We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$176
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$187
$114
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$365
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$326
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$171
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$250
$239
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$167
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$159
$120
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,188)
Filter reviews
2,188 results
Traveler rating
667
964
323
126
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
964
323
126
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe natural history museumupper west sidecentral parkcalle ochocolumbus avenuegreat locationnew yorksubway stationsitting roomupgraded to a suitearound the cornerbreakfast roomtwo double bedslincoln centercoffee makertimes squarebagels
Filter
Updating list...
1,217 - 1,222 of 2,188 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was a last minute booking based upon low price, so we didn't know what to expect. Upon arrival, a doorman was prompt in greeting us at our car and carrying in our luggage. The room was larger than expected and very comfortable. We were able to park on the street for free, always a plus when compared to the $60 or so rate at many NYC hotels. The neighborhood was clean and safe. The only issues we had was with the heat, which was too high and we had to open a window for air. Also, we arrived close to 11:00 PM and the restaurant at the hotel had closed. We had to drive around to look for someplace open where we could grab something to eat. Lastly, having to pay for internet is always going to be a negative.

Room Tip: Better view from rooms facing museum.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fordhammom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Friends of ours recommended this hotel to us years ago and we've stayed here whenever in NY ever since. The location is perfect with both transportation and restaurants within a block or two. Central Park is at the end of the block, Zabar's a couple streets west and the Natural History Museum and its park are right across the street. We've stayed here in fall, winter and spring and always found the room very comfortable. I would love to have a coffee maker in the room rather than to wait for the breakfast room to open but that is the only complaint I have ever had. The staff is efficient. The Excelsior is attractive and the breakfast is good. I'd say it's reasonably priced for NY although we prefer to buy breakfast goodies at Zabar's to keep in the room. We really enjoy the neighborhood and always feel safe and relaxed. It is a special treat to walk into the park and simply meander.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were here during the week, and fortunately, the hotel was not full, so our rooms were very quiet. The heat was fine-- controls are in the room so we could adjust ourselves. The room is lovely with pretty good beds. Everything was very clean and kept clean during our 5 day stay. The location is great- right across from Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. It's a beautiful neighborhood with the subway nearby. Two down-sides to this hotel are the lack of access to coffee until 7 am and the fitness room, while really a good one, doesn't open until 6:30 am.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights 16 th 17th jan .
this is a very smart hotel , lobby decked out in burr walnut panelling , and cut glass chandiliers .
mahogony inlaid tables , and deep red velvet sofas and chairs .
the rooms are more than adaquate in size .
very comfortable beds , all be it queen sized , but worked for us , and we are both big chaps .
have to give a special mention to Agatha the night receptionist , very friendly woman .
and both the door men , very friendly , helpful , and knowledgeable .
the breakfast has to be the best deal in town $17 , with a great slection of hot and cold food , and good coffee .
My only criticism is , good selection of twinings herbal teas , but only LIPTONS black tea , in my opinion the worst mass market black tea in the world hehe .
have to mention the heating , worked perfectly for us .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hankinsonchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughters and I stayed here Jan. 1-5, 2013 for the first time, and will absolutely use is as our "hub" on our next trip to NYC. the hotel is conveniently located to a subway station, and is right across from a lovely park. the neighborhood is clean and safe, with lots of coffee areas and places to eat. Right across the street from Central Park!
I have been to NYC many many times, and this location was the best I've ever been within the city.
The front desk personnel were very helpful and accomodating. The service staff were equally nice and capable. Rooms were clean and furnished nicely.
Will return.

Room Tip: I'd try to request a high level floor, just for street noise purposes.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews