We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typically expensive, but a comfortable place to sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #67 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
“Typically expensive, but a comfortable place to sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Kimberly is in a fantastic area of NYC, around the corner from the Astoria, a couple of blocks from Grand Central and 5th Avenue. The lobby is tiny and cramped, and as this is the only area for free wifi and it was slow, I barely took advantage of it, opting instead for the super fast, free McDs around the corner!

Checking in was professionally handled and fast, and the room was 4C facing...um...well, another building and some A/C machinery. Having said that, the alternative was a tall office block opposite the front of the building with the addition of street noise and honking taxis, so I settled for this as it gave me a good night's sleep!

The top floor lounge offers a great view, but it's always packed and is quite a small area. But it's very popular and a good spot for a party. Didn't eat at the hotel as nothing was included, but the room was big and clean, with superb beds, Microwave, fridge, minibar, nice bathroom, large wall mounted TV and a gimmicky HP control desk for finding out stuff/hotel info. This was placed in front of the TV and blocked the screen, and it didn't work - what's wrong with a good old fashioned hotel guide book eh?!!!

A good night's sleep. Pricey, but that's NY for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    484
    111
    49
    23
See reviews for
510
369
53
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe King room and were very impressed with the size of the room and all the amenities. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the rooftop bar each morning and a drink each evening as we looked out at a view of the Chrysler Building. The location of the hotel is convenient to restaurants, shops and the subway, and within walking distance to Central Park. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating and met all our needs. We have been to NYC a number of times in the past five years and have stayed in many nice hotels, but The Kimberly has taken over as our number one favorite!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bongo330Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite. It was very nice to have a living room and kitchen, although we did not use it much. It appears the hotel had been renovated recently. The bathrooms were exceptionally nice, great shower and good towels (a sure sign of a hotel that cares about their guests).

The hotel staff was warm, friendly and helpful. The subway was one block away. We walked to the theater, Grand Central Station, and several "hot spots" around town.

Roof top bar and restaurant is a five star addition. If you don't feel like going out for breakfast or dinner, you are only an elevator ride away.

Room Tip: Higher floors, less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzbaglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

After reading a few reviews of brunches in NYC at [--] I decided to book brunch for 10 of us at the Kimberly. The food was out of this world as agreed upon by everyone in the party. The views are breath taken. It is a beautiful place to dine. However, the service was horrid. I have been all over NYC since I was 18 years old. I have eaten everywhere from Gray's Papaya to Daniel. We were seated for about 10 minutes before the waiter came over and told us that there was a problem with the menus. They didn't have enough. We ordered and it was taking an obscene amount of time to get our food.I mentioned this to the 20 year old, foreign manager. He explained that Sunday is is busy time for them. Hmmmm everyone around us, including three parties that arrived after us were eating. Were they in a different time zone? Wasn't it Sunday for them as well. 9 of us finally received our dinners and our tenth was waiting for a grilled chicken salad. I mentioned to the young manager that he should really admit fault and compensate us in some way because this was nonsense. He then lectured me on how meals in Manhattan sometimes take 40 minutes and I shouldn't be upset. At least we could laugh. One of my dining companions has lived in NYC since 1993 and I have more reviews on Zagat than the manager has English words in his vocabulary. I would bring people back to the restaurant for the views and food but the Kimberly needs to educate this guy in people skills 101. We were on our way to see The Book of Morman after brunch and I think Elder Cunningham would have been a more insightful manager.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueP413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your brunch Upstairs at The Kimberly. We truly apologize for the delayed service and lack of menus during your experience.

Please know this is not something that happens often, as it is our priority to leave a positive impression on our customers. We do hope we can welcome you back for brunch so we can treat you in the manner that is consistent with our Kimberly service. Please be sure to contact me directly so I can be sure your next experience at The Kimberly is a positive one.

Mujo Perezic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stumbled upon The Kimberly while online researching things to do with teenage girls. Two moms with their teenage girls wanted to stay in the heart of the city, feel safe, have space, shop and dine and take in a show. We reserved a beautiful 2 bedroom suite complete with 2 good size bathrooms, and a separate living room (with a queen sleeper), for the same price that we were going to book a different hotel with just a king bed and pull out sleeper and 1 bathroom. Our room was VERY spacious, the linens top shelf and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating and kind (not just the appropriate "nice"). The rooftop lounge is a must fit in to your trip, just a beautiful feel of the cities twinkling night lights. We could not get over how inexpensive room service was! We will definitely return.....maybe next time with the hubbies!

Room Tip: Choose the 2 bedroom suite, if you can use the space. Its a great value for the price...we paid $549...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioHappytrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed at the Kimberly Hotel for business and was very impressed with the rooms and level of service from the staff. I stay at hotels often so I would consider myself a bit of a hotel snob however The Kimberly Hotel exceed all of my expectations. When I checked in, they did not have any rooms ready, however the Front Office Manager Charles took great care of me storing my bags while I headed to my meetings. When I checked into my room later I was so surprised by the size of the rooms, WOW! This hotel is the epitome of what a boutique hotel should be; monogramed towels, wonderful shower heads, plush bedding, robs and slippers and the list goes on! I typically stay at the W hotel when visiting NYC however from now on the Kimberly Hotel will get all of my business!!!

Room Tip: Room 16A is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed in a once bedroom suite (4 people) this past weekend for our annual "Girl's Weekend" trip. The cost was really economical for what we booked. Check in was a breeze and the valet parking is such a great deal @ $30 per 24 hours. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. Our room was on the 21st floor with a view of rooftops and below us was an alley - which actually made the room more quiet being away from the street noise. The room itself was a fantastic size with a large living room with a pull out couch and kitchenette. The bedroom was also a good size with 2 full beds. We had one bathroom which was a standard size and worked out well. Overall the room was very clean and had plenty of closets. The only suggestion I have is for an exhaust fan in the bathroom because 4 people taking showers in a row makes it very steamy. The shower heads and water pressure are great! I can't wait to stay here again!!

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite was a great size for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing