We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Hotel in Beautiful peaceful area of city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #253 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel in Beautiful peaceful area of city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The upper west side of Manhattan is a beautiful part of the city. Its a more residential part of the city but still close to the noisier busier parts downtown. The hotel is very nice , situated right across from the great science museum and a small park. The streets are full of nice shops. We walked the 20 minutes to the Met. Its very easy to get around the city from here.

Its an older NY hotel with all spaces fairly small. It has a European feel of a welcoming boutique hotel. The room was small but very nice. It was quiet. The bed was excellent.The bathroom was remodeled and very nice. The view from our window was very nice and open to the wide expanse of downtown. There is a nice small park across the street. We bought some food down the street at Trader Joes and had a nice picnic in the evening.

The staff was very nice and helpful.

The price runs around 300-350/night. Its pricey but not out of line for new york.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    901
    296
    119
    101
See reviews for
699
631
87
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I usually stay in Soho but decided to stay in the the upper west end. Quaint hotel in a great location across the street from the Natural Museum of Natural History and Central Park. Lots of great restaurants in the area. The hotel has a old world charm. I stayed in a room with 2 queens beds and a separate living room. It was very comfortable and kept up well. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights. This was our first visit to New York and I'm glad we stayed here. One block away from Central Park. Walking distance to the Met and Museum of Natural history. Great restaurants on Amsterdam, shopping and markets on Broadway and Columbus ave. Found a great wine store on Columbus called West side Wine. The gentleman was so helpful and recommended a great wine at a fantastic price. The staff were generally helpful. A couple were were a bit standoffish but not a big deal. The cleaning staff were friendly and the room was very clean. I found the room spacious. Heard that rooms are very small in New York and no complaints there. We would stay here again due to location and nice hotel. The only thing I wish it had was a fridge just because we don't like to eat out for every meal and having something available in our room would have been nice. We also found it quiet which was extremely appealing.
All in all I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2011Riley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights beginning of September. The room was excellent and overlooked the park. Very comfortable bed. Everywhere spotlessly clean. The travel concierge located in the lobby was particularly helpful. All staff helpful except one male receptionist. Location good for us - near the metro and adjacent to Central Park and the Natural History Museum. Would choose this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newforestgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lovel hotel - clean and quiet but about 2 miles + from Time Square - we walked!! taxi was $20 each way.
Hotel has stopped room service and no tea and coffee in room anymore. Restaurant is not part of the hotel - limited menu - one choice for veggies and 99% is fish - not cheap!!
I am not able to use a lift - requested low floor and got the 3rd so very happy with that.

Would recommend if you like walking but take your own travel kettle and supplies!!

Room Tip: Lovely hotel but no room service - no tea for coffee facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiewhixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Excelsior Hotel for 3 nights on 16th September 2013. Hotel is really well presented and great location. We arrived to check in and one male member of the reception staff was so unhelpful! Can't fault the other staff! Rooms were spotless with everything you need. Bed comfortable. Our room was facing the road with a view of the side of the National History Museum. It was a busy road but had no problem in sleeping. Free wifi available on first and second floor. Subway at end of street 2 min walk if that. We travelled by the Sub on a daily basis. $30 for a 7 day pass. If you come out the hotel turn right to the end of the road and turn left you will find Andy's Deli. Fab cheap breakfast! The hotel charges $17 for a breakfast but Andy's Deli also deliver to your hotel room! Had an enjoyable stay at the Excelsior Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gupwell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our first hotel on our US holiday, we stayed for 2 nights.
It is located almost next to Central Park and a 2 minute walk from the Metro to get further into the city.
It's an old building, but incredibly well presented. Service was very good and the room was superb, with 2 huge double beds and a very large suite.
Spare plug sockets for charging phones were limited, we unplugged a couple of lamps.
Only 2 lifts, both of which were small and they are very slow, 1 of which was out of service on our first day.
A great hotel, a bit out of the way if you're wanting to tour the City Centre (Times Square etc) but the metro is brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Property: Excelsior Hotel
Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing