We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded my expectations!”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #32 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Celebratory NYC birthday weekend in May with my better half and got a great deal on Priceline for the Kimberly. What a pleasant surprise! Good location and very well apportioned room. Visited NYC the prior spring and "Pricelined" at the Roosevelt, and the experience was like night and day. Check-in staff was friendly, the room was about twice the size as the Roosevelt's and much quieter, great balcony view, robe and slippers, and the king-size bed - luxurious! If we didn't have a full weekend itinerary planned, we could have happily stayed in our room the entire time. Heck - we would have happily stayed in the bathroom the entire time: the walk-in shower had 6 separate, adjustable shower heads, the whirpool tub had an amazing view of the city, and if we tired of that, the wall-mounted flat screen tv was just a click away.
We didn't dine at the rooftop restaurant but did go up to check it out - very impressed and the staff was more than happy to let us browse.
Don't know if I could afford to pay full price for a room here but if the Priceline deal came by again, I would definitely grab it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaosreins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,827)
There are newer reviews for The Kimberly Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,827 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hi. Just finished a trip to NYC with some friends. I have personally stayed at the Kimberly several times. I have stayed with my husband, my kids, and with friends. It accommodates all. This is a suite type hotel. They were originally condominiums that did not sell, so they converted it to an all-suite hotel. The rooms are elegantly appointed and with antique furniture. The rooms are laid out as follows: One bedroom, one bathroom and a separate living room with a pull-out sofa. There is a full kitchen that is in the format of a bar with granite counters, sink, and all appliances and serve-ware and bar-ware. Tons of closet space with a safe. The sofa-bed is NOT your traditional spring pull-out. It is a tempurepedic with no springs and frankly extremely comfortable. King size pull-out that easily sleeps 2. The rooms also have a balcony with chairs and a table.
The hotel has a roof-top restaurant that is OUTSTANDING for breakfast which is an extra charge of $22 for the full buffet or their is a menu to order from. In the evening it is a club called UPSTAIRS. Fantastic view of the Chrysler building and the NY skyline. It gets a bit loud with the DJ. I wouldn't recommend staying on an upper floor if you want peace and quiet in the evening. They still need to work out the sound-proofing.
Great staff.
The location is excellent if you want to walk madison, park, 5th Ave. and shopping. You can walk to Central Park and Times Square also.

Room Tip: Lower to middle floors. Luxury one-two bedroom.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I travel to NY 4-7x a year and this was the first time at The Kimberly, which was a great choice. On 50th between Lexington and 3rd, the hotel is nestled between The Benjamin (another great property with good restaurant) and Affinia 50 (have not been), near the 6 line on 51st and 3rd, with a McDonald's around the corner.

The lobby is very small and the front desk is awkwardly off the side with space for two attendants. The check-in process was pleasant enough but they did not honor my package purchased from a travel site -- WiFi should have been included in my suite but was not.

One-bedroom suite with living room and kitchenette: spacious; clean; extra towels in closet; large balcony; comfortable beds; robes & slippers; kitchenette with dish washer, min frig, microwave, coffee/tea, plates/settings. Ideal room for an extended business stay or for a large family. Bathroom products are just okay (Evelyn and Crabtree) but there are little conveniences that I appreciated: floss and make-up wipes.

Rooftop bar is called Upstairs, which has a retractable roof. Great space for an event, to just lounge and enjoy the perfect fall weather, and to nibble on small bites.

I would definitely repeat my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minkycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband surprised me on our 10 year wedding anniversary. Stood at the Kimberly on 9/14/2012- Suite 7B. We are native New Yorkers and wanted to enjoy NYC as Tourists on our anniversary. Woman at the front desk seemed annoyed at first, (we think she was new), but treated us well upon finalizing the check in. Valet, Front Desk Staff- very nice and accomodating. We had trouble connecting to the internet, but they sent an engineer and he fixed it asap. Beautiful suite, IMMACULATE; full kitchen, super comfy bed, high end toiletries, fine quality robes and slippers (slippers are yours to keep)... crips linens... great view, in the center of everything and we LOVED "Upstairs"- the hotel's rooftop bar/lounge, which has a clear view of the Chrysler Building- gorgeous at night. Best overnight stay ever. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldenbluize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The room was wonderful, staff was friendly and professional. Only complaint were the charges. Was told that we had wifi in the room, but learned it was $12 a day. Don't order room service. After paying almost $50 for 3 continental breakfasts and leaving a tip, I realized 18% tip was added to the bill. Sorry but that's ridiculous. Sorry that's ridiculous. And don't order a movie in the room that'll cost you another $17.95! Make sure you read all the small print!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Kimberly Suites is an extremely good midtown option. The rooms are massive, with fully functioning kitchen, usable front room, comfy (and huge) bed and good bathroom with high end toiletries. Downsides would be the slightly chintzy furniture (although this is more in the common areas than in the rooms, which have granite countertops in the kitchen and two flatscreen tvs).
The air conditioning units are extremely loud which can make sleeping a little difficult (if we could give three and a half stars we would dock it half a star for the ac but it is definitely better than just a three star) and in room wifi is not complementary (although it is free in the communal areas).
Location is excellent, a few blocks from Grand Central and round the corner from a 6 train stop. Getting downtown to Chelsea and Greenwich is simple, as is heading uptown to Central Park and the Upper East Side.
All in all a very good option for a few days in New York.

Room Tip: Whilst the rooms at the top of the building may seem tempting note that the bar at the top is extrem...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calvadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here in late August with 2 teenage boys. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. It was quite large , with closets , and a kitchenette. The beds were comfy. I did lots of research on hotels in NYC and compared to other places I was looking at, the price was very fair. Location was great!! The room was spotless. Would go here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachermom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
1,428 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#101 of 468 in New York City
2,708 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#60 of 468 in New York City
1,484 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 468 in New York City
1,287 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $239 - $814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing