We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger Ever!”
Review of Shake Shack

Shake Shack
Ranked #100 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Description: Shake Shack is a modern day "roadside" burger stand serving the most delicious burgers, fries, hot dogs, frozen custard, beer, wine and more.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Burger Ever!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Worth the wait in line to try this unique burger. Just the right amount of spicy and sweet, loved the Shake Shack sauce and those cherry peppers!!! Loved the peanut butter shake too. Don't pass this place up when visiting NYC!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michellehansma69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,576
    1,969
    587
    115
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You've got to try one if your in NYC”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We finally got to sample Shake Shack on our second trip to NYC. We were staying on Madison Avenue so the one in Madison Square Park one was the closest. We had seen how long the que's can get before, but when we got there are 4pm on a Monday afternoon there wasn't much of one at all! Only about 6 people in front so didn't take long. We had burgers, the cheesy fries and I had a Peanut Butter shake which was soooo good! I wouldn't say it was the best burger Ive ever had but it deserves a visit. It is quite pricey for what you get but its worth having at least once. If the seating is too busy then you can always take it to go and find a bench in the park like we did! I hear they are opening one in London this month so I think Ill have to give that one a try and compare!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank its-a-carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“yummy”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Milkshakes, ice-cream, burgers, hot-dogs and chips but cooked well and in a beautiful setting. The ‘concrete’ ice-cream was very VERY good (look out for the flavour of the day)! Shake Shack is a super cute place to grab a bite. In the evenings the park setting is awesome: hanging lights and Empire State Building in the background. They make an awesome mushroom veggie burger and they even have a menu for dogs!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CristinaGabriela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You must try their burgers!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Friends told us to try the Shake Shack as we departed for our first visit to New York. As luck would have it, there was a location in Madison Park close to our hotel. The "Shack" is nothing more than a glorified park concession stand. There is no indoor seating at this location and we shivered eating outside on rickety park chairs and tables (which were at a premium). But the burgers made it worth it! These were indeed the best tasting hamburgers I've had in my life. Their "mushroom patty" is unique and delicious. The fries and shake were equally excellent. The Shake Shack had long lineups well into the evening (on a weeknight too) and we can see why. This place is a "must eat" when you're in Manhattan.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Centauri27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A classic : don't get discouraged by the waiting line !”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Everybody was talking to me about this place being THE best burger in NY. The waiting line was very long but hey, I was on vacation, no stress, I had my IPhone and Breaking Bad playing, I was not going anywhere ! I ordered the cheese Shaky Shark with a Fifty-Fifty (half lemonade/half iced tea). The burger was really amazing, melting in my mouth. I thing I would of take a second one ! Go try it !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shack also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing