We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfort food ”
Review of Pret A Manger

Pret A Manger
Ranked #186 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice comfort food ”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

In a cold day, warm, seasoned and natural food is wonderful. And the price is nice, too. Soup and wraps that makes you feel like you were in granny's home.

Helpful?
Thank Maria Helena L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    266
    58
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Totowa, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Soup at the 100 Church Street Location in Manhattan”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have been a customer at this location since it opened. They serve the most delicious Morroccan Lentil Soup I have ever tasted. I went today only to be extremely disappointed. They no longer serve hot fresh soup from the soup pots behind the counter. They have the soup sitting on the shelves in to go containers for patrons to grab and pay for and go. Who knows how long the soup sat there! It certainly was NOT hot and tasty like soup should be. Not sure if they cut back on personnel or want to speed things up, but that is not the way to do business and keep loyal customers. Usually the restaurant is very crowded and it's hard to find a seat at 12:30 but today it was quite empty. Could it be due to a change in business practices? I will be back when and if they resume serving the soup like they used to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED SANDWICH SPREADS”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Because Pret a Manger is one of the convenient downtown eateries to where I work, I decided to make its acquaintance on several occasions, first sampling their breakfast treats with coffee, both fine, and then graduating to their luncheon menu: sandwiches, soups and baguettes. I tried their sandwiches on several occasions just to make sure that what I had experienced the first time was not a mistake. I had purchased their tuna and egg salad sandwiches, both prepared in advanced and wrapped for easy transport. On both occasions I added condiments to each which necessitated my having to "open'" each sandwich. To my surprise, what appeared to be a descent amount of egg or tuna (as seen through the wrapped cellophane) had been spread so close to the bread's edge that it provided the buyer with an "appearance" of an overstuffed sandwich but in actuality, the contents seemed more like a "spread" than an actual sandwich as the contents were thinly placed on both halves of the bread. The same can be said of the baguettes which I sampled as it appeared that the chef knew quite well the adage, "Spare the rod and spoil the child." Breakfast: desserts and coffee, Fine. But lunch: they can do a lot better. Buyer beware!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MayLehmannNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“delicious healthy choices!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Service is efficient and friendly. The food is excellent- it's not a gourmet plated dinner, but their selection is pretty wide ( covers carnivores, halal, vegetarians, vegans and u think they have some GF choices). Great options for a quick grab-n-go or a more leisurely meal. Their sandwiches are great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shira_K_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The coffee, the oatmeal, and the danish was among the best ever! The staff was pleasant, and moved the line quickly

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zinni49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pret A Manger also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pret A Manger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing