We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish rooms, good rate, best location in NYC for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #250 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stylish rooms, good rate, best location in NYC for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Excelsior has the best deal going for a beautifully restored hotel room on the Upper West Side. We stayed three nights with our two children, ages 5 and 9, in a regular room with two queen-size beds, and while I wouldn't describe it as exceptionally spacious, there was enough room, including closet and dresser space, for all our clothes and toys (we don't travel light).

The hotel is less than a block from the subway, Central Park, and the Museum of Natural History, with restaurants and boutiques all around. We parked on 81st St. directly across from the hotel (free!), but the next morning we'd have to move the car for street cleaning. I asked the doorman for advice, and he offered to call our room if a spot opened up across the street. Five minutes later we got the call and moved our car, right outside the hotel now, where we could have left it for the entire weekend if we'd wanted. When we called down for a fridge, it arrived in 5 minutes or less.

There are still a few (minor) bugs in the system - no coffee maker in the room, the fridge cost $10/night, and there was no soap dish, so the soap kept sliding into the sink, which was annoying. The very stylish towel hook ended in a ball, so the bath towel kept sliding on to the floor. The exercise room has a couple of good ellipticals, bikes, etc., but you need to bring your own earphones if you want to hear the TV. But overall it was a lovely place to stay, and now that our favorite B&B is going out of business, we may make the Excelsior our new go-to accommodation in Manhattan.

Room Tip: We had a nice view to the north from our room on the 16th floor, but I imagine that a southern expos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreeRadical64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    903
    297
    120
    101
See reviews for
700
632
88
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed with my wife and 6 and 8 y/o children. Nicely restored hotel retaining its original charm. They took great attention to detail in the restorations. Excellent, quiet location close to Central Park, Museum of Natural History, The MET, 5th ave shopping, quaint restaurants, awesome view from room, etc. We were upgraded to a suite without even asking. Also got very good service from Bellman and front desk staff. Very reasonably priced. Will definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Natural History Museum. Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junius T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a small quiet upper east side hotel . It is close to a subway stop, and with in 2 blocks of several great resturants . The staff , including the desk people were very friendly . The room is quite large for NY style .The bath room/shower is VERY large .

Room Tip: the staff suggested a room to the back of the building for a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnesotaByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis,TN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

first of all, let me say that First impressions are Lasting ones!
I booked my stay at the Excelsior through Hotwire and while I realized that I would only be guaranteed the number of beds required for the party, I was not aware that I prepaid for the smallest, twin room size. I asked about the room size and was told that that was the arrangement th hotel had with Hotwire. The hotel was not at ll to capacity. The overall attitude and unpleasantness of the front desk staff did not stop there. Each time I had an inquiry or issue, I was met with no smiles, and an overall sense of coldness. Once at night, I asked the front rest man on duty for a decent restraunts to use for delivery, it was about 9 pm. Th concierge was not there. He told m to ck back tomorrow and the concierge would help me.
On a good note, the housekeeping staff and the bellman were all very very nice. The room was so clean and we did have a nice view!
I loved this location. This was my 5 th trip to NYC and first time to stay in the Upper West.
My daughter and I felt so safe and loved walking the neighborhoods and bfast at Zabars!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors... Inquire about size prior to booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We just stayed at the Excelsior NYC over Thanksgiving holidays this year and enjoyed our stay. You cannot beat the location, it is right next door to the Natural History Museum and a short walk to Central Park. The Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade was literally at our door step, the baloons are inflated the night before and are lined up on the street right in front of the hotel. We had a museum view room #704 and had Buzz Lightyear baloon right outside our window! The room was very comfortable and spacious enough by NYC standards. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a upper west side neighborhood feel, it was a wonderful stay. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a museum view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank island22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I love this hotel except for the price. I did get a break for triple a and I think it was 10 percent. Still had a great room with a wonderful view of the museum, The weather was fantastic and it is so close to my cousins small apartment, i won't stay anywhere else. Subway stairs are up the street not far. Central park is a block away. Did not like to have to pay for WIFI though, so I didn't.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

My stay in this charming hotel enhanced my New York experience. Its old-world elegance and strategic location near major museums, fine shops and restaurants in the Upper West side are a plus. If it provided free internet and free coffee in the room, then it would be almost perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlgaP319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel

Property: Excelsior Hotel
Address: 45 West 81st Street, New York City, NY 10024-6025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Upper West Side NYC Hotel Located in the fashionable Upper West Side neighborhood between Central Park and Columbus Avenue, the Excelsior Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an abundance of old world charm and comfort. This landmark hotel is characteristic of Manhattan's architectural beauty among the dramatic Central Park setting; thoroughly complimented by modern conveniences and luxuries. The Excelsior Hotel is located in one of New York City's trendiest neighborhoods, overlooking the American Museum of Natural History and the Rose Center for Earth and Space. Popular attractions such as Lincoln Center, the Beacon Theatre, and Columbia University are within walking distance to the Excelsior. A leisurely stroll across Central Park to the Upper East Side leads to the luxurious boutiques of Madison Avenue, an endless selection of restaurants, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim and Whitney Museums. If your plans include an evening at the theatre or site seeing among the hustle and bustle of Manhattan, famous attractions such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Rockefeller Center are a quick ride from the Excelsior Hotel by New York Taxi, Subway, or bus. Manhattan's Excelsior Hotel features an elegantly and comfortably appointed Lobby; inviting guests to feel at home upon their arrival. Its New York City hotel room accommodations are inspired with an Art Deco contemporary motif with countless amenities and services to make a stay at the Excelsior Hotel an experience for guests desiring more than a typical New York "tourist" hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior New York City
Excelsior Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing