We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place on Upper West Side in the City”
Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #247 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place on Upper West Side in the City”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Excelsior Hotel and staff were outstanding stayed here for 10 Days recently when vsiting Coumbia - Presbyterian Hospital.. room was excellent stayed on 16th floor.. staff very accomodating when I had to extend stay for multiple days... Subway stop for natural history Musuem is nearby around corner for easy access to anywhere in the city.. If you are on the side I atsyed have view of Hayden Planetarium... loacted near many restaurants and clubs on columbus and Amsrerdam in short walking distance.. will stay here again if in city price was resonable and accomodation clean and comfortable with excellent service.. haet was my only issue here same as many others but definately a great palce to stay in the city..

Room Tip: The heating system was only down side I had AC on in Feb but once you got it adjusted it was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cptsned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    923
    301
    121
    101
See reviews for
716
644
89
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was wary about staying here after reading so many negative reviews about unbearable heat in the rooms. So I was pleasantly surprised by my cheery queen room with an easily adjustable heater. Granted, the heating unit is incredibly loud when it cycles on -- and it gets absurdly hot. But the temperature was fully adjustable in the room -- including the ability to turn it off.

It's an older hotel, but my room was quite sweet and perfectly adequately sized for one person (if a bit tight for two). I also really liked having a safe in the closet, which was big enough for my laptop. Service was nothing special but certainly adequate.

I stayed here for business and didn't have a choice -- but I would definitely come back on my own dime. Steps from Columbus Avenue; the location can't be beat.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jengaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthiana, Kentucky, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked our stay on-line,a superior room.What they do not tell you,this room class has No view and I mean no view,you are looking at a wall 10 feet away,the property is old very old,front desk people not helpful.If you prepay your stay the front desk knows you have No options if you checkout early there is no refund.There are no refrigerators in rooms or coffee makers.The major plus for this hotel is its location,near bus and subway in a good neighborhood .Breakfast is 17.00 plus coffee.There are friendlier places to stay!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room if you want any view,call hotel direct for a museum view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've been staying here for about ten years, most every time we come to NY , but we had to go cheap the last few times and we sure missed the Excelsior.. The only reason it is not a 5 is because the heating system takes some getting used to. They have a boiler that cycles on and off. So if you arrive and your room is FREEZING, the wall unit will just blow out freezing air.Kind of aggravating after a long trip. If you wait a while, set the thermostat and leave the room, you come back and it is warm as toast. We stayed two days and once the room was occupied, it was fine. Now to the good stuff.. clean, very comfortable bed, spotless bathroom. nice sized desk and good chair.. The view of the city is charming so we never pay extra for the museum view. It is quiet by city standards. The people who work here are great. The Calle Ocho restaurant that moved into the hotel within the last few years is a treat too. The subway (B, C lines) is right up the street. Lots of great places to eat and visit in the neighborhood and on Sundays is the flea market on Columbus at 79th(?) google it.. green flea market.. If you want WIFI you have to pay or you can use the free wifi in the lobby.

Room Tip: I'd go with the city view. It is the quieter side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent location for getting cross town, our hotel was roomy and full small items that made it seem homey, like books to read and a rubber mat for the shower. Loved the corner suite, room 1214: a king-sized bed with adjoining sitting area. No room service, but local restaurants will deliver. Highly recommended -- we have already planned to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pacerjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed in Excelsior for a week in June.
Staff was helpful, hotel was nice and clean with an exemption of few cockroaches found in our room.
Nice and quiet neighbourhood. Close to Central Park.
All in all, an average hotel with above average prices.

Room Tip: If you're a tourist like we were, the hotel is just a bit out of the way. But you can have a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DilligafRi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was a last minute booking based upon low price, so we didn't know what to expect. Upon arrival, a doorman was prompt in greeting us at our car and carrying in our luggage. The room was larger than expected and very comfortable. We were able to park on the street for free, always a plus when compared to the $60 or so rate at many NYC hotels. The neighborhood was clean and safe. The only issues we had was with the heat, which was too high and we had to open a window for air. Also, we arrived close to 11:00 PM and the restaurant at the hotel had closed. We had to drive around to look for someplace open where we could grab something to eat. Lastly, having to pay for internet is always going to be a negative.

Room Tip: Better view from rooms facing museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fordhammom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#129 of 466 in New York City
2,358 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 466 in New York City
4,952 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#236 of 466 in New York City
3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 466 in New York City
3,505 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#372 of 466 in New York City
162 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#201 of 466 in New York City
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Property: Excelsior Hotel
Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing