We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has to be the best hamburger in NYC!”
Review of Shake Shack

Shake Shack
Ranked #102 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Description: Shake Shack is a modern day "roadside" burger stand serving the most delicious burgers, fries, hot dogs, frozen custard, beer, wine and more.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This has to be the best hamburger in NYC!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I am not a huge fan of fast food or hamburgers, but I decided to try Shake Shack because my apartment was near Madison Square and I always saw a lot of people lining up there. Try to avoid lunch time because it's when it gets very very packed. I went there by 4pm (for a snack) and I only had to wait 10 minutes. The hamburger was delicious! So moist and so tasty, I had never tried something like that until that moment. Fries are also very good. Try the ones with cheddar topping.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,579
    1,969
    587
    115
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Shakes Outdoor”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I've visited many of the NYC Shake Shacks, including the recently built one at JFK airport. My favorite is the Madison Avenue location, because it is outdoors. Even in the winter, when they have heater stands where you can sit (but you should stand so that you can be close to the heat), I enjoy being outside while enjoying my food. Like all of the Shake Shacks, this one has very tasty burgers and great "concretes," which are frozen custard ice creams with things mixed in. i also recommend the hot chocolate. Surprisingly, it is thick and chocolatey and not at all what you would expect at a burger place. For eating, I normally order the SmokeShack, which has bacon and cheese. The sauce and chopped peppers add so much delicious flavor. It is one of the best burgers. The servers are friendly and very helpful, no matter how long the line. You may be intimidated by the length of the line, but you will be surprised at how quickly it moves. This is especially true if you go to the 8th Avenue location, which is invariably crowded. However, the food is worth the wait. Just hop in line and have a friend grab a table. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best burger ever”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I am not a big fan of burgers but their Shack burger was great. I would advise you to order the double because the meat is not thick at all. Kind of pricey but it's new york!

Helpful?
Thank Jaytoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Started my food trip at NY with this!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

i started my 3 week trip in US with Shake shack and boy, was it an experience for my palette! The burgers are to die for and the fries and the sauce are lovely.
The only problem I had and maybe it was a normal thing for new yorkers was the huge line. Sometimes, you think of just leaving the line and trying someplace else. I am happy I didn't

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gautam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“My visit in U.S.A”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The food was amazing people are very friendly. Also I got free ice cream how awesome is that. Thank you for your warm friendly service. It is amazing.

See you guys this sumer.
FM.

Helpful?
Thank Fidemar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shack also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing