We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel”
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #251 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Indonesia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I think this is oldfashion hotel.
1) The location is close to central park, national museum, colombus street, and amsterdam street.the subway approximally 200-300 meters from the hotel. just remember, that the hotel is in upper town, if you want go to time square, you need choose subway to downtown direction. If you want to go to time square with taxi, it's only use 10-12 dollars (1taxi can use for 4 persons)
2) The staff in lobby, some of them are friendly, some not!
3) the breakfast is 17,5 dollar. I recommended to have breakfast outside, because so many cafe shop open in the morning. The Starbuck just cross the street. And the other cafe shop just walking 200-300 meters from the hotel.
4) you can put your suitcase in the concierge's hotel with 2 dollars/pax/night.
5) the room is small and old design interior but have comfortable bed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank arnoldusIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    906
    300
    120
    101
See reviews for
704
635
88
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was my 2nd trip to NYC, and 2nd stay at Excelsior! Best location and still the best value, we had a great stay overall.
A few little niggles held me back from 5*- the decor is looking a little tired, the wonky bathroom door needed straightening so was really hard to close and there wasn't a minibar in the room...BUT it was clean, bed comfortable, blinds kept light out & sooo quiet- we slept really well! the air-con in the room was excellent, most of the staff made the effort to be friendly & helpful, the lifts were quick, the free wi-if in the lobby/2nd floor was useful and Central Park & the subway are at the end of the block! Fantastic! Not to forget The American Museum of Natural History opposite- just wow.
We didn't eat here this time- to be honest $17 for breakfast each seemed a bit much when there's so much choice in the area, and Starbucks round the corner.
All in all, this is a great place as a base to explore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZFooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in the Excelsior in early September 2013 with our 2 year old toddler in a double room for 5 nights.
If you want a fridge in your room, it is an extra $10 a night, which is a little steep, considering we are already paying several hundred for the room.
Wifi in your room is also extra, but we didn't need this as we just paid for a USA sim card.
This should be included!
There is free wifi on the 2nd floor, but we didn't make use of this.
The hotel has a small gym, but has no swimming pool. Very few hotels in NY do.
Rooms are air conditioned. We had a double room, which was spacious and did not feel cramped with 3 of us in there. The bathroom was nicely decorated with a hairdryer, plugs (I thought you didn't get plugs in a bathroom) and even a phone in there. So if you are using the toilet and feel the need to make a call, just reach over..
The beds were very comfortable and the room service efficient.

The hotel is in a great location. Central park is 2 minutes walk away, as is the subway. Every day we strolled over to central park to do a tour of the play parks with our 2 year old. We downloaded the central park app to find the best play parks. The play parks do get a little busy around 5.30pm (kiddy rush hour), but they are big enough not to feel crowded. There is a play park immediately next to the 81st st park entrance called the Diana Ross playground - very handy.

Food/Area
The breakfast buffet is $17 per person and is not included. We felt this was a little steep, so did not eat there during our stay. There are many many places to have breakfast within a short walk from the hotel. For a cheap (by UWS standards) and tasty breakfast, head to Andy's deli on Columbus, 100 yards from the hotel. The park of the Natural History museum opposite makes for a very pleasant venue to sit down and eat. Andy's is also good for stocking up on water/milk if you have a fridge.
Another great place for breakfast is Good enough to Eat. It is a little further away on the corner of 85th/Columbus. This place is for sitting down and has a few tables outside on the street. Kids are more than welcome here. The decor inside is very kid friendly with cows on the wall and bumble bees hanging from the ceiling. The food is delicious, filling and the service efficient.
There is a supermarket 3 blocks north on Columbus.

Neighbourhood
The hotel is in the Upper west side (UWS). It is mainly a residential area and feels less frantic than midtown. You get to see a lot of New Yorkers going about their lives here and a lot of dog walkers and joggers on their way to the park. It is an affluent area, so feels quite safe to walk around at night. The architecture is very pleasant around the hotel. The streets (which run east/west) are all residential and quiet. The avenues (which run north/south) are busy and have more businesses/restaurants than the streets.
Amsterdam ave. is best for restaurants. There is a huge range of places to eat here. Columbus has a good choice too, but not quite as many. Use menupages.com to find a place to eat nearby. Or failing that, just take a stroll down Amsterdam or Columbus. It is cheaper eating in the UWS than in midtown and more relaxing.

Seinfeld.
For Seinfeld fans, Jerry's apartment is only 200 metres from the hotel at 129 w81st st.
Note that this is the apartment he actually lived in before he became famous, not the apartment in the show. The exterior of Jerry's apartment in the show is actually in Los Angeles, the interior is a studio. There is a Seinfeld tour on Saturdays, run by the real Kramer, taking in all the Seinfeld sights in Manhattan. Unfortunately, I did not have time to do this.

Tips
We used menupages.com to source places to eat.
Hopstop is a great app to navigate around NY.
The central park app is great for navigating around the park - it is very big, so you need a map.

Room Tips
Rooms facing north are quieter. Try and get a room high enough up, so that you have a view. We had a north facing room on the 14th floor, which afforded some nice views of the upper west side and a small portion of central park. The rooms facing south onto the Natural history museum and midtown are deemed to be more desirable, so you pay extra for these. We did not have to pay any extra to get our north facing view and we still able to see over some 15 blocks or so. The rooms facing east and west do not have any views, unless you are right at the top of the hotel. The north facing room we had was very peaceful, as it did not look onto a road, unlike the more desirable south facing rooms, which overload the Natural history museum. For me, a good nights sleep is better than a nice view. I am a light sleeper and was not woken up with city noise once in my stay, so request a north facing room, if you are a light sleeper.

Subway Tips

When getting the subway uptown (northbound) back to the hotel, go to the very front of the train if you can, to save walking when you arrive at 81st street station. There are a couple of blocks between the 2 station entrances at 81st st station, one on 79th st and the other on 81st.
The downtown subway is down 2 flights of stairs. The uptown subway down 1 flight of stairs.
If you have a pram or large bag with you, then speak to the attendant and he will open the large gate for you, provided that you also swipe your ticket in the turnstile (but don't go through)
Unlike in London, there is no need to swipe your ticket when exiting the subway - just go straight through the turnstile or large gate.

I found the subway very cheap compared to the London underground. A single journey is $2.50. You can get an unlimited 7 day travel card for only $30. Children under a certain height are free.
All the subway trains I used had air conditioning, which made for a pleasant journey. On one occasion, the air conditioning was not on and it was sweltering (in early September).
There is even mobile phone signal on the trains, at least for certain parts of the journey. Once we got below 42nd street, the signal disappeared.

Overall, this was a great base for exploring New York and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north are quieter. Try and get a room high enough up, so that you have a view. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tot777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Spent about 5 nights there, felt like I was stepping back in time when we walked in, noisy air conditioners small room, no fridge, the bathroom had exhaust fan, no room to put your toiletries..very small. Very quaint hotel. Would not recommend the Buffett breakfast not much variety coffee was Luke warm, hot chocolate was packet mix. Excellent points close to Central Park, close to the subway, easy walk to a variety of shops, staff were helpful when needed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The front desk was rude and unaccommodating. There was a large dead cockroach in our room. Not even an apology for that. Despite the location, it's not worth the money. When we were at the front desk there were other people in front of us checking in. They were trying to joke with the person at the desk and she totally ignored them and was very rude. I will find somewhere else to stay during my trips to NY.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea62988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Spent 5 nights recently @ Excelsior. Yes, it's an older hotel, not a "cookie cutter" new property. Doesn't have exhaust fan in bathroom & some doors may "stick". I think it's part of their charm. Right across from Amer. Nat. History Museum & steps away from subway stop , Starbucks & loads of charming Upper Westside eating & shopping options. Had looked in to other Upper Westside hotels & found Excelsior to be the best value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was looking for a good hotel for may family vacation and I could find this great hotel, close to everywhere and not expensive.
When I went to New York in 2004, I found a hotel in the center of Manhattan that was expensive, with small rooms and not so good.
Excelsior was total opposite to these. It was quite cheap, confortable, close to Central Park and close to the center by bus.

Room Tip: I just used one room, I don't know more about others rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Property: Excelsior Hotel
Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing