We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for tourists”
Review of Shake Shack

Shake Shack
Ranked #106 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Description: Shake Shack is a modern day "roadside" burger stand serving the most delicious burgers, fries, hot dogs, frozen custard, beer, wine and more.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for tourists”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Used to be awesome but slowly going down.
Our office used to order all the time but not any more – burgers are dry and don’t taste as they used to. The place became a tourist location – if you are in NYC, you should try eating there – milkshake and burgers, sitting in the park – very nice! For average New Yorker – try to go on a rainy day - the line is usually 5-7 min!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohtany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,522
    1,947
    582
    114
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great "fast food"!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Great burgers, fries and milkshakes! Worth the 20 min of waiting! The place is nice located and the atmosphere good too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The shake shack was really good. Burgers and shakes especially are great. It's worth getting there for either an early or late lunch as the queues are enormous at peak lunch time but would still be worth the wait!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Burgers, shame about the queue!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We walked to Madison Square Park especially for The Shake Shack as we had heard some really good things about it! When we got there the first thing we saw was this almighty queue which went all the way around the park square leading to the restaurant! It didn't put us off though, we really wanted this food so we decided to wait it out! We queued for around 50 minutes and finally reached the counter to order our food. My friend and I both ordered the Smoke Shack which is a double burger full of cheese and smokey bacon (lovely)! I had asked my friend to go find a seat earlier as the seating area is relatively small for the amount of people wanting to sit, so it's good to get there quick! I would recommend the food, it is just a shame there isn't more people working so they can get through more people and not make us wait for so long!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the wait...”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

That's a question really. I waited 45 minutes, but outside in MSG park on a nice day it's not so bad. Two stuck-up Girls behind me, amused me with their running diatribe on New York life. I ordered a Shake and a Burger. Both were really delicious. The Burger was small though. Not the very best Burger I've ever had, but certainly in the top 5. I'd go back again. (The Service was real friendly)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shake Shack also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Shake Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing