We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Park West Gem at a Good price.”
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #252 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Central Park West Gem at a Good price.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed from 09 March-13 March. Had a suite on the 9th floor. Everything was upgraded and working well. Wi-fi was free in the lobby with a strong signal. Fantastic cleaning staff. Grab the B or C subway to downtown. Remember that these trains don't stop at 81st after 11:45 pm however but a taxi from Columbus Circle is on $7. All good. Your neighbors are Central Park and the American Museum of Natural History.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Febsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    916
    301
    120
    101
See reviews for
711
639
89
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We got a great rate for this hotel, so I was apprehensive at first, but it turned out we made a great deal. The hotel had a concierge available every single day until 3 pm, the front desk staff was very friendly, and if you have an early or late flight, they will hold your luggage for you, so you don't have to be stuck with your bags at the airport. The room was a good size, with a desk and a safe, and the bathroom had super hot water! The place was immaculate and they were really good about leaving extra pillows and toiletries. The hotel is located right by the A and C subway lines, and the M79 bus line, which will get you pretty much anywhere in town (with a few transfers necessary at times). Not only that, but they are steps away from Central Park, and conveniently located to a little Deli if you feel like a late snack. The only down side is the lack of free wifi in the rooms. If they offered that, I would have given them higher marks!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days, this hotel is 'middle of the road' for me. Good position, wasn't noisy.
We had Room 913, a quiet room at the rear of the hotel. The heating of the room was via a wall switch, it was turned on for 5 mins before retiring which was enough to warm room up. (February stay). Clean room, bathroom good size and plenty of hot water. Hairdryer and iron and board in room but no tea/coffee maker.
Breakfast was available on the 2nd floor in the library, 17 dollars per person at this time of review, help yourself. Used this once, it was adequate, nothing special.
The front desk were helpful answering our questions BUT not with a smile, the only person who smiled was the lady who was in charge of the breakfast room.
This hotel is great location for Central Park (rickshaw ride was great) museum and subway.
Away from the hub bub of downtown, average cab fare was 20 dollars to Times Square ( 4 in cab) on a good day, we got stuck in traffic once and the fare from hotel to Staten Island Ferry was 48 dollars. If you want a handy place for eats, leave the hotel and turn right, cross over Columbus, head down the road onto Amsterdam, turn right at the corner and you will find the 'Amsterdam Diner'. Close by on Columbus is Andys Deli, good little 'corner shop', we used it early in the morning to pick up hot tea. Dollar 25 cents for a take out cup.
One comment to make, daughter and hubby stayed 1 night before return to UK and was on 15th floor, their room was incredibly hot, it registered 79 degrees, they had no heating on. I see from other reviews this has been mentioned before, they found it uncomfortable to sleep in.

Room Tip: Room 913 was a good room, it was quiet, never heard other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
217 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My first stay here and I will be back. Room was well laid out and comfortable for NYC at this price. Very quiet area, my room was away from the street. Nice restaurant with friendly service adjacent to lobby, Calle Ocho. Here's the best thing. I fly into Newark from west coast arriving on train at Penn Stn. The "C" train from Penn Stn goes to 81st St a block from the hotel. Catch a bite in the bar, back on the subway to theatre district and catch a show on the same night as arriving. Simple, no cabs, no subway changes, easy. Excellent value, easy access to Central Park, Metropolitan Museum, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Excelsior is in a perfect NYC / Upper West Side (UWS) location, across the street from the Museum of Natural History (and Rose Planetarium), and Central Park, and close to many of the residential attractions of the UWS - such as restaurants (Sarabeths, Isabella's, Ocean Grill, Ouest) and museums.

In addition to location, the hotel and rooms are beautiful and clean. Check-in was faster than normal. The only slight negative was that for upscale hotels, I would expect free internet!

Other nearby attractions include the Children's Museum (best for younger children), Cafe Lalo from the movie "You've Got Mail," - and Lincoln Center is reasonably close. Note that this is a good location on the UWS (West 81st St) -- but not in midtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j2w2s2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Something's happened at the Excelsior Hotel and it's much appreciated! I have stayed at the Excelsior on a number of occasions, primarily because of its proximity to family - we were essentially a captive clientele. After our previous visits, I dreaded another stay. In the past, the hotel has been adequate, but not front desk personnel, or service. They were unsmiling, unwelcoming, occasionally rude, and incompetent with reservations and similar details. As guests, our behavior is consistently a mirror image of these traits. Last weekend, our stay was a very pleasant surprise! The front desk greeted us warmly, attended to questions with a smile, were exquisitely polite and helpful. Breakfast, included in the price, was a delight, the room was small but clean (the HVAC is instantly responsive, but noisy). The stay was so positive that I look forward to our next trip to New York. And, the hotel is less than a block from Central Park and within walking distance of Lincoln Center. Highly recommend for travellers to NYC who wish to avoid the mid-Manhattan crush and noise, yet want access in a few minutes by taxi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilacroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently and enjoyed the experience. Across the street from the museum of natural history, Central Park west and fairly close to Lincoln center and near beacon theater. There are little touches in the room that need sprucing up and the beds are a bit lumpy. But, the staff is friendly and it's a charming property. Would stay again for a similar value without hesitation.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kristinjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#130 of 468 in New York City
2,351 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 468 in New York City
4,839 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 468 in New York City
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 468 in New York City
3,477 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#197 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#378 of 468 in New York City
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Property: Excelsior Hotel
Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing