We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burgers and shakes”
Review of Shake Shack

Shake Shack
Ranked #101 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Description: Shake Shack is a modern day "roadside" burger stand serving the most delicious burgers, fries, hot dogs, frozen custard, beer, wine and more.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great burgers and shakes”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Visiting this eatery was on our list of things to do while in NYC, however after seeing the line the first day we went there, we almost gave up. Luckily we were staying nearby and one day, on our way back from the subway, we noticed the line was almost non-existent and were able to grab a quick bite to eat for an early dinner before a broadway show. Burgers were great, I especially recommend the shroom burger.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,482
    1,922
    573
    113
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing burgers!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Burgers were very good with their sauce!! delicious shakes!!
the seating is a little weird it is like fast food seating not restaurant seating. it is a very popular place so be prepared for lines!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erica1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Upper West Side delight”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to go for shakes. Our friend swears by the frozen custard. Excellent burgers although there is no room for additional add-ons like mushrooms,etc. Went there on a busy Sat afternoon. The ordering line for burgers goes quickly but then you notice everyone standing around waiting for their order with those electronic pagers. took 20+ minutes but worth the wait. Not the be all and end all but very good overall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterm899272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness. Oh my goodness!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Anthony Bordain was right - these are the best burgers in New York. The food is delicious and well priced + if the weather is nice (as it was tonight), you can eat your meal in the park. Whilst the shakes are divine, you can also get beer and wine if you prefer. We will eat there again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathyRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best shakes ever...”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had been looking forward to trying a Shack burger for ages and was not left disapointed. Really tasty burger, good fries and nice beer too. However, the vanilla shakes are just THE best! So thick and flavoursome. I would've had another but the queue had got quite big. Check the webcam out too. Great idea. Eating outside feels so good too.
Do they deliver to the UK?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shack also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing