We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #50 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for my wedding in April. The hotel was so accommodating of all our requests, we even got upgraded on our wedding night.

The staff were so friendly, the rooms were huge (the one bedroom suites especially so) and it was in an excellent location. We walked easily to Central Park, empire state, Rockefeller etc.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites are the most spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squishy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    500
    111
    49
    23
See reviews for
535
393
55
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

great location in midtown east, close to all must-see landmarks.
friendly staff, spacey rooms and the most comfortable beds ever!

Room Tip: one bedroom suit is great even for 4 people!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jasmina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

This was my 4th stay at The Kimberly and it is always wonderful when staff recognizes you as a return guest, thank you all! This was my first time experiencing the new roof top lounge, just fabulous! The front desk and Concierge staff was terrific as always.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodForThoughtMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Having just a deluxe guestroom actually meant having a foyer with a coat/umbrella closet, a cool kitchenette, bathroom with rain showerhead, extra handheld, beautiful marble; french doors then opened into the bedroom with luxe furnishing, a capacious closet, sliding door to the balcony and a second set of french doors opening into a living room. The hotel is on 50th, a great mid-town location. Boutique hotel, careful ownership, terrific staff. A completely wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Remodeling some rooms. Ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonhumilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed in a Deluxe Suite -- one king bedroom, a sitting room with a pull out sofa bed and a dining table for 4, and a kitchenette--on around the 25th floor if I remember correctly. Although the reception area seems a bit small, we were delighted with the spaciousness of the rooms and the location, which could not have been better. One block from the Waldorf Astoria, it made many top Midtown-Manhattan sites easily walkable for us and our (young) children. In addition we had to drop off our car at National, which was literally across the street! We enjoyed opening up the door to the balcony to see the Chrysler Building, and going to the rooftop restaurant/garden to see more expansive views of the skyline. The king bed was fantastic but I do agree with another reviewer that the pull out sofa was really not comfortable at all--our kids could feel the springs through the lumpy mattress, but they coped for 2 nights. I certainly wouldn't recommend the pull out for an adult and for much longer than a night or two. And yes, the decor was quite dated, but I suppose we just attributed it to the overall style and charm of the hotel. The personnel were very helpful and overall, we were very pleased with this small, personable, clean and accessible hotel. We would certainly return there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprohask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I have never written a bad review for a hotel, but this will be my first time. This was my second stay at the Kimberly Hotel. My first visit was okay. The location was fine, staff friendly and the room spacious and fairly clean (I stayed in a one room suite). My second stay was pretty terrible. I stayed in a one bedroom suite once again, but the room was worn and dingy. It just looked and felt dirty. The room's windows were stuck open. The reason for this is that the heat won't shut off automatically. You have two choices: heat on and blazing, or heat off. Consequently, the delightful sound of street noice and horns fills the room all night. There was little water pressure. I spent crazy amounts of time wating for the elevator. In fact, one time I waited so long I simply chose to walk down nine flights of stairs. The morning I was there, a group of people actually got stuck in one of the elevators. They had a convention meeting in the building which meant the very small lobby was often jammed. Both times I needed the doorman, he was nowhere to be found. I found upon arrival I had been assigned a smoking room. Apparently a non-smoking room is a "special request" on their reservation website. You are not asked your preference when making the reservation. I requested a different room but was told that they could not move me (despite the fact that I was checking in early). Sure, the location is great, but that is about it. And the cost is reasonable, but I'm not sure you even get what you pay for at the Kimberly. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimmie145, General Manager at The Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
We apologize sincerely for this experience. This is not at all typical of our hotel. I would like to invite you to contact me directly so that we may make amends and restore your confidence in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Mujo Perezic, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I spent 4 nights over Easter weekend at The Kimberley Hotel with my daughter for her 21 Birthday. We both had a really great time and now have special memories which will stay with us for ever.

The Hotel was in a nicer, quieter (if there is such a thing in NYC) part of the city, the staff were always friendly and helpful especially the door staff who always went out of their way to make you happy.

We got upgraded from a Deluxe guest room to a Luxury Suite so we were very happily comfortable, the bathroom especially was gorgeous with marble shower room, separate marble toilet area and large jacuzzi bath with TV and 'the view' if adventurous enough to open the blinds. Our balcony was partly covered in with glass where the seating/table area was and then a small verandah part with good views over to the top of the Chrystler building - just fabulous. Would definitely recommend a stay here. We walked around the whole of Manhattan but the subway was only on the next block E 51st St, so very easy to get about too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManchesterJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#94 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,377 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#143 of 468 in New York City
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
1,235 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Property: The Kimberly Hotel
Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing