We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wolcott Hotel
Ranked #244 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Wolcott. It was in a great location between Broadway and 5th Avenue and easy walking distance to most attractions. The rooms were clean and neat. The front desk staff were great. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy4116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 2,356 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had booked through a travel agent and our booking was for a double room. When we went up to our room we were disappointed to find they had given us a room with two single beds instead of a double. When I went to ask about this the receptionist wasn't apologetic at all and claimed it was just what you got and made no apologies, wasn't friendly. The room stinks of stale smoke, didn't know anybody still smoked inside these days as we're smokefree inside buildings in our country, so we got a stinky room with single beds and unhelpful service. Do not recommend this, or at least be aware of this when you book it.

Room Tip: Ask for a smokefree room and specify what size bed you want, don't just assume a double means a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jyg255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I and two of my teen children stayed here for Thanksgiving holiday. it was just fine. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is centrally located making it easy to catch the subways all over the city, though there is plenty nearby within walking distance to keep one busy all day (stores, eateries, etc.) I even walked to church Sunday morning! The staff was polite and helpful. The steam heat in our room made some racket sometimes, but that didn't bother me. I would stay again and recommend it to friends looking for a reasonable, clean, practical place to stay. Place has character.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our last hotel experience in New York was not great and so I took booking of a hotel into my own hands not trusting the travel agent who gave us a bum steer last trip and I have to say we were much happier this trip as a result. The staff were very helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable, and the free coffee/tea and muffins a great way to start our daily adventures in NYC. Will definitely be recommending this hotel as an affordable alternative to friends and will definitely stay again on our next visit to the big apple.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Newageme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at The Wolcott for a city break. We chose the hotel based on value for the location and the reviews we had seen, and we were not disappointed. The hotel was clean, our room was pleasant and the morning muffins were tasty. We were 2 minutes from the Empire State Building and a short walk from Times Square. There were also good transport links nearby with a subway station quite close and coming from Newark airport, the walk from the station was easy. The only downside was probably the service from reception staff - it wasn't necessarily bad but they just didn't seem to care about how they came across. However, this was a recurring theme that I found in New York - the service generally is a far cry from what you would receive in the South for example. However, all in all, it was a great stay and I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to friends or returning myself.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glitzyfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here as part of a larger package and did not chose this hotel. We had come over by boat to Florida and then by train to New York. The Wolcott is only a few minutes walk from Penn Station even with large suitcases. We were greeted efficiently and our room on the ninth floor was fine for a hotel more than one hundred years old! Apart from the lobby the hotel has been modernised and we had a comfortable bed and useful bathroom with plenty of hot water. There is a room safe and adequate luggage storage. As so many have said already, the hotel is in an ideal location and the coffee and muffins in the morning are a good start to the day. The Wolcott is just the job for New York which suffers so much from over priced and over hyped hotels and restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

just came back after 5 days staying in the Wolcott hotel! had a fab time great location clean beds hot water free breakfast nice staff dnot no why some people moan !great pizza shop round corner subway café over the road and 3 mins walk to empire state would def stay here again on my next visit to newyork xxx

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#310 of 469 in New York City
1,640 reviews
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#295 of 469 in New York City
2,592 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 469 in New York City
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#332 of 469 in New York City
2,783 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#202 of 469 in New York City
3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolcott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolcott Hotel

Address: 4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-3594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $142 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wolcott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, NoMad,UN, Macys, Circle Line, theater district, SOHO, the High Line and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable, modern accommodations in an old-world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Wolcott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolcott Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing