converted from an apartment building on E50th street. It again has been renovated and the one bedroom suites are spacious (except for the F series) and include a small kitchen- pullman style- with an apartment size fridge, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. I have only stayed in one bedroom suites so cannot speak for other configurations. The hotel staff who seem to have been there as long as I have been staying, are friendly and knowledgeable. Under the stewardship of the General Manager, Mujo Perezic,The Kimberly has become a wonderful respite. I have not been to the rooftop bar/restaurant recently but did have breakfast there on a prior visit. The views are spectacular.

Room Tip: It is Manhattan. Street facing rooms may seem noisy to those from bucolic areas. Ear plugs are provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great Boutique Hotel, very clean, spacious, good size bathroom, robe and slippers, flat screen TV. Needed a place to stay while at a seminar near 3rd and 52ND Street, this place is great. Long time employees make this a very comfortable stay. Would stay here again, loved the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Room 7H was very good, two queen size beds. Hotel was surrounded by good restaurants and shopping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovenlife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The Kimberly is perfectly situated for most of the main attractions in Manhattan. The room was spacious and clean. The staff were outstanding. My only issue is, I would have preferred to be on a higher floor, as the street noise made sleeping difficult.

Helpful?
Thank kskapi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Celebratory NYC birthday weekend in May with my better half and got a great deal on Priceline for the Kimberly. What a pleasant surprise! Good location and very well apportioned room. Visited NYC the prior spring and "Pricelined" at the Roosevelt, and the experience was like night and day. Check-in staff was friendly, the room was about twice the size as the Roosevelt's and much quieter, great balcony view, robe and slippers, and the king-size bed - luxurious! If we didn't have a full weekend itinerary planned, we could have happily stayed in our room the entire time. Heck - we would have happily stayed in the bathroom the entire time: the walk-in shower had 6 separate, adjustable shower heads, the whirpool tub had an amazing view of the city, and if we tired of that, the wall-mounted flat screen tv was just a click away.
We didn't dine at the rooftop restaurant but did go up to check it out - very impressed and the staff was more than happy to let us browse.
Don't know if I could afford to pay full price for a room here but if the Priceline deal came by again, I would definitely grab it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaosreins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hi. Just finished a trip to NYC with some friends. I have personally stayed at the Kimberly several times. I have stayed with my husband, my kids, and with friends. It accommodates all. This is a suite type hotel. They were originally condominiums that did not sell, so they converted it to an all-suite hotel. The rooms are elegantly appointed and with antique furniture. The rooms are laid out as follows: One bedroom, one bathroom and a separate living room with a pull-out sofa. There is a full kitchen that is in the format of a bar with granite counters, sink, and all appliances and serve-ware and bar-ware. Tons of closet space with a safe. The sofa-bed is NOT your traditional spring pull-out. It is a tempurepedic with no springs and frankly extremely comfortable. King size pull-out that easily sleeps 2. The rooms also have a balcony with chairs and a table.
The hotel has a roof-top restaurant that is OUTSTANDING for breakfast which is an extra charge of $22 for the full buffet or their is a menu to order from. In the evening it is a club called UPSTAIRS. Fantastic view of the Chrysler building and the NY skyline. It gets a bit loud with the DJ. I wouldn't recommend staying on an upper floor if you want peace and quiet in the evening. They still need to work out the sound-proofing.
Great staff.
The location is excellent if you want to walk madison, park, 5th Ave. and shopping. You can walk to Central Park and Times Square also.

Room Tip: Lower to middle floors. Luxury one-two bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I travel to NY 4-7x a year and this was the first time at The Kimberly, which was a great choice. On 50th between Lexington and 3rd, the hotel is nestled between The Benjamin (another great property with good restaurant) and Affinia 50 (have not been), near the 6 line on 51st and 3rd, with a McDonald's around the corner.

The lobby is very small and the front desk is awkwardly off the side with space for two attendants. The check-in process was pleasant enough but they did not honor my package purchased from a travel site -- WiFi should have been included in my suite but was not.

One-bedroom suite with living room and kitchenette: spacious; clean; extra towels in closet; large balcony; comfortable beds; robes & slippers; kitchenette with dish washer, min frig, microwave, coffee/tea, plates/settings. Ideal room for an extended business stay or for a large family. Bathroom products are just okay (Evelyn and Crabtree) but there are little conveniences that I appreciated: floss and make-up wipes.

Rooftop bar is called Upstairs, which has a retractable roof. Great space for an event, to just lounge and enjoy the perfect fall weather, and to nibble on small bites.

I would definitely repeat my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minkycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing