We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location”
Review of The Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #24 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2007

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. With 2 teenaged daughters, we needed a two bedroom w/ 2 baths. The bonus was the living area and small kitchen we used for snacks and breakfast. The price is better than gettting two hotel rooms at a similar property. The subway is 1.5 blocks away and covenient to everything NYC has to offer. We were on the 29th floor with views of the Chrysler building - we heard no traffic noise this high up. The staff (especially the bellmen) were very friendly and helpful.
The only negative is that I have to agree with other reviews that the rooms and baths need to be refurbished. The only thing updated thus far are the flat screen tv's. It is not a fancy hotel, but suited our needs and space requirements.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TahoeJuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,658 - 1,664 of 1,960 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2007

We recently booked two suites for a long weekend. The rooms are updated, beds very comfortable, large, bathroom average. One suite had no air conditioning from either a/c unit for two nights. The other suite lost a/c from the unit in the bedroom for one night. While everything else looks very nice, a/c units look (and sound) very old and unreliable. Staff very accommodating.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank LIZINATLANTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

The location is very convenient, the staff was very helpful and courteous but the hotel itself is definitely in need of upgrading. Our room on the 18th floor was large and would have been great except for the feeling that it hadn't been maintained or refurbished in years. I also didn't feel that it had been cleaned very well. The bathroom especially is in need of work. And a more modern air conditioner that lets you sleep wouldn't go amiss.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank iamfinicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Looking for a central, comfortable hotel in midtown? You can’t do much better than The Kimberly. Rooms were larger than average, staff very accommodating, beds are just awesome! Huge and very comfortable.
Little noisy at night with traffic, even though we were on the 8th floor but where in NY isn’t?
We didn’t eat here at all but the place is surrounded by great restaurants and cafes so you won’t go hungry. 5 mins to the main shopping areas and 10 mins walk to Bloomingdales.
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DavidAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Loved this hotel! Our apt. suite was more than I could have hoped for. I have made many trips to N.Y. city and stayed in quite a few 4 star hotels. This by far was the best. Every day that I returned to my suite I felt like I was coming home to my own apt. instead of just a plain hotel room. The livingroom combo kitchen was big enough for a small party. The bedroom was bigger than most 4 star hotels with more than enough room as not to feel cramped. Both rooms had windows that took up an entire wall. Great open feeling. The balcony was to die for. It was really nice to be able to have my morning coffee sitting on the balcony and looking up at the sky. The maid service was excellent. Very clean. The resturant is some of the best Italian food I have ever had in New york. I have found my home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank izsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Suite was very nice and the beds extremely comfortable. Good location within walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Central park etc. We had a nice dinner at Fretto's next door and a good buffet breakfast there too. Doorman was very pleasant and helpful as were the concierges.

Only 2 complaints. Room was noisy from all the air conditioning units on the roof below us. Worst of all was the situation with the lifts. Typically one of them was not working so the other was over used by 29 floors of rooms. On our last day we waited about 30 minutes for the lift to stop on our floor to take our cases etc to check out. Major rehaul of the lifts is sorely needed

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

I was referred to the Kimberley Hotel by a good fiend who said the location was great and the kitchens were a nice addition for snacks, drinks and anything else you could want while staying in a hotel. She was right. The location was awesome. Almost everything you need is within walking distance. You can pick up fresh produce and grocery items 2 blocks away, there is a liquor store across the street from that. Bars, restaurants, shops, everything you can imagine is nearby.
But the best part of our stay was the beds! I have never slept in a more comfortable bed in my life! We had a two bedroom suite with one king bed and one queen and they were both heaven to sleep in.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2007
6  Thank chaunceysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 470 in New York City
2,773 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#50 of 470 in New York City
1,474 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 470 in New York City
1,350 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
436 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#14 of 470 in New York City
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kimberly Hotel

Address: 145 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022-9502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#48 Family Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $234 - $1,775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kimberly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kimberly is a traditionally styled, boutique suite hotel located between 3rd & Lexington Avenues. With 30 rooms and 162 suites ranging from 266 to 935 sq ft., we offer personalized service from a warm and caring staff. Most of our suites have balconies, a rarity in NYC and many offer views of the city. Our mattresses are covered with feather beds and decked with Frette linens, which earn comments such as "I didn't want to get up" from our guests. A bonus here, is that in addition to our on-site fitness center, work-out enthusiasts can use any of the NY Heatlth and Racquet Club's 9 locations, including pools and work-out classes at no additional cost and can enjoy a cruise for three hours on their 75 ft yacht (in season) for a fee of $30 which includes a light buffet supper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing