We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining with friends! Delicious and good value”

Hill Country Barbecue Market
Reserve with OpenTable
Hill Country Barbecue Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #355 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Between Broadway and 6th Avenue
Transit: 1, 6, N, R, & W trains to 28th Street, and F & M trains to 23rd Street.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great dining with friends! Delicious and good value”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We shared a load of meat and sides and desserts and it was all delicious. Family style, or you can go individually. Was very good value.
You line up and choose your meat which is sold by weight. They note down on your card what you have ordered and at the end of the night you had in the card to pay.
Delicious desserts and a good selection.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stargazerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    356
    106
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“really juicy food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

A bit unusual way of having a bbq at an restaurant, but great. You have plenty of meat alternatives and side dishes to choose from. Once you have decided you go to the counter and order how much you like. And you can choose different types of meat. It all goes by the weight. Then you go for the side dishes - the same way. Really great concept- and perfect taste!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank keda001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best moist brisket ever”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

This was my all time favourite food whilst we visited New York last week - I will even go as far to say my favourite food in the whole world - it was that amazing we had it twice!!

The first time we went we got the pitmaster upgraded to the moist brisket as recommended by a friend with 2 sides - gorgeous!!

The second time we just got the moist brisket - out of this world!!

I feel this is a must for all barbecue food fans - yes it's technically fast food as you collect the meat and then the sides but I loved that concept - it's what you do at a real barbecue after all!!

Thank you hill county - thank you!

Ps - hill county chicken is also the best fried chicken I have ever had also!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jigglyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ribs to your liking...”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It is a "get-it-yourself" restaurant. After making your selections at "meat" then "sides", find a seat. Dessert and your drink will be given to you by the wait staff. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. If you like chocolate pudding, make sure you order it--it is OUT OF THIS WORLD. Enjoy

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank adriennefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Confusing concept to get your food!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a confusing place to eat! Need a ticket to get into hall, then you take the ticket and wait in lines to get your food which you need to bring to a table. There are I think 4 counters to get food so if you want food from all those counters you need to travel around with your ticket. Your supposed to get your drinks from a server. I think it would be easier to just sit down and give my order to the server and have them get the food! I have eaten in the real hill country in Texas so this is no comparison to that. However, it is nice to have bbq up in the north so this was a good stop for lunch in the city. We spent $35 for two people with a beer. Husband did not like the ordering so we probably won't be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kristinedenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill Country Barbecue Market also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hill Country Barbecue Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing