We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good burgers, even better Squirrels!”
Review of Shake Shack

Shake Shack
Ranked #99 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Description: Shake Shack is a modern day "roadside" burger stand serving the most delicious burgers, fries, hot dogs, frozen custard, beer, wine and more.
Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good burgers, even better Squirrels!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A local New Yorker recommended the ShakeShack and it was a great tip!

Its an al-fresco set up, ordering your burger from a diner type window and you take a seat at the pic-nic tables in the park. It was drizzling when we were there and quite cold but the atmosphere of the place means it wasn't a problem.

The burgers were good solid greasy quality beef - just want you need on a cold wet day! Food was really tasty - not gourmet but certainly better than McDs!

However, the star of the visit is definitely the chubby squirrels that are obviously addicted to fries - everyone of them would struggle to get in skinny jeans ;-) Animal welfare aside - they are adorable and the best fun!

So worth a visit, definitely good value and the wildlife entertainment means its a entertaining too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,639
    2,006
    593
    116
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slatington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a great burger”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The shack sauce makes the burger unique, not to mention an even ratio of burger to bun. I loved the frozen custard choc shake more than ice cream (I'm a big ice cream fan). There is only outdoor seating either in front of the shack or within the park. The table seating does have propane heaters in the cooler weather. Despite it being Feb, there was quite a line for burgers that seemed to move faster than one would ever think and no one seemed to mind eating outside.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ALeiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Burger I Ever Had”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The first time i went to New York in 2010 i tried this burger because my cousin recommended it, but i was doing so much i almost forgot to go here. The last day there my fiance and i stopped by and we regretted waiting so long because the food in NY wasn't very appeasing. We're from Chicago so we have a certain perspective on food like pizza, hot dogs, etc. But i will without doubt say this was the BEST BURGER I have ever tried, and we went back here this past summer had to try it again at this very location. I know there are more locations now but it's something about the park Shake Shack that cannot be replaced. I'm pretty health concious so i don't eat just anything, but this burger was juicy yet not greasy. I also love shakes so i had to try the starwberry my fiance tried the vanilla, and even with the long line it was worth it. About 6 months ago i have gon' vegatarian......but sometimes i think about having one last burger from Shake Shack. LOL!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLcoolJae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best Burger Joint”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We went to Shake Shack following some research on Trip Advisor and we would say it was one of the best burgers that we have ever had plus the fries and Milkshakes are heavenly!

We went here after a trip to the Empire State Building at around lunchtime and lets just say it is a very popular place we queued for about 30-40 mins but were not dissapointed with the service, the quality of the burger and the seating area in Madison Park. One of our favourite lunchtime experiences in NYC, pricing is what you would expect of a up market Burger Joint. It also helps if you have the weather which we were lucky enough to have glorious sunshine. (p.s. try the peanut butter milkshake it is very very nice)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious burgers! And good prices.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We heard the New Yorkers are crazy about the burgers of this restaurant si se went there to try it! The prices are quite similar to a regular fast food but the quality of the food is definitely much better. It is fresh and tasty! It is one of the best burger i had in my life!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marou1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shack also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing