We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Dinner at Midtown”
Review of Destino - CLOSED

Destino
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 50th Street
Transit: Lexington and 53rd Street Station: E or 6 Train
New York City, New York
1 review
“Regular Dinner at Midtown”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I wasn't to happy about my choice, I wish I did better restaurant search. To pricy and not very exiting wine list. Food wasn't presented well, look a bit like in far far Astoria diner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A neighborhood favorite - Midtown East”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've eaten at this restaurant many times and it's always wonderful. The staff is friendly and very knowledgeable. The food is excellent. There are always great specials to chose from as well as the usual offerings.

There a nice private room that will seat 15 to 20 people which is great for a small party. Destino's has a private bar area.

There's just one criticism about the restaurant. It's very noisy when it's busy so it's difficult to the people speaking at one's table. Consequently everyone is yelling which only makes it more difficult to hear people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Pleasant staff and a good and varied menu. The food is very well prepared, fresh and flavorful, but it's expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ianrbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, Excellent service...”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place is awesome. My friends and are had so much fun. We went for a dinner and we had amazing experience. The playlist was so very well selected, a mix of great Italian songs that went great as our dinner did. The cocktail list is small, but the drinks are really well selected. My friends liked the Pometini, Sangria Margarita, and Bella Americana.Strong, but worth every penny. As we moved toward the table, the hostess was really engaging and friendly and gave us the best table where we could enjoy the coming crowd, as it was a busy night, the scenic ceiling painting, and bring our memories of Italy back. We started with some of their special appetizers for the day, which were stuffed zucchini with mozarella cheese and ricotta, and stuffed artichokes. They were divine. My friends had chicken franchese, and the special veal chop with mushroom, mozarella and spinach. Oh, I think everyone should try Destino's food. And bring a lot of people as they have big party space and trust me it is fun. And for desert try the twenty layers crepe cake, pistachio tartufo, and the tiramisu. The service was impeccable as well. The staff is so young and they make everyone so welcome in their "castle". Great experience, great food, highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathlynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“The best Italian Restaurant!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went to Destino last Friday. It was three of us. We didn't have reservation but hostess been really nice and gave us a table in 5 minutes. We enjoyed food and atmosphere. I order special black lobster ravioli. It was Delicious!!!!! Service was also outstanding. Highly recommend you to visit Destino.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Destino also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing