We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Manhattan Hotel!”
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wolcott Hotel
Ranked #240 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value for Manhattan Hotel!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Wolcott Hotel while I was in town for the Surtex Show. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the hotel. I found my room to be very clean and large (I got an upgrade), the breakfast was very good, but most impressive, the service was excellent. The hotel is also in a great location, and within walking distance to everywhere that I needed to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoDianeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    1,101
    428
    117
    84
See reviews for
515
769
107
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was my second stay at the Hotel Wolcott and my boyfriend and I were very pleased again. We love to grab some Muffins and coffee in the morning in the lobby. The room was very nice and new furnished on an upper floor. I also once stayed in the Belvedere which also nice, but much more expensive. I would go to the Wolcott again! Price, Service and location are great!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 6 or 7 times over the last few years and we have found it to be a great value. The rooms vary from smallish to two room suites depending on what they have available, some have interesting "character" however they have always been clean and functional. The staff has always been pleasant and helpful but expect to carry your own bags. There are good restaurants around if you get out and explore but it's not the Theater district - you need to go find them. Don't come here expecting five star accommodations, however if you want a decent hotel for a great price this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therivertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and i recently stayed at the Wolcott hotel new york. This was our first visit to new york and the location was fantastic, just off 5th Ave. The hotel is a little dated but has character, the coffee and muffins in the morning are great, the reception were always helpful. We booked a junior suite and we were impressed by the size of the room, plenty of storage space as well, the bathroom was spotless and fresh towels if you required daily, aircon very good, beds comfy, nothing bad to report on our stay, the only thing would be the decor needs updating but its clean. Would stay there again but be aware of extra taxes when you get the bill, this is the same in all hotels in new york.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
2 Thank chapman70831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon. We were given our room only to find it was a smoking room which we don't. The cleaners had tried to cover up the smell with air freshner which didn't work.
All the enamel had started to fall away in the bath and it looked terrible. I asked if we could be moved mainly because of the smell of smoke, but the alternative room was half the size and in the same state with the bathroom etc in the same condition.

We accepted it for what it was and spent 3 great days in new york.

The day before we were leaving I asked the conierge how much it would be to get a car/taxi to take us to the cruise terminal in new jersey. She quoted us $149.00
Which I thought was expensive and said I would think about it. The concierge put pressure on and told us we would not find it any cheaper and that we should book it right there with her which included money up front. I blame myself for going with it but I trusted the hotel would not rip us off.

We were taken to our destination the next day by mini van and continued our trip. Whilst on this trip we met a few people who had done the same as us and had booked transport from the same area as us (different hotels) to the same destination. They had all paid around $80-$90 and some had been transported in limo's for this price!

The bottom line is we put our trust in the hotel and they took us for around $60 over what it should have cost.

On top of this I didnt meet any friendly or accomadating staff and this place really needs some attention to make it acceptable to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rogdmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel Wolcott is located just two streets from the Empire State Building. Historical, old building has few prons and cons. Room are really spacious with comfortable bed and television. There was a bathroom with a bath including all standard amenities. Talking about cons, there was a noise from other rooms and a noise of old pipes.

There is a great, historic lobby in the hotel. Staff was very kind and helpfull. There is a place to buy tickets for all entertainment across the city and tickets to/from airport (prices are higher). That is more, there is a tea/coffee with some snack every morning in the lobby.

It is next to 32th/34th street metro station.
I recomend that hotel for a stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Was looking for low cost/great location hotel in Manhattan and I got it with the Wolcott. Yes the rooms are small (it's New York, get out of your hotel room and see the city!) and they don't have many amenities but the location is amazing for people that want to be in the heart of the city. I found it very affordable The lobby is also beautiful and worth a few snaps too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#193 of 466 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#305 of 466 in New York City
1,600 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 466 in New York City
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#194 of 466 in New York City
3,324 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#309 of 466 in New York City
1,624 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 466 in New York City
5,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolcott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolcott Hotel

Property: Wolcott Hotel
Address: 4 West 31st Street, Between 5th Avenue & Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-3594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#240 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wolcott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, NoMad,UN, Macys, Circle Line, theater district, SOHO, the High Line and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable, modern accommodations in an old-world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Wolcott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolcott Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing