We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Greek: Poseidon Bakery”
Review of Poseidon Bakery

Poseidon Bakery
Ranked #120 of 388 Bakeries in New York City
Cuisines: Greek
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Going Greek: Poseidon Bakery”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This Greek bakery has both savory and sweet classic Greek goods. There are no frills here, just an authentic bakery with a warm, old school, family vibe. They let the treats speak for themselves. And, though some items hard to pronounce, they do...in Greek, of course. 

I've had many Baklavas in my day, and, I figured that an authentic Greek Bakery is where I should be trying new things. First, I tried Afali (fun fact: it means "birds nest"), which has a roll of chopped pistachios surrounded by phyllo and dipped in honey.

You can read the rest of my review with photos here:
sprungonfood.com/2013/12/23/poseidon-bakery

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sprungonfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Baklava, and some yummy shortbread cookies.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We went for some Baklava, which was good, but didn't quite stand up to our memories of the delicious treat in Greece, however we also each got one of these little delicious shortbread cookies that literally melted in your mouth. There is no space in the bakery to sit, so you have to take your treats to go, but workers were polite, and the bakery looked clean.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lostgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Greek Bakery with Streusel!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our guide brought us here on a walking food tour. This place has been open for like 70 years. Had all types of Greek desserts as well as a variety of Streusels. We got a Greek pastry and a Streusel and were pleased with both. If you have a sweet tooth and are in the area you should definitely stop in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toddoballs132002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spanakopita”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hubby and I stopped at this Bakery and had fresh Spanakopita right out of the oven. Delicious. Located in Hell's Kitchen. A family run bakery since 1923. Definitely a true gem! They are the last baker in NYC which make their own filo dough. Definitely stop in, you won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mscott2969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Traditional delights”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a family run bakery with great food made with love!
Try the baklava you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mafman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon Bakery also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Poseidon Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing