We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a real NYC neighborhood”
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #254 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Steps from Central Park and all the fabulous restaurants on NYC's trendy Upper West Side - Columbus & Amsterdam Avenues and directly across the street from the Museum of Natural History, the Excelsior Hotel is perfect. The first time we stayed was for a most difficult trip and the hotel provided the perfect calm and spacious room. The bathroom is way too small, but well equipped. The restaurant in the lobby was fabulous, but a bit noisy. Access to subways, buses and, of course, taxis is perfect. As a long-time New Yorker, I was so pleased to be back in my old neighborhood with all its wonderful services and sights. We took a large room with totally separate living room and it was outstanding. On a return visit, I stayed alone in a standard room that was still bigger than many and perfectly fine. I wish they had coffee makers in the room, but Starbucks is right across the street. Otherwise, a great, quiet, lovely home away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side may lack the city and museum views, but they are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Fantastic family choice, footsteps from Central Park and the dinosaur halls of the Natural History Museum. We were delighted to be upgraded to a junior suite, which was very comfortable and plush. I especially liked the white-tiled, immaculate bathroom. (Sure, the bathroom was small, but that's totally what you get in NYC!). We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We had a very interesting view of the skyline, facing north over the city. The Excelsior is a great value: Believe me, I've shopped around, and stayed at many, many hotels in the city. (Try Orbitz for a good deal.) It's the opposite of trendy: It's a traditional, classic hotel, with a kinda cool old dark-wood-and-red-upholstery lobby. (Personally, I hate "hip" hotels, which are usually less than cozy and comfortable.) It was very, very quiet. Didn't hear a single peep out of other guests, couldn't hear traffic at all. A long, silent sleep in a soft white bed. Ahhhh. I'll return to the Excelsior. . . . Probably we'll make the Excelsior our other "regular" stay, along with the Hotel Wales on the other side of the park. . . . Note to families: As a New Yorker -- now moved to the boondocks -- I'd like to mention that you will probably be much happier staying within a block of Central Park, as opposed to choosing to stay in Times Square (which is actually a bit of a slog, dragging the kids through the crowds, reaching museums uptown, etc).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaRipCurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Excelsior for two nights in early March. Room was comfy. Bathroom small, but very clean and the water was hot. Staff was pleasant and helpful. We had the hotel breakfast buffet one morning - and it was decent.

Really wish they'd put coffee and a small frig in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbw207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was in New York for the first time and the hotel was outstandig! In front of the Museum of National History and right next to a metro station and a sturbucks for breakfast. Our Room was amazing, clean and we had a 'little' entrance which was really great. Everyone was really nice. Will definitely go back there!

Room Tip: Double Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErynPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed four nights in this plush hotel. Staff were wonderful and very helpful. Didn't check out the bar and food sadly but the service we had was great. Would def stay again. Would like coffee machine in the room though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to NY for part of our midterm break. The hotel was in an excellent location. We were upgrated to a suite which was nice. I was a little disappointed that there were no coffee machines in the room. The location was excellent and we could go to the museum across the street and the subway is just down th street. The staff were friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlene4013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed here with a friend, the location was perfect. It is in a safe place with a few local attractions. The Museum of Natural Art is opposite. Subway station 81 Street a one minute walk away. This line has access to everything.

You can go for a morning walk around Central Park, 2 minutes away or walk to Times Square in 25min, catch the train if you don't feel like walking.

A few local pubs are around and heaps to eat.

The staff were never not friendly, but were never overly helpful.

Overall, you can not go wrong. Rooms clean, location perfect and the area safe.


Can't wait to return to New York and see more.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, they had no problem doing that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#141 of 470 in New York City
2,448 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#229 of 470 in New York City
3,777 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#183 of 470 in New York City
5,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#319 of 470 in New York City
1,585 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#61 of 470 in New York City
3,775 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#150 of 470 in New York City
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Address: 45 W 81st St, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#201 Family Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $134 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing